Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #41 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2009, 07:49 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,828
Default

But can it play Crysis?
Reply With Quote
  #42 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2009, 12:39 PM
fefox's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Manitoba N50 15.5944', W101 2.2833'
Posts: 324

My System Specs

Default

Well, I had a 353 go bad 8 hours ago

at one point last night it was all 353's on the system, so I know it was getting allot of them..

lets hope I don't see anymore.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #43 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2009, 02:39 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,037

My System Specs

Default

I updated the failing machine from Vista to Win 7. Upgrade install, not fresh. Upon restart the GPU client downloaded a new unit, a 353, and happily had a nice origami session with no complaints.

I think it's a bug with Nvidia 2x0 cards, the AMD 780 chipset, and Vista.
Reply With Quote
  #44 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2009, 02:41 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,401

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Perineum View Post
I updated the failing machine from Vista to Win 7. Upgrade install, not fresh. Upon restart the GPU client downloaded a new unit, a 353, and happily had a nice origami session with no complaints.

I think it's a bug with Nvidia 2x0 cards, the AMD 780 chipset, and Vista.
Interesting. The 'folding helpers' on here should keep this in their back pocket to see if this is a recurring trend.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #45 (permalink)  
Old September 24, 2009, 10:22 AM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,037

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Perineum View Post
I updated the failing machine from Vista to Win 7. Upgrade install, not fresh. Upon restart the GPU client downloaded a new unit, a 353, and happily had a nice origami session with no complaints.

I think it's a bug with Nvidia 2x0 cards, the AMD 780 chipset, and Vista.

By the way.....

Still working!
Reply With Quote
  #46 (permalink)  
Old September 24, 2009, 10:59 AM
fefox's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Manitoba N50 15.5944', W101 2.2833'
Posts: 324

My System Specs

Default

Ive been good now for almost 72 hours, hopefully this continues...
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #47 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2009, 02:48 PM
fefox's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Manitoba N50 15.5944', W101 2.2833'
Posts: 324

My System Specs

Default

Tried Windows 7 64 last night, had 6 of the 8 GPU's folding no problem.. not sure what kept the other 2 from working.
going to fresh install and try again.. what was odd, I ended up with 10 monitors detected and the desktop expanded to all of them..
so my fooling may have messed something up..
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #48 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2009, 04:53 PM
bwm bwm is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 799

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fefox View Post
ok I got fed up with the unstable machine errors on my vista box, so I pulled the motherboard tray out of the lian-li case dropped the 4th 295 into the last slot and powered it up...
so far so good.. no errors and ppd is decent.

I'm using the HX1000 and Thermaltake 650 to power it
K9A2 Platinum Motherboard, 2x2Gb ddr2-800 OCZ Platinum
Athlon 5000 X2 Black Edition
XP-32bit

I can't say anything better than what has already been said, except maybe that I'm turning various shades of green faster than a tree frog. That is awe inspiring. I think the electric bill will be as well but it is the belief in the cause that drives people to go to such extreems. WTFold.
Reply With Quote
  #49 (permalink)  
Old October 19, 2009, 01:04 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,417

My System Specs

Default

Heh... absolutely amazing PPD out of those beasts!!!!

I won't be putting out anywhere near the PPD that you're doing, but my 280 GTX died over the last couple of days and I've pulled the trigger on 4X 9600GSO cards from NCIX. Hell, even without the $20 MIR / card it's still cheaper than a single 275 replacement card would have cost me. With any luck I'll get between 15 - 20K PPD vice the 9K PPD I'd see out of a single 275 for less cost.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #50 (permalink)  
Old October 19, 2009, 01:57 AM
fefox's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Manitoba N50 15.5944', W101 2.2833'
Posts: 324

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Heh... absolutely amazing PPD out of those beasts!!!!

I won't be putting out anywhere near the PPD that you're doing, but my 280 GTX died over the last couple of days and I've pulled the trigger on 4X 9600GSO cards from NCIX. Hell, even without the $20 MIR / card it's still cheaper than a single 275 replacement card would have cost me. With any luck I'll get between 15 - 20K PPD vice the 9K PPD I'd see out of a single 275 for less cost.

that is going to look cool! Ive got a 9600GSO its pulling just over 3k on 353's no oc'ing
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Danger Den Brings Full Coverage to Single PCB GTX295 FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 2 July 6, 2009 01:09 PM
[WTB] EVGA GTX295 Liu Kang Buy/Sell & Trade 7 July 3, 2009 07:29 AM
Sfc not working odis172 Troubleshooting 8 June 19, 2009 11:57 PM
New and Not sure this is working. l-lunter HardwareCanucks F@H Team 14 April 21, 2009 03:41 PM
[FS] morphine's Spring cleanup - TJ07 case and GTX295 vid card morphine Buy/Sell & Trade 6 March 17, 2009 06:50 PM