Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 29, 2009, 04:05 PM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default PPD down a little... any ideas?

I'm running 4 VMWare clients right now @ 3.486GHz...
Normally I get around 2150ppd to 2200ppd per client, but today I'm getting less.



Any ideas what's going on?
I'm not doing anything different.
I know it's not much of a loss, but it makes me curious.

Last edited by somecanadianguy; July 29, 2009 at 04:18 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 29, 2009, 04:44 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,613

My System Specs

Default

It's normal. ppd can vary from one WU to the other.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 29, 2009, 06:35 PM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

Ok, thanks.
Figured it was something like that, but really this is the longest I've run my pc under such load.
Part of me was wondering if my CPU was being damaged.
Eventully I'll stop worring about it so much...
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 29, 2009, 06:54 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,613

My System Specs

Default

No worries. A CPU is made to run at 100%. Keep an eye on temps, and that's it.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2009, 11:51 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,577

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by somecanadianguy View Post
Ok, thanks.
Figured it was something like that, but really this is the longest I've run my pc under such load.
Part of me was wondering if my CPU was being damaged.
Eventully I'll stop worring about it so much...
Oh i'm in the same boat, i'm worried running mine at full load 24/7 even at the safer temps at stock is going to damage mine as well, paranoid ftl
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2009, 12:20 PM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

I'm getting less paranoid, but sometimes I worry.
It's fun and all... and I'm happy to contribute to a good cause...
I need this computer for other things too though, and would hate to hurt it too much.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2009, 12:39 PM
badatcards's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia ont
Posts: 858

My System Specs

Default

it looks like all the teams are getting less PPD . And my temp seem to be down a bit , i was wondering in order to get the temps down they changed something in the WUs . maybe its taking longer to do each WU but with the same credit would get less PPD. As for your CPU being damaged,just watch your temps, you will probley upgrade before anything bad happens and still have this as a folding rig
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2009, 12:42 PM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

Most of the time I don't worry about it.
It's just when something changes I can get a little paranoid.
Really, my temps are fine... voltages are fine... I shouldn't worry... but sometimes I do.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2009, 01:00 PM
Prof. Dr. Silver's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,187
Default

Can you check to see on what 'priority' your VMware and GPU processes in task manager are running? VMware should be at 'low' and your GPU should be at 'normal'..... That makes a difference too I find....

Ps. Are you folding at 3.8GHz as well?
__________________
Hardcore Folding at it's BEST! HWC - TPU.... There can be only one team in front! TPU, can you smell our *sses already?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2009, 01:04 PM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

Right now I'm folding @ 3.486GHz... Going to up it back to 3.8 soon though.
Vmware clients set to 'normal'... GPU set to 'above normal'.
I'll try changing them and see what happens.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Horrible PPD with XP Pro?? smwoodruff0908 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 12 July 25, 2009 04:08 PM
Shader vs ppd phil3_66666 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 6 May 21, 2009 08:06 AM
What kind of PPD should I be getting? Daygard HardwareCanucks F@H Team 2 April 29, 2009 07:06 PM
PPD vs kwh for F@H Gellidius HardwareCanucks F@H Team 1 January 28, 2009 09:35 PM
where'd all my PPD go? Gamashinoch HardwareCanucks F@H Team 15 September 5, 2007 04:03 PM