Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old August 30, 2009, 08:45 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,410

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by redwagon View Post
Thanks for suggestions!

Yea, was looking at getting a board with maybe 4 pcie slots, lol. Do you think my PC Power and Cooling can run 4 8800 GTS 512s (if I can find 2 more)? If yes, I think I might be able to get over 20,000PPD.

I was also reading up on using multiple GPU for folding and read that I might have to make a "dummy" plug for each GPU so that each one actually folds, is that true?
How many watts is that PC Power and Cooling? If its the 750W version you are set.

As for the dummy plug, you do not have to do this if you have the latest drivers and use the proper flags. How to do this is here:
Folding with SLI enabled and no dummy plug/second monitor!
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old August 30, 2009, 08:46 PM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 377

My System Specs

Default

Oops, it's the 750W PC Power and Cooling.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old August 30, 2009, 08:49 PM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 377

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chriskwarren View Post
How many watts is that PC Power and Cooling? If its the 750W version you are set.

As for the dummy plug, you do not have to do this if you have the latest drivers and use the proper flags. How to do this is here:
Folding with SLI enabled and no dummy plug/second monitor!
Cool, I'll keep that for reference.

If I'm not able to get 2 more 8800 GTS 512s, can I mix in 2 9600 GSOs instead?
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old August 30, 2009, 08:54 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,679

My System Specs

Default

A 750W powering 4 GTSs? I'm not sure about this...

Nogo on the intermix.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old August 30, 2009, 09:02 PM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 377

My System Specs

Default

Lol, ok, I got Chris saying that the 750W will power 4 GTSs and Charlie saying no. That's 1-1, anyone else want in on this poll?
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old August 30, 2009, 09:07 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,410

My System Specs

Default

You thinking 3.0Charlie that there won't be enough amps?
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old August 30, 2009, 10:48 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,049

My System Specs

Default

If there are not enough amps it is chriskwarrens fault... I dont care what aanyone says
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old August 31, 2009, 03:20 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,679

My System Specs

Default

I'm not worried about the wattage, I'm worried about the amp split between the rails and how 4 cards will affect that.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old September 1, 2009, 09:10 PM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 377

My System Specs

Default

Ok,

Ordered a XFX 780i and a E8400. Going to switch my E5200 to the folding rig when I get the E8400.

For my hard drive, do I need anything bigger than a plain jane 80GB IDE? Already pumped some money into this and hopefully can same some on the hard drive.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old September 1, 2009, 09:52 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 2,026
Default

Hard drive is not as important as cpu and gpu but if you intend on folding 24/7 or long periods of time, a hard drive that stays cool is a good idea. If it was me I would spend the extra $50 and get a new hard drive.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Motherboard for Folding Rig? ImmaPC CPU's and Motherboards 18 June 11, 2009 09:43 PM
Waking Up To A Dead Folding Rig LCB001 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 9 April 18, 2009 06:00 AM
Folding Rig RAM Choice Soultribunal RAM 11 April 9, 2009 07:07 AM
Finally decided to get a new rig... Suggestions welcome! tda-danny New Builds 9 June 12, 2008 09:27 PM
Requesting comments or suggestions for my new rig yoda64 Off Topic 10 January 28, 2008 06:55 PM