Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 6, 2009, 08:20 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,622

My System Specs

Default Can't Track NotFred Again

My sister's computer crashed so I installed Windows 7 RC yesterday. Everything's up and running except for one thing. I can't seem to track the Notfred client on her computer consistently. I have everything setup the way it's supposed to be, and the client address is pointed to \\fold-0d9a\c\etc\folding\1\. However from time to time, I won't be able to access it because Windows can't find the network path.

Both my computer and her computer are running Windows 7 RC 64 bit, and we're both in the same Workgroup and Homegroup. The VMware client is setup just like it was in the XP days and I'm using the latest version of VMware Player. She's using the latest version of the Notfred client.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 6, 2009, 08:25 PM
Prof. Dr. Silver's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,187
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by geokilla View Post
My sister's computer crashed so I installed Windows 7 RC yesterday. Everything's up and running except for one thing. I can't seem to track the Notfred client on her computer consistently. I have everything setup the way it's supposed to be, and the client address is pointed to \\fold-0d9a\c\etc\folding\1\. However from time to time, I won't be able to access it because Windows can't find the network path.

Both my computer and her computer are running Windows 7 RC 64 bit, and we're both in the same Workgroup and Homegroup. The VMware client is setup just like it was in the XP days and I'm using the latest version of VMware Player. She's using the latest version of the Notfred client.
I'm dealing with the exact same BS right now!
__________________
Hardcore Folding at it's BEST! HWC - TPU.... There can be only one team in front! TPU, can you smell our *sses already?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 6, 2009, 08:45 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,036

My System Specs

Default

why not find it by IP?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 6, 2009, 08:47 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,622

My System Specs

Default

Similar issue with IP. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't. I can find the client by typing the IP address in my browser though. Problem is that I dunno when the WU would expire, which is why I need to track it via FahMon so I can tell my sister to leave the computer on when required.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 9, 2009, 03:40 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,622

My System Specs

Default

Anyone managed to find a fix? I'm probably going to install VMWare Player and the Notfred client over the weekend.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Track IR 5 :) WolfBane Peripherals 5 October 11, 2009 11:38 AM
Notfred client Dumping WU geokilla HardwareCanucks F@H Team 1 July 19, 2009 08:27 AM
Notfred's folding appliance keeps hanging ... Synth HardwareCanucks F@H Team 9 May 19, 2009 05:31 PM
Track the Swine Flu! Fun for the family. :) Thund3rball Off Topic 3 April 28, 2009 01:57 PM
Amd finally on track?? cdn_Madrach Press Releases & Tech News 1 July 27, 2007 09:55 AM