Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 24, 2009, 06:04 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 2,022
Default

No $$$$. Once you get hooked it usually costs you $$$$ !!!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 24, 2009, 06:07 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,598

My System Specs

Default

Folding allows for a better understanding of cancer cells.

No rep, no benefits, no $$$ involved.

Best rig is an i7 with dual 295s. But some members do run multiple F@H rigs, as folding farms.

A laptop is not recommended, with the heat generated.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 24, 2009, 06:11 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Edmonton Ab
Posts: 470

My System Specs

Default

If i want to fold on my GPU's? so what.. I don't have to use them? I can use my CPU? So no monetary gain, why is it hooking? i understand why games and OC'ing are addictive, but why F@H? And excuse my noobness, ppd?
__________________
Death to Apple
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 24, 2009, 06:11 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Edmonton Ab
Posts: 470

My System Specs

Default :New: Questions.

Hey guys, As you can see, I'm new here. As i was lurking and exploring this site i ame accross this forum. It interests me a bit. Altho, I do have a few questions.. now, from what i have read F@H is nothing but protein calculations and such. but I want to know, what is the end result of all these people F@H? is it a simple hobby? something some one decided to make up? Or does it have some sort of real world goal?

Hardware wise, what does it require? what gives you more F@H Horse power? having the best card,proc? or having more of it? like running a skulltrail system with 4 of ATI's best GPU's? Or having a I7 system with 2 290's plugged in? I don't quite understand.

And lastly, What are the benefits? Rep?$$?

Sorry if this is a stupid or inappropriate thread. I am just curious. thanks in advance.

Oh, Last thing. could you get a Laptop to run it?

OC~4.1
__________________
Death to Apple
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 24, 2009, 06:13 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Edmonton Ab
Posts: 470

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
Folding allows for a better understanding of cancer cells.

No rep, no benefits, no $$$ involved.

Best rig is an i7 with dual 295s. But some members do run multiple F@H rigs, as folding farms.

A laptop is not recommended, with the heat generated.
Ah! so it helps in Medical advances, that's reason enough. especially for me. thank you for that answer.

So a F@H program works with multiple GPU's, and uses them? does it do it with SLI or its own software.
__________________
Death to Apple
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 24, 2009, 06:16 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Richmond Hill
Posts: 8,539

My System Specs

Default

If you are wanting to fold on your GPUS, you want Nvidia over ATI, more ppd, less error work units
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 24, 2009, 06:44 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Edmonton Ab
Posts: 470

My System Specs

Default

...Am i posting right? It looks like the forum is all jumbled... sorry if i'm not.
__________________
Death to Apple
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 24, 2009, 06:44 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,598

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Overclocker~4.1 View Post
Ah! so it helps in Medical advances, that's reason enough. especially for me. thank you for that answer.

So a F@H program works with multiple GPU's, and uses them? does it do it with SLI or its own software.
Yes, they do use the GPUs, SLI does not work though you can use multiple GPUs. F@H uses its own software.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 24, 2009, 06:47 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Edmonton Ab
Posts: 470

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
Yes, they do use the GPUs, SLI does not work though you can use multiple GPUs. F@H uses its own software.
Interesting. So if i had different GPU's The program would use them? as long as the process shaders are all multiples of 2.... right?
__________________
Death to Apple
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 24, 2009, 06:48 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Edmonton Ab
Posts: 470

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
No worries. Server issues.
Ok, just wanted to make shure.
__________________
Death to Apple
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Various Questions... bkh2 Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 5 August 12, 2009 12:04 AM
questions. BrainEater HardwareCanucks F@H Team 15 December 5, 2008 08:53 PM
Few questions AnthraxAdrian CPU's and Motherboards 2 April 13, 2008 07:08 PM
Some questions about F@H qwerty HardwareCanucks F@H Team 4 October 16, 2007 06:45 PM
some questions about the pc... omgwtf CPU's and Motherboards 17 August 17, 2007 09:44 PM