Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 23, 2009, 03:23 AM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default Vmware traffic?

I just installed Comodo firewall and am messing around with it.
While folding 4 Vmware clients Comodo shows a bunch of outbound connections in the Network Defense box, and the 'Traffic' box shows System at 100%.
The number of connections jumps around from a few to around twenty.





If I check 'Active Connections' it looks like it's the Vmware IP's that are causing this.



Is this normal?
Do I have something set up wrong?

Last edited by somecanadianguy; August 23, 2009 at 03:29 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 24, 2009, 10:07 AM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

Does anyone know what's going on here?
Are the VMware clients supposed to make outbound connections even when they're working on a WU?
They show as 'System' in Comodo.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 24, 2009, 10:14 AM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,406

My System Specs

Default

I would like to find some way to compare the vmware traffic to the regular linux core traffic. I wonder if its the folding core that is doing this or something in the notfred client? Interesting.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 24, 2009, 01:50 PM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

I'm still not sure what's going on exactly.
I may have set something up wrong.
My VMware connection was set to 'Bridged'... I switched it to NAT to see what would happen.
Still don't know which I'm supposed to use really.
The connections that were showing as 'System' in Comodo had the VMware IPs as their destination.
Once I switched to NAT and reset my clients and FAHmon I had to manually terminate the old connections.
Now things seem fine, but I don't know.


**edit**
I just stopped one of my clients and now Comodo is showing me outbound connections from that client.
System and svchost.exe are the ones sending to the VMware IP.
Is this normal?

Last edited by somecanadianguy; August 24, 2009 at 02:16 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 26, 2009, 03:13 PM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

Does anyone know why the VMware player clients are connecting to the internet when they're shut down?
They show as outbound connections in Comodo firewall under 'System' or svchost.exe (usually System).
Their destination IPs are the VMware client IPs.
Each client will show multiple connections in Comodo.
The connection stops if I start the clients up again.

I'm wondering if it has to do with one of the VMware services.
Haven't had time to mess with them though, and I'm not sure which are needed and which aren't.

VMware Agent Service
VMware Authorization Service
VMware DHCP Service
VMware NAT Service

Last edited by somecanadianguy; August 26, 2009 at 03:20 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
VMWare oddity Lpfan4ever HardwareCanucks F@H Team 13 August 30, 2009 10:51 AM
Folding under VMWare help headsh0t HardwareCanucks F@H Team 8 August 18, 2009 10:44 PM
Spam / Scam traffic should take a hit.... sswilson Off Topic 0 December 19, 2008 02:58 PM