Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old September 19, 2009, 10:57 AM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,049

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dead Things View Post
All of my folding rigs run XP x64. No issues with 353 pointers on any of my cards (including my 260's). So I am inclined to agree with your assumption Perineum.

I assume you've tried deleting FahCore_11.exe and auto-downloading a new one in case you somehow wound up with a bad core?
Yeah, unfortunately. I've done that probably about 8 times now. I've deleted almost everything in that drawer plus installed an all new copy. Nada.

Coincidently, on my Tri SLI setup I'm running regular Win XP.... with 2 gigs of ram, and with 2 VMs running with 1152 mem assigned. It works, I'm assigning more memory than I have physically but it's all running at full speed and it's the ONE machine I never have to babysit. Oh... and 3 gpu clients, of course.

Quote:
Originally Posted by chriskwarren View Post
I stopped using Vista a month ago, but never had issues with those WUs at that time. Been using Win7 on two rigs folding since then, and no problems with them either.
WELL WHAT THE HELL. Now it all makes sense. A month ago I was fine, but now you've gone and fcked something up. The time frame fits. It's your fault, I don't care what anyone says.

I'm going to have to install Win 7 on that machine, I guess.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old September 19, 2009, 01:35 PM
Dead Things's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Centre of the Universe
Posts: 1,572

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Perineum View Post
It's your fault, I don't care what anyone says.
Clearly, the evidence is indisputable. Come to think of it - I lost a hand at poker about a month ago when my pocket kings got busted by pocket 7s on the river. That hand cost me about $80. As far as I'm concerned - that too is chriskwarren's fault and he owes me $80.
__________________
Follow my folding, mining & benching shenanigans @dt_oc!

Think you can overclock? Then show us what you got!
Join the Hardware Canucks Overclocking team today!
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old September 19, 2009, 02:35 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,410

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Perineum View Post

WELL WHAT THE HELL. Now it all makes sense. A month ago I was fine, but now you've gone and fcked something up. The time frame fits. It's your fault, I don't care what anyone says.
Yes dear.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dead Things View Post
Clearly, the evidence is indisputable. Come to think of it - I lost a hand at poker about a month ago when my pocket kings got busted by pocket 7s on the river. That hand cost me about $80. As far as I'm concerned - that too is chriskwarren's fault and he owes me $80.
Yes dear.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old September 24, 2009, 11:25 AM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,049

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Perineum View Post
I'm going to have to install Win 7 on that machine, I guess.
Just wanted to follow up to make someones searches relevant....

(HA! like they search!)

Doing an upgrade install of Windows 7 over Vista fixed the problem. I even overclocked my card from 590 to 670 and it's still going strong.

It does seem to be an issue with Vista, the 780 chipset and Nvidia 2x0 series cards.

Last edited by Perineum; September 24, 2009 at 12:35 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2009, 03:57 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,681

My System Specs

Default

Core #4 on GX2 #2 simply will not fold any WU. Using W7, -forcegpu flag is added, machine id is fine (6), desktop is extended, plug is there.

Core #3 on same GX2 folds away happily. WTF. And no, it's not .
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2009, 04:30 PM
Silvgearx's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,105

My System Specs

Default

I am having some ODD 353pt problems too.

2900PPD for 353PT, and it takes about 5 minute to complete a percent

having them for the past 2 days

9800gtx + 191.07

must be bad patch ones again
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2009, 04:48 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,049

My System Specs

Default

I've never used a forcegpu flag on any of my installations.... what's it supposed to do?
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2009, 11:15 PM
headsh0t's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 2,568

My System Specs

Default

353 pointers are fine here on my 8800gt (190.62 drivers), Vista x64, 5000ppd.
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2009, 11:35 PM
bwm bwm is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 799

My System Specs

Default

I'm a n00b here but I have three EVGA 260/216 SC cards, none have ever given me any trouble on any workunit except a very rare bad one.
Most of the ones I've had recently are 353 pointers and none have failed. Perhaps you have a bad card, OR, perhaps your power supply just isn't quite up to
the task with that particular WU, maybe others. All work units do not present the same load characteristics to a PSU. Of that, I can guarantee beyond a doubt.
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2009, 03:40 AM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,049

My System Specs

Default

I would doubt the PSU, 3.0Charlie picks out quality parts, and well within power requirements. (Read = overkill )

3.0Charlie, what OS you running on that machine?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I think my 8800GT is failing! doup93 Troubleshooting 15 July 17, 2009 08:23 PM
harddrive failing. help please kyle_L Troubleshooting 2 May 10, 2009 07:44 PM
EVGA gtx260+ or XFX gtx260 Black Edition Kyure Video Cards 20 February 12, 2009 12:39 PM
TF2 Failing? Infiniti Gaming 7 July 11, 2008 02:39 PM
Vista SP 1 still failing to install... TwystedMonkey Off Topic 12 June 20, 2008 11:54 AM