Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #361 (permalink)  
Old September 28, 2009, 12:48 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,642

My System Specs

Default

Actually I tried Folding with the High-performance GPU Client and FAH says that the 5870 is not recognized.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #362 (permalink)  
Old September 28, 2009, 01:01 PM
LCB001's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aylmer QC.
Posts: 1,774

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
Actually I tried Folding with the High-performance GPU Client and FAH says that the 5870 is not recognized.
I have never used ATi products but from what I understand you need the new beta Catalyst drivers [build 8.660RC7] ATI Catalyst 9.10 Beta Windows 7 | Vista (32|64) download from Guru3D.com

I know I saw a solution somewhere, if that's not it I'll keep digging. Old age and lack of sleep is making a bad memory, worse...
__________________
Folding For Team 54196

Reply With Quote
  #363 (permalink)  
Old September 28, 2009, 03:57 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,402

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
Actually I tried Folding with the High-performance GPU Client and FAH says that the 5870 is not recognized.
Try the "-forcegpu ati_r700" flag.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #364 (permalink)  
Old September 28, 2009, 04:24 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,642

My System Specs

Default

That did it. Thanks Chris.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #365 (permalink)  
Old September 28, 2009, 06:14 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,402

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
That did it. Thanks Chris.
There is an updated client that supports it natively but it has not been released yet (rage3d had a copy to benchmark).
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #366 (permalink)  
Old September 28, 2009, 06:32 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,642

My System Specs

Default

Bah, this is only as stress testing for my customer. 511, 4113 ppd @ 73C...

This seriously sucks.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #367 (permalink)  
Old September 28, 2009, 06:44 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,402

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
Bah, this is only as stress testing for my customer. 511, 4113 ppd @ 73C...

This seriously sucks.
That is pretty bad!

On a positive note, the EOC stats have TPU formally on our radar of teams to overtake. 1.3 months...
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #368 (permalink)  
Old September 28, 2009, 07:23 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,520

My System Specs

Default

I haven't even bothered trying to get my young lad's 4850 folding since the last attempt gave me NANs right from the get-go. I know it's probably just some switches I need to include when running, but it's absolutely ridiculous that ATI folding has been this difficult for this long. If there are special DLLs that need to be replaced, they should create a special ATI dl of the client that includes what you need and offers you the choice to do it from within the initial install. <RANT=OFF>

On another note, my VMware + GTX280 are down for a couple of days as I work on the OC for the 955be I replaced the 720be with.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #369 (permalink)  
Old September 29, 2009, 02:07 PM
10e's Avatar
10e 10e is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Markham, Ontario
Posts: 541

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
Actually I tried Folding with the High-performance GPU Client and FAH says that the 5870 is not recognized.
I don't think it works. I even tried the -forcegpu ati_r600 and -forcegpu ati_r700 flags and it just kept telling me the server has no work for it.

EDIT: I see it worked for you. Have you finished any WUs with it? If so how's the PPD?
Reply With Quote
  #370 (permalink)  
Old September 29, 2009, 03:15 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,642

My System Specs

Default

Yup, works with the drivers supplied with the card.

ppd is pathetic, for such a card. a 511 for 4113 ppd...
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dare to challenge my Brute nckid4u Off Topic 14 April 29, 2009 05:38 PM
Bang4Buck Challenge ev0styLe New Builds 10 January 18, 2009 06:23 PM
Challenge CactusJoe New Builds 11 December 2, 2008 06:43 PM
Challenge for you all-maybe get job out of it? magictorch Gaming 0 July 18, 2008 07:44 AM