Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 22, 2009, 09:38 PM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default Low VMware ppd

My VMware clients are still all down by around 300-500ppd.
Has been like this for a couple weeks at least.

Is everyone else getting lower ppd than usual?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 22, 2009, 09:41 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,402

My System Specs

Default

Did you try disabling one of them to see if the PPD of the other one goes up? If so, that would suggest to me that there's a problem with some form of shared resources.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 23, 2009, 05:01 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,575

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by somecanadianguy View Post
My VMware clients are still all down by around 300-500ppd.
Has been like this for a couple weeks at least.

Is everyone else getting lower ppd than usual?
Yes its the new "fix" to WUs they did to lower EUEs
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 23, 2009, 09:42 AM
Dead Things's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Centre of the Universe
Posts: 1,572

My System Specs

Default

It's actually due to the new 2.10 A2 core. It primarily affects dual core SMP processes, which includes all VMware installs.

Folding Forum • View topic - Core 2.10 uses 100% of CPU, I want 95% !
Folding Forum • View topic - V2.10 frame times
__________________
Follow my folding, mining & benching shenanigans @dt_oc!

Think you can overclock? Then show us what you got!
Join the Hardware Canucks Overclocking team today!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 23, 2009, 01:38 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,622

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dead Things View Post
It's actually due to the new 2.10 A2 core. It primarily affects dual core SMP processes, which includes all VMware installs.

Folding Forum • View topic - Core 2.10 uses 100% of CPU, I want 95% !
Folding Forum • View topic - V2.10 frame times
It doesn't cause the PPD to drop to 300PPD though...
Try deleting those WU.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 23, 2009, 06:33 PM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

geokilla... my ppd is down by 300-500ppd (not down to 300-500ppd).
Looks like the same issue most other folders are having with the 2.10 a2 core.
It's strange to see ppd down even though cpu usage is up.

So we just wait for someone to fix the problem?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 23, 2009, 07:28 PM
Dead Things's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Centre of the Universe
Posts: 1,572

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by somecanadianguy View Post
So we just wait for someone to fix the problem?
Actually - from everything I've been reading, it was previous cores that were the problem, and 2.10 is the fix. I'm not saying that Pande Group won't find a way to either optimize the core or adjust the point per WU (like they did with the FahCore_14.exe GPU WUs) - but to be perfectly frank, this is the new normal and I personally don't expect to see anything different any time soon.
__________________
Follow my folding, mining & benching shenanigans @dt_oc!

Think you can overclock? Then show us what you got!
Join the Hardware Canucks Overclocking team today!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 24, 2009, 01:54 PM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

Thanks frank

Seriously though, my only problem is that it takes longer to complete a WU.
I've cut back to 3 clients for now so I can get the units done in a day.
I lose out on ppd that way though.
Seems like with the cpu usage up the ppd would go up too, but obviously it's not working that way.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old September 24, 2009, 02:01 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,622

My System Specs

Default

Woops.....sorry.

With the new cores bring lower PPD. Hope they fix it soon.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Boost Your PPD with VMWare - Look inside for easy guides! zlojack HardwareCanucks F@H Team 416 April 7, 2010 12:19 PM
vmware killing my gpu PPD? BT! HardwareCanucks F@H Team 8 September 7, 2009 09:32 AM
Low PPD on VMs Perineum HardwareCanucks F@H Team 11 August 30, 2009 05:19 PM
Crazy GPU PPD, Crap CPU PPD, help please Taz HardwareCanucks F@H Team 5 July 31, 2009 05:37 PM
Scythe Shuriken Low Low-Profile CPU Cooler Hardware Canucks Air Cooling 0 April 30, 2008 09:24 AM