Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 10, 2009, 06:17 PM
Putz's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Stratford, Ontario
Posts: 116
Default fx570 fails for folding

running the console client on the wifes q6600 and the gpu version on her quadro fx570 (was a spare)


its even slower then the cpu version


the 285's seems to do about 5x the work as my 920 @ 3.8 right now
__________________
Samsung 305t+ 30"
i7 920 @ 3.875 1.20v /EVGA Classified/12gb gskill1600/Two EVGA gtx285 SC 2gb SLI
2xIntel x-25-m SSD Raid 0 / Antec 1200 / Corsair 1000w / Win7 RTM /Auzentech Forte
QNAP TS-209II 2x1TB Raid 1 NAS
heat: http://heatware.com/eval.php?id=244

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 10, 2009, 06:31 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,629

My System Specs

Default

That GPU doesn't surprise me as it doesn't seem to have good specs according to a quick google search. Post up a GPU-Z screenshot?

Are you running SMP or Linux folding on your Q6600 and Core i7?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 10, 2009, 06:43 PM
Putz's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Stratford, Ontario
Posts: 116
Default

no i was looking at the SMP version but it was being a PITA

the fx570 is just an 8600 if i recall
__________________
Samsung 305t+ 30"
i7 920 @ 3.875 1.20v /EVGA Classified/12gb gskill1600/Two EVGA gtx285 SC 2gb SLI
2xIntel x-25-m SSD Raid 0 / Antec 1200 / Corsair 1000w / Win7 RTM /Auzentech Forte
QNAP TS-209II 2x1TB Raid 1 NAS
heat: http://heatware.com/eval.php?id=244

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 10, 2009, 06:58 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,629

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Putz View Post
no i was looking at the SMP version but it was being a PITA

the fx570 is just an 8600 if i recall
Check out the folding section. Definitely run at least SMP or the Linux or Notfred client to get the most out of your processors.

If the FX570 is just a 8600GT, then you should be getting like 1500PPD or thereabouts.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 10, 2009, 07:05 PM
Putz's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Stratford, Ontario
Posts: 116
Default

got the SMP running on mine


im impressed im still running Aion @ 2560x1600 max everything with GPU on both 285's and SMP on the cpu running lol
__________________
Samsung 305t+ 30"
i7 920 @ 3.875 1.20v /EVGA Classified/12gb gskill1600/Two EVGA gtx285 SC 2gb SLI
2xIntel x-25-m SSD Raid 0 / Antec 1200 / Corsair 1000w / Win7 RTM /Auzentech Forte
QNAP TS-209II 2x1TB Raid 1 NAS
heat: http://heatware.com/eval.php?id=244

Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 10, 2009, 07:23 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

You could match the performance of one of your GTX285s using your CPU if you set it up right. If you're interested, just say so. Also, you've been a member of [H] for 8 years and you never even bothered to drop into the DC forum...
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 10, 2009, 07:32 PM
Putz's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Stratford, Ontario
Posts: 116
Default

LOL im not wasting hydro for Americans

but any pointers you have im all for it, the CPU SMP client is working now, but god awful slow compared to GPU clients
__________________
Samsung 305t+ 30"
i7 920 @ 3.875 1.20v /EVGA Classified/12gb gskill1600/Two EVGA gtx285 SC 2gb SLI
2xIntel x-25-m SSD Raid 0 / Antec 1200 / Corsair 1000w / Win7 RTM /Auzentech Forte
QNAP TS-209II 2x1TB Raid 1 NAS
heat: http://heatware.com/eval.php?id=244

Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 10, 2009, 08:28 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Putz View Post
LOL im not wasting hydro for Americans
F@H is based at Stanford University, so you're still wasting Hydro for Americans ;).
Quote:
Originally Posted by Putz View Post
but any pointers you have im all for it, the CPU SMP client is working now, but god awful slow compared to GPU clients
[H]ard|Forum - View Single Post - [H]orde Guides
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New half-finished build fails to boot. ImmaPC Troubleshooting 24 August 27, 2009 01:50 PM
4870 Accelero Twin Turbo fails! TimTheEnchanter Air Cooling 26 June 9, 2009 07:11 PM
System fails to boot up (GPU or HD?) Matty D Troubleshooting 4 May 3, 2008 11:40 AM
IE7 fails to load new pages when multiple tabs are open RGAR O/S's, Drivers & General Software 2 November 10, 2007 02:04 PM
Microsoft Fails PC Gamers? sswilson Reviews & Articles from the Web 7 June 8, 2007 06:37 PM