Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old December 28, 2009, 03:32 AM
Unknownm's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: New Westminster, B.C
Posts: 209

My System Specs

Default

I don't know if you have this but 5770 you need to add "-forcegpu ati_r700"
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old December 28, 2009, 06:31 AM
kendallcschm's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 465

My System Specs

Default

i know this souds stupid but why use VMware??? if i fold i just use the computer it self.. i skip the whole VMware thing
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old December 28, 2009, 08:10 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kendallcschm View Post
i know this souds stupid but why use VMware??? if i fold i just use the computer it self.. i skip the whole VMware thing
VMWare allows us to fold using the Linux SMP client which is currently more efficient and produces more PPD than any of the Windows clients.
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old December 28, 2009, 08:18 AM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,255

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zero82z View Post
VMWare allows us to fold using the Linux SMP client which is currently more efficient and produces more PPD than any of the Windows clients.
I agree, I had one box folding with VMWare/Linux and one with Windows SMP. The virtual machine folded day in and day out without any issues. The windows box was such a pain in the a$$ to keep running. I switched it over and haven't looked at windows smp since.
__________________
heatware

Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old December 28, 2009, 09:02 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 9,165
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stoanee View Post
I agree, I had one box folding with VMWare/Linux and one with Windows SMP. The virtual machine folded day in and day out without any issues. The windows box was such a pain in the a$$ to keep running. I switched it over and haven't looked at windows smp since.
You may have to when the new verison of windows smp comes out as it is 'suppose' to yield more ppd but until some of us can test this its just rumours and speculations
__________________
Here I am: here I remain
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old December 28, 2009, 09:59 AM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,255

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arinoth View Post
You may have to when the new verison of windows smp comes out as it is 'suppose' to yield more ppd but until some of us can test this its just rumours and speculations
I have no problems switching to the best folding client.
__________________
heatware

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ATI tools Wurmer Video Cards 2 August 18, 2009 04:00 PM
Tools bovine.baron Off Topic 9 May 5, 2009 01:01 PM
Crimp tools! Sniper Guides & How-to's 15 April 24, 2009 07:26 PM
Component Boxes/Tools arekieh Off Topic 10 November 16, 2008 06:02 PM