Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2009, 06:12 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,037

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Airshehan View Post
Okay, so your saying that I should change the priority of the vmware client to low and the GPU client to above? Are you sure there will be point gains and no slow downs?
That's what I've found....
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2009, 07:02 PM
Airshehan's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 211
Default

Okay, cool! Thanks for all the info guys!

@geokilla, I don't think I'm gonna downclock or overclock anything right now. But, thanks! BTW, my gaming rig won't be running 24/7.
__________________
Dell XPS 630i / Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 2.67GHz / Stock Cooling (Temporary) / 6GB DDR2 800 RAM + 4GB Windows ReadyBoost/ Nvidia GeForce 9800 GT / Samsung SpinPoint 640GB + Seagate FreeAgent 250GB / 750W PSU / Nvidia Nforce 650i SLI / Logitech X-235 Speakers + Plantronics .Audio 370 Gaming Headset / Dell 22' E228WFP / Razer DeathAdder /Windows Vista Home Premium 64-Bit
Airshehan
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2009, 07:12 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,401

My System Specs

Default

The consensus is you set the vmware clients to low and the gpu to above. The main thing to ensure is that the vmware clients are a few notches below the gpu client, as the vmware client will starve the gpu client for cpu cycles.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2009, 07:48 PM
Airshehan's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 211
Default

On the "Boost Your PPD with VMWare" guide, the author says that in the vmware SMP client settings, he chose 2 cores per SMP instead of 4 (he has a quad-core). And, he is running two instances of this. Would it be better to do what he is doing or run one smp client using all 4 cores?
__________________
Dell XPS 630i / Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 2.67GHz / Stock Cooling (Temporary) / 6GB DDR2 800 RAM + 4GB Windows ReadyBoost/ Nvidia GeForce 9800 GT / Samsung SpinPoint 640GB + Seagate FreeAgent 250GB / 750W PSU / Nvidia Nforce 650i SLI / Logitech X-235 Speakers + Plantronics .Audio 370 Gaming Headset / Dell 22' E228WFP / Razer DeathAdder /Windows Vista Home Premium 64-Bit
Airshehan
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2009, 07:54 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,579

My System Specs

Default

No... you want to run 2 cores per instance, just is more optimal and you get more PDD this way. You run 2 instances to use all of your 4 cores
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2009, 08:02 PM
Airshehan's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 211
Default

Okay, Thanks!
__________________
Dell XPS 630i / Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 2.67GHz / Stock Cooling (Temporary) / 6GB DDR2 800 RAM + 4GB Windows ReadyBoost/ Nvidia GeForce 9800 GT / Samsung SpinPoint 640GB + Seagate FreeAgent 250GB / 750W PSU / Nvidia Nforce 650i SLI / Logitech X-235 Speakers + Plantronics .Audio 370 Gaming Headset / Dell 22' E228WFP / Razer DeathAdder /Windows Vista Home Premium 64-Bit
Airshehan
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2009, 08:12 PM
Airshehan's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 211
Default

Hey guys, I have a bit of a problem. The IP Adress the client gives me, doesn't work! Does anyone know why?
__________________
Dell XPS 630i / Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 2.67GHz / Stock Cooling (Temporary) / 6GB DDR2 800 RAM + 4GB Windows ReadyBoost/ Nvidia GeForce 9800 GT / Samsung SpinPoint 640GB + Seagate FreeAgent 250GB / 750W PSU / Nvidia Nforce 650i SLI / Logitech X-235 Speakers + Plantronics .Audio 370 Gaming Headset / Dell 22' E228WFP / Razer DeathAdder /Windows Vista Home Premium 64-Bit
Airshehan
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2009, 08:17 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,579

My System Specs

Default

Do you have hamatchi or some kind of vpn running? If you do you need to disable the adapter because vmware isn't smart and tries to use that "ip address"
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2009, 08:47 PM
Airshehan's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 211
Default

Thanks Arinoth, I tried all possible solutions and it didn't work. I have decided that I am going to run 4 instances of the normal CPU tray client. What priority should I set the CPU client as? Thanks guys!
__________________
Dell XPS 630i / Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 2.67GHz / Stock Cooling (Temporary) / 6GB DDR2 800 RAM + 4GB Windows ReadyBoost/ Nvidia GeForce 9800 GT / Samsung SpinPoint 640GB + Seagate FreeAgent 250GB / 750W PSU / Nvidia Nforce 650i SLI / Logitech X-235 Speakers + Plantronics .Audio 370 Gaming Headset / Dell 22' E228WFP / Razer DeathAdder /Windows Vista Home Premium 64-Bit
Airshehan
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old August 30, 2009, 03:37 AM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,037

My System Specs

Default

Put the cpu to low...

Case in point:

I was looking at my FAHlog at a machine I had set up.... it was getting a little over 2000PPD on each VM instance for the CPU, but the 8800GT on it was getting a little over 1000PPD. It's been running for months, restarted because of an update, and I guess I forgot to set prifinitty to load with Windows.

After I loaded up Prifinitty it set the GPU clients to "above" and the cpu clients to "low" and now I'm getting 2000PPD on each VM instance (same as before) and I'm getting just about 5000PPD (vs ~1000PPD) on the GPU client.

In most systems the GPU client is the one that is going to give you the most PPD.... so let the CPU starve as long as the GPU is happy.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where did all my points go? Nodscene Off Topic 11 November 26, 2008 09:40 AM
NCIX rewards points any trade value? aimndtel Off Topic 17 October 11, 2008 03:15 PM
25 ncix points jay51 Off Topic 10 October 7, 2008 11:17 AM
getting the most points from the clients vinister HardwareCanucks F@H Team 12 July 27, 2008 10:31 PM