Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 25, 2009, 12:21 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 32
Exclamation Horrible PPD with XP Pro??

I just switched over my folding rig from Vista Home Premium to XP Pro. I have two 9800GX2's, a Phenom II X4 940, 3GB of RAM. I also changed some of the programs that I now use to fold. I now use VMWare server 1.0.9 instead of 2.0. I'm running 2 instances of notfreds utilizing 2 cores per client, rather than running Ubuntu in the VM's. I am also running the GPU CLI client instead of the version with the nVidia Viewer. I have the same CUDA drivers installed as I did under Vista. I am using WinAFC to spread out the work of the clients across all 4 cores. My CPU is only at 1-3% with all the GPU clients running, and right about 100% with both VM's running.

I don't understand what's happening here. The last two days I was folding under Vista, I hit 25k each day. Now with XP I just hit 8,500 for today!! I really need some help here! Any and all advice is *greatly* appreciated!

Woody
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 25, 2009, 01:06 PM
Nademon's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 308
Default

Is the PPD down for both the GPU and CPU clients? Have you adjusted the priority for the clients...is anything taking priority over them? Maybe make sure you GPU clients have higher priority than the VMware.

I've had an ongoing issue with my 2 9800GX2's where one GPU usually underperforms by a huge gap, but sometimes it runs fine. I'm not running VM clients on that rig either. My understanding is that XP uses more resources for folding than Vista.
__________________
REFS:

My Heat, Ebay, RedFlagDeals

Rig 1: CM HAF - Rampage Extreme - QX9650 - OCZ Gladiator Max - 4GB Mushkin DDR3 1600 - GTX280 - 2xBarracuda 500GB - 1xBarracuda 250GB - Pioneer DVD - Corsair 1000HX

Rig 2: Thermaltake Armor - P5K-E - E3110 - TRUE w/ 2 120's - 4GB Ballistix DDR2 1066 - 9800GX2 - 2xBarracuda 250GB - Pioneer DVD - Corsair 620HX

Rig3: Antec 900 - P5K-E/Wifi - E5200 - OCZ Vendetta 2 - 4GB OCZ DDR2 800 - 2x 8800GTS's - 1xWD Caviar 80GB - Pioneer DVD - OCZ 650W PSU
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 25, 2009, 01:15 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 32
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nademon View Post
Is the PPD down for both the GPU and CPU clients? Have you adjusted the priority for the clients...is anything taking priority over them? Maybe make sure you GPU clients have higher priority than the VMware.

I've had an ongoing issue with my 2 9800GX2's where one GPU usually underperforms by a huge gap, but sometimes it runs fine. I'm not running VM clients on that rig either. My understanding is that XP uses more resources for folding than Vista.
Well it seems more or less that my GPUs are getting horrible PPD, whereas my CPU clients seem to be about what they were before. My GX2's used to be getting about 5k PPD per core, but now they're down to ~2k. My CPU clients are at 2700PPD each. With all the GPU clients up and running, and nothing else my CPU usage is only 1-3%. When I start up the CPU clients, usage then goes to 100%. Also, I did give the GPU clients a higher priority than the VM's.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 25, 2009, 01:18 PM
Nademon's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 308
Default

I see. You sure you're not getting stuck with the 511's? Also, did you downgrade the priority of Vmware-vmx? I just downgraded the priority of EVERY Vmware process but especially Vmware-vmx. Any change in your setup that might be causing excessive temps and make the GPU's start throttling?

Oh ya...fresh install of XP...just to confirm.
__________________
REFS:

My Heat, Ebay, RedFlagDeals

Rig 1: CM HAF - Rampage Extreme - QX9650 - OCZ Gladiator Max - 4GB Mushkin DDR3 1600 - GTX280 - 2xBarracuda 500GB - 1xBarracuda 250GB - Pioneer DVD - Corsair 1000HX

Rig 2: Thermaltake Armor - P5K-E - E3110 - TRUE w/ 2 120's - 4GB Ballistix DDR2 1066 - 9800GX2 - 2xBarracuda 250GB - Pioneer DVD - Corsair 620HX

Rig3: Antec 900 - P5K-E/Wifi - E5200 - OCZ Vendetta 2 - 4GB OCZ DDR2 800 - 2x 8800GTS's - 1xWD Caviar 80GB - Pioneer DVD - OCZ 650W PSU
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 25, 2009, 01:23 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 32
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nademon View Post
I see. You sure you're not getting stuck with the 511's? Also, did you downgrade the priority of Vmware-vmx? I just downgraded the priority of EVERY Vmware process but especially Vmware-vmx. Any change in your setup that might be causing excessive temps and make the GPU's start throttling?

Oh ya...fresh install of XP...just to confirm.
Yeah, it's a completely fresh install of XP Pro 64. I installed all the latest drivers for everything I could find, and have run all updates for XP.

I have gotten a 511, but I've also gotten many other work units as well. One time under Vista when I happened to notice all clients running 511's I was still getting about 4k PPD per GPU. Well, the VM's have lower priority than the GPU clients, if that's what you mean? There really shouldn't be any temp issues, I think the highest they have gotten is ~80*C. I have an Ultra Kaze fan right in front of the cards blowing cold air right into them, and another Ultra Kaze removing the hot air from the case.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 25, 2009, 01:26 PM
Nademon's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 308
Default

Ok...seems pretty straight up so far. But did you make sure the process Vmware-vmx in particular is downgraded in priority? I think that's the one that sucks up the cycles.
__________________
REFS:

My Heat, Ebay, RedFlagDeals

Rig 1: CM HAF - Rampage Extreme - QX9650 - OCZ Gladiator Max - 4GB Mushkin DDR3 1600 - GTX280 - 2xBarracuda 500GB - 1xBarracuda 250GB - Pioneer DVD - Corsair 1000HX

Rig 2: Thermaltake Armor - P5K-E - E3110 - TRUE w/ 2 120's - 4GB Ballistix DDR2 1066 - 9800GX2 - 2xBarracuda 250GB - Pioneer DVD - Corsair 620HX

Rig3: Antec 900 - P5K-E/Wifi - E5200 - OCZ Vendetta 2 - 4GB OCZ DDR2 800 - 2x 8800GTS's - 1xWD Caviar 80GB - Pioneer DVD - OCZ 650W PSU
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 25, 2009, 01:30 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 32
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nademon View Post
Ok...seems pretty straight up so far. But did you make sure the process Vmware-vmx in particular is downgraded in priority? I think that's the one that sucks up the cycles.
Yes, in WinAFC I set vmware-vmx to have a lower priority than the GPU clients. I also assigned them each to 2 different cores of the CPU. So one VM is on CPU0 and CPU1, and the other is on CPU2 and CPU3. I also split up the GPU clients to spread out the workload. I put two GPU clients on CPU0 and CPU1, and the other two GPU clients on CPU2 and CPU3. Again, with only the GPU clients up and running my total CPU usage is only around 1-3%.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 25, 2009, 01:33 PM
Nademon's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 308
Default

OK try this...Kill one of the Vmclients and see if your GPU PPD goes back up to normal. I have a feeling it might be that you're on XP now and it uses more CPU. I would kill all the folding first, reboot, then start up the 4 GPU clients and only 1 Vmclient. you should know within about 15-20 mins what kind of PPD your GPU's are putting up.
__________________
REFS:

My Heat, Ebay, RedFlagDeals

Rig 1: CM HAF - Rampage Extreme - QX9650 - OCZ Gladiator Max - 4GB Mushkin DDR3 1600 - GTX280 - 2xBarracuda 500GB - 1xBarracuda 250GB - Pioneer DVD - Corsair 1000HX

Rig 2: Thermaltake Armor - P5K-E - E3110 - TRUE w/ 2 120's - 4GB Ballistix DDR2 1066 - 9800GX2 - 2xBarracuda 250GB - Pioneer DVD - Corsair 620HX

Rig3: Antec 900 - P5K-E/Wifi - E5200 - OCZ Vendetta 2 - 4GB OCZ DDR2 800 - 2x 8800GTS's - 1xWD Caviar 80GB - Pioneer DVD - OCZ 650W PSU
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 25, 2009, 02:17 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,626

My System Specs

Default

Have you tried checking your GPU clocks? Also just verify that your folding clients aren't trying to fold off the same GPU.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 25, 2009, 02:22 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 32
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by geokilla View Post
Have you tried checking your GPU clocks? Also just verify that your folding clients aren't trying to fold off the same GPU.
Well in GPU-z it shows my clocks just as I set them in nvidia's control panel. I also run them by using shortcuts on my desktop. Each one has a different "-gpu x -local" flag, so I'm guessing that they're not trying to use the same GPU? Is there a better way to tell how much load is on each GPU?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Horrible pictures of dead caps trodas Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 110 February 13, 2014 06:56 AM
I feel horrible! Chilly Off Topic 19 July 6, 2009 12:04 PM
Shader vs ppd phil3_66666 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 6 May 21, 2009 08:06 AM
A horrible run with DC Exmortis Off Topic 8 December 23, 2008 10:15 PM
where'd all my PPD go? Gamashinoch HardwareCanucks F@H Team 15 September 5, 2007 04:03 PM