Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 10, 2009, 11:39 AM
Putz's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Stratford, Ontario
Posts: 116
Default started folding, finally :P

Finally decided to start folding, i have so many idle computers i figured id put them to good use

although i would bet the home pc turns out more #'s then these xeons lol
__________________
Samsung 305t+ 30"
i7 920 @ 3.875 1.20v /EVGA Classified/12gb gskill1600/Two EVGA gtx285 SC 2gb SLI
2xIntel x-25-m SSD Raid 0 / Antec 1200 / Corsair 1000w / Win7 RTM /Auzentech Forte
QNAP TS-209II 2x1TB Raid 1 NAS
heat: http://heatware.com/eval.php?id=244

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 10, 2009, 11:48 AM
Jake_HT's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 1,985

My System Specs

Default

Welcome to the team!!!!!!!!!!!
__________________
http://jakeht.deviantart.com/
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 10, 2009, 12:07 PM
Putz's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Stratford, Ontario
Posts: 116
Default

guess its as simple as installing the app, enter a name and team # and off you go

lol, although ill have to mess around with the GPU ones at home, im told it wont work in SLI so well see i guess
__________________
Samsung 305t+ 30"
i7 920 @ 3.875 1.20v /EVGA Classified/12gb gskill1600/Two EVGA gtx285 SC 2gb SLI
2xIntel x-25-m SSD Raid 0 / Antec 1200 / Corsair 1000w / Win7 RTM /Auzentech Forte
QNAP TS-209II 2x1TB Raid 1 NAS
heat: http://heatware.com/eval.php?id=244

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 10, 2009, 12:11 PM
Jake_HT's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 1,985

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Putz View Post
guess its as simple as installing the app, enter a name and team # and off you go

lol, although ill have to mess around with the GPU ones at home, im told it wont work in SLI so well see i guess
With the latest 190 drivers, you do not have to turn off SLI to fold using both cards

Folding with SLI enabled and no dummy plug/second monitor!
__________________
http://jakeht.deviantart.com/
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 10, 2009, 12:14 PM
Prof. Dr. Silver's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,187
Default

Check out this thread, it will help you a long way... :)
__________________
Hardcore Folding at it's BEST! HWC - TPU.... There can be only one team in front! TPU, can you smell our *sses already?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 10, 2009, 12:19 PM
Putz's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Stratford, Ontario
Posts: 116
Default

oh nice, i imagine the two 285's will do more work than the 4 or 5 xeons i setup the cpu client on ... and a pair of laptops lol
__________________
Samsung 305t+ 30"
i7 920 @ 3.875 1.20v /EVGA Classified/12gb gskill1600/Two EVGA gtx285 SC 2gb SLI
2xIntel x-25-m SSD Raid 0 / Antec 1200 / Corsair 1000w / Win7 RTM /Auzentech Forte
QNAP TS-209II 2x1TB Raid 1 NAS
heat: http://heatware.com/eval.php?id=244

Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 10, 2009, 03:13 PM
Putz's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Stratford, Ontario
Posts: 116
Default

got it up and running on a few spare computers, and mine here, it sure makes the 285's coil whine annoying lol
__________________
Samsung 305t+ 30"
i7 920 @ 3.875 1.20v /EVGA Classified/12gb gskill1600/Two EVGA gtx285 SC 2gb SLI
2xIntel x-25-m SSD Raid 0 / Antec 1200 / Corsair 1000w / Win7 RTM /Auzentech Forte
QNAP TS-209II 2x1TB Raid 1 NAS
heat: http://heatware.com/eval.php?id=244

Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 10, 2009, 03:56 PM
badatcards's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia ont
Posts: 858

My System Specs

Default

welcome to our little addiction
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old September 10, 2009, 04:15 PM
Putz's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Stratford, Ontario
Posts: 116
Default

lol been a member on anand and [H] for almost 8 years, just nice to have a Canuck board :)

Im guessing the size of the work you are sent determines the speed to complete a job?

I started GPU 1 a while before GPU 2 thread and 2 finished first

and of course the CPU is waaaaaaaaaaaaay behind
__________________
Samsung 305t+ 30"
i7 920 @ 3.875 1.20v /EVGA Classified/12gb gskill1600/Two EVGA gtx285 SC 2gb SLI
2xIntel x-25-m SSD Raid 0 / Antec 1200 / Corsair 1000w / Win7 RTM /Auzentech Forte
QNAP TS-209II 2x1TB Raid 1 NAS
heat: http://heatware.com/eval.php?id=244

Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old September 10, 2009, 04:26 PM
Prof. Dr. Silver's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,187
Default

Yeah it all depends which WU's you get. Some are big, while others are small. Did you set up VMware on your Xeons? That should help a lot more than running the regular client.
__________________
Hardcore Folding at it's BEST! HWC - TPU.... There can be only one team in front! TPU, can you smell our *sses already?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Just started... somecanadianguy HardwareCanucks F@H Team 79 July 6, 2009 09:59 PM
I Started Folding Tonight. Spikemaul HardwareCanucks F@H Team 34 May 22, 2009 10:34 PM
MCR320 started leaking LooseCannon Water Cooling 10 February 20, 2009 03:14 PM
AVG notice just started popping up saying it's discontinued.... Misoprostol O/S's, Drivers & General Software 19 January 6, 2008 09:12 AM
The hall thing started from a cd... omgwtf Off Topic 6 November 15, 2007 03:48 PM