Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2009, 01:58 PM
Airshehan's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 211
Default Which would get me the most points fastest?

Running 4x Folding@home x86 Clients & 1x Folding@home GPU Client at once or running 1x Folding@home x86 Client & 1x Folding@home GPU Client? I currently have a Quad-Core machine and my system specs are in my sig. I want to get the most amount of points possible, as fast as possible. Thanks guys!
__________________
Dell XPS 630i / Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 2.67GHz / Stock Cooling (Temporary) / 6GB DDR2 800 RAM + 4GB Windows ReadyBoost/ Nvidia GeForce 9800 GT / Samsung SpinPoint 640GB + Seagate FreeAgent 250GB / 750W PSU / Nvidia Nforce 650i SLI / Logitech X-235 Speakers + Plantronics .Audio 370 Gaming Headset / Dell 22' E228WFP / Razer DeathAdder /Windows Vista Home Premium 64-Bit
Airshehan
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2009, 02:00 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,598

My System Specs

Default

Single GPU client + dual VMware clients.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2009, 02:00 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Richmond Hill
Posts: 8,539

My System Specs

Default

Your best bet would be running 2 instances of the VMWare version of fold@home as it is more optimized and typically results in more PDD. The reason i say 2 is because each instance engages 2 cores.

EDIT: Dammit John, you beat me by mere seconds!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2009, 02:01 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,396

My System Specs

Default

For a quad core, you should run 2 instances of the vmware client, followed by 1x gpu client.

Vmware info here:Boost Your PPD with VMWare - Look inside for easy guides! When you set up the vmware client, set it up to use 2 cores as per the instructions. Then set up another instance to use the other two cores.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2009, 02:01 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,396

My System Specs

Default

Lol I got ninja'd pretty good. At least there is consensus.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2009, 02:13 PM
Airshehan's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 211
Default

Thanks a lot guys! I'll start to setup the VMWare folding@home client! Thanks for all the help!
__________________
Dell XPS 630i / Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 2.67GHz / Stock Cooling (Temporary) / 6GB DDR2 800 RAM + 4GB Windows ReadyBoost/ Nvidia GeForce 9800 GT / Samsung SpinPoint 640GB + Seagate FreeAgent 250GB / 750W PSU / Nvidia Nforce 650i SLI / Logitech X-235 Speakers + Plantronics .Audio 370 Gaming Headset / Dell 22' E228WFP / Razer DeathAdder /Windows Vista Home Premium 64-Bit
Airshehan
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2009, 05:07 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,026

My System Specs

Default

You can eek a little more out of them if you set up your priorities as well.... I set everything with the VMware clients to "low" as seen in task manager.

Anything to do with folding on the GPU I set to "above".

This appears to be all transparent on the machine, you wouldn't know anything was changed, but an increase in PPD is found.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2009, 05:26 PM
Airshehan's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 211
Default

Okay, so your saying that I should change the priority of the vmware client to low and the GPU client to above? Are you sure there will be point gains and no slow downs?
__________________
Dell XPS 630i / Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 2.67GHz / Stock Cooling (Temporary) / 6GB DDR2 800 RAM + 4GB Windows ReadyBoost/ Nvidia GeForce 9800 GT / Samsung SpinPoint 640GB + Seagate FreeAgent 250GB / 750W PSU / Nvidia Nforce 650i SLI / Logitech X-235 Speakers + Plantronics .Audio 370 Gaming Headset / Dell 22' E228WFP / Razer DeathAdder /Windows Vista Home Premium 64-Bit
Airshehan
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2009, 05:35 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Richmond Hill
Posts: 8,539

My System Specs

Default

I have my vmware clients set to normal, i "think" it gives it more priority over certain applications allowing it to fold without as much slow/bog down if you run apps but those apps then don't run as fast since they aren't number 1 priority.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2009, 06:11 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,615

My System Specs

Default

Don't forget to check out the sticky and the EVGA forums for how to set the VMware client for the most points out of your VMware setup.

For the GPU, downclock the memory and core speeds to save electricity and to lower temperatures. Overclock just the shaders. And since you're using Vista, turn on Aero. It'll help you endure the 2D lag caused by folding.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where did all my points go? Nodscene Off Topic 11 November 26, 2008 09:40 AM
NCIX rewards points any trade value? aimndtel Off Topic 17 October 11, 2008 03:15 PM
25 ncix points jay51 Off Topic 10 October 7, 2008 11:17 AM
getting the most points from the clients vinister HardwareCanucks F@H Team 12 July 27, 2008 10:31 PM