Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2007, 09:14 AM
Scratch's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Victoria BC Canada
Posts: 373

My System Specs

Default Client problem

I initially had the FaH client installed on the pc I just gave my wife but when I attempted to initiate the client it pops up then immediately disappears. So I unistalled the client and reinstalled a fresh copy hoping that would fix the problem however it still just pops up then disappears. I can get the batch file to run but cant get the client to run...any suggestions?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2007, 10:08 AM
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: folding in GTA
Posts: 375
Default

Which client are you trying to run? Which OS vista or wxp?

It sounds like either a beta client that has expired,
or if it is the smp client the client needs to run under the id that is logged on, and the install.bat should be rerun to pick up your wifes id and pw. You need to have a pw for the smp client in win smp.

If you open a cmd prompt and start the client manually from the folding directory you will be able to see the messages without the window disappearing.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 11, 2007, 12:40 PM
Scratch's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Victoria BC Canada
Posts: 373

My System Specs

Default

I am using the smp client on Vista. It was working before I installed the entire thing in the other case. The computer name is still mine however I changed the user name to that of my wife so when I use the bat. install I use my wifes name and it says it is working but the client wont run and using command prompt gets the same result so...
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 11, 2007, 12:56 PM
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: folding in GTA
Posts: 375
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scratch View Post
I am using the smp client on Vista. It was working before I installed the entire thing in the other case. The computer name is still mine however I changed the user name to that of my wife so when I use the bat. install I use my wifes name and it says it is working but the client wont run and using command prompt gets the same result so...
I haven't used vista, but you need to be logged in as admin and turn off UAC when you run the install.bat. I expect this all needs to be done under your wifes id - set her up as admin if she is not already ... I expect that will keep things simpler.

Here is a link that may help Beginners Guide to WinSMP on Vista or XP - Overclockers Forums
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Little problem. belgolas HardwareCanucks F@H Team 9 February 9, 2008 09:05 PM
DVD problem bobletman Storage 2 January 27, 2008 11:10 AM
Small problem with the pc... omgwtf Troubleshooting 6 December 7, 2007 10:00 PM
Update your SMP beta client before it expires Oct 1 pscout HardwareCanucks F@H Team 7 September 30, 2007 10:19 PM
problem... omgwtf Troubleshooting 35 May 15, 2007 08:06 PM