Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old July 25, 2009, 03:45 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 32
Default

Dangit! I guess having two VM's is killing my PPD :(

I killed one of them, and assigned all my GPU's to CPU0 and CPU1, and assigned my VM to CPU2 and CPU3, and now my PPD have picked back up to where it should be. Is there any way to get around this besides going back to Vista?? I'd really like to have two VM's up and running to take advantage of my CPU. I tried changing the priority of my GPU clients all to RealTime, and my VM's to Below Normal, but they are still bringing everything down.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old July 25, 2009, 03:55 PM
Nademon's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 308
Default

Glad we were able to narrow it down. I'm not sure what to tell you. I had pretty much the same issue a while back and no matter how I set the priorities, running 2 VMware clients would drag down my GPU PPD. It's odd because I know it appears that the two cores you assign the 4 GPU's to don't get much usage and should be able to handle another VMware instance, but it just ends up killing the PPD. Maybe there's a process running that I haven't discovered yet, but I doubt it as I tracked all the CPU usage per process and changed the priority accordingly. I think if you're going to stick with XP64, you're relegated to running only one VM instance. Any particular reason you switched from Vista? I found it's far better for folding due to the much lower resource usage.

I guess you're going to have to weigh the difference in PPD from all clients running in Vista to 1 less Vmware in XP and deem if it's worth it to switch back to Vista. I switched back after trying like crazy to get XP to not kill my GPU PPD with the VM's running. Post up if you figure out the secret.
__________________
REFS:

My Heat, Ebay, RedFlagDeals

Rig 1: CM HAF - Rampage Extreme - QX9650 - OCZ Gladiator Max - 4GB Mushkin DDR3 1600 - GTX280 - 2xBarracuda 500GB - 1xBarracuda 250GB - Pioneer DVD - Corsair 1000HX

Rig 2: Thermaltake Armor - P5K-E - E3110 - TRUE w/ 2 120's - 4GB Ballistix DDR2 1066 - 9800GX2 - 2xBarracuda 250GB - Pioneer DVD - Corsair 620HX

Rig3: Antec 900 - P5K-E/Wifi - E5200 - OCZ Vendetta 2 - 4GB OCZ DDR2 800 - 2x 8800GTS's - 1xWD Caviar 80GB - Pioneer DVD - OCZ 650W PSU
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old July 25, 2009, 04:08 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 32
Default

Yeah, I just may wind up switching back if I can't figure this out. That really stinks that I had to go through all of this for nothing :(
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Horrible pictures of dead caps trodas Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 110 February 13, 2014 06:56 AM
I feel horrible! Chilly Off Topic 19 July 6, 2009 12:04 PM
Shader vs ppd phil3_66666 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 6 May 21, 2009 08:06 AM
A horrible run with DC Exmortis Off Topic 8 December 23, 2008 10:15 PM
where'd all my PPD go? Gamashinoch HardwareCanucks F@H Team 15 September 5, 2007 04:03 PM