Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 17, 2009, 11:12 AM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default Sending results kills internet usage?

My little rig has been folding away now for around 2 weeks and I've noticed that whenever it's "Attempting to send results" my internet slows down really bad... most times I can't even connect.
Is this normal?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 17, 2009, 12:17 PM
Jon_di2's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 895
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by somecanadianguy View Post
Is this normal?
Only if your on dial up... or if you are using wireless and already have limited connectivity.

If you do have high speed access of some sort and your not using peer to peer file sharing, check your router to see if someone is stealing internet from you

So... No its not normal, you shouldn't really even notice it if you have high speed access, the files aren't very large and would only take seconds to transfer.
__________________
EVGA780i FTW|Q9450@3.3|2x2GB Mushkin Redline 8000|GTX 260 Core 216 65nm|Corsair TX750|Antec 900|Acer 22|Antec Multimedia Premier|WD 640GB|Seagate 500GB|Logitech G15|Vista64
EVGA790i FTW|E8400@4.1|4x1GB Aeneon Xtune DDR3-1866|2xGTX 260 55nm|CM 750W| CM690|Viewsonic 25.5|Seagate 500GBx2|Logitech G5|Razer Lycosa|Scythe Kaze Master 5.25|Win7 & XP
Dell XPS M170|Pentium M @2.00|2GB DDR2 @667MHz|Nvidia GeForce Go 7800 GTX|120GB|17" WUXGA|XP32
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 17, 2009, 12:41 PM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

I'm using Rogers...
My gf is also hooked up directly from the modem, but the problems happen whether or not she's online.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 17, 2009, 12:45 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Richmond Hill
Posts: 8,539

My System Specs

Default

It sounds like more that you're having someone stealing your net and when your computer is sending/receiving your information your bottlenecking your internet connection all together. If you do have wireless you may want to explore into it to see if there are some unknown mac addresses added to the router's DHCP table
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 17, 2009, 12:58 PM
Jon_di2's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 895
Default

What type of rogers...

they have ultra-lite (500 kbps) - which is esentially dial up and you will have trouble uploading and downloading anything

Lite - 3Mbps - you might have trouble uploading and downloading several things at once, depending on where you live you might not actually get anywhere near 3Mbps.

Or Express and Extreme which is 10 Mbps and you should not notice it at all.

Make sure you password protect your router and change your wireless password (or disable wireless entirely if you dont use it). Also does your router let you check your daily bandwith usage? See whats happening there...
__________________
EVGA780i FTW|Q9450@3.3|2x2GB Mushkin Redline 8000|GTX 260 Core 216 65nm|Corsair TX750|Antec 900|Acer 22|Antec Multimedia Premier|WD 640GB|Seagate 500GB|Logitech G15|Vista64
EVGA790i FTW|E8400@4.1|4x1GB Aeneon Xtune DDR3-1866|2xGTX 260 55nm|CM 750W| CM690|Viewsonic 25.5|Seagate 500GBx2|Logitech G5|Razer Lycosa|Scythe Kaze Master 5.25|Win7 & XP
Dell XPS M170|Pentium M @2.00|2GB DDR2 @667MHz|Nvidia GeForce Go 7800 GTX|120GB|17" WUXGA|XP32
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 17, 2009, 01:25 PM
fefox's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Manitoba N50 15.5944', W101 2.2833'
Posts: 324

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by somecanadianguy View Post
I'm using Rogers...
My gf is also hooked up directly from the modem, but the problems happen whether or not she's online.

I had the same problem then noticed my wife's machine had the link maxed out with torrents!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 18, 2009, 03:48 PM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

Ok I'm still not sure exactly what's going on, but I'm looking into it.
I may have to shut down the folding until I get it figured out...
My gf is getting pissed that she can't connect when I'm sending results.
Sucks, as I was just about to hit 200,000 points.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 18, 2009, 03:56 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Richmond Hill
Posts: 8,539

My System Specs

Default

It could be your ISP for some messed up reason, is it just when you send results that this happens (are you sure she is torrenting or downloading when you are sending results?)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 18, 2009, 04:25 PM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

It only happens with the clients are sending results.
Will happen even if her comp is shut off.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2009, 10:52 AM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

I had to switch to the Lite service when I moved.
It's looking as though that is likely the problem.
Here's some screens from my internet usage pages...







I just started folding in June and can see how useage went way up.
Not all of it has been folding related, but I'm pretty sure a lot of it must be.
Here's a link to my folding stats for comparison...
somecanadianguy - User Summary - EXTREME Overclocking Folding @ Home Stats

Is there somewhere I can get some good info on WU file sizes and bandwidth usage?
Haven't hit my monthly limit yet, but it looks like it's going to be close this month.
This may put a stop to my 24/7 folding for a while...
I can't afford to upgrade my service, and definately can't afford any additional usage charges.
Also, the gf is getting kinda pissed when she can't connect...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Innovation Cooling 7 Carat Diamond TIM Test results thread *NOW ACCEPTING RESULTS!!* Nademon Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 254 December 14, 2011 08:18 PM
WU sending before done bissa HardwareCanucks F@H Team 1 June 29, 2009 07:01 PM
GPU crash. Not sending results Alwaysrun HardwareCanucks F@H Team 1 March 14, 2009 09:15 PM
MSNBC kills students! Babrbarossa Off Topic 3 April 19, 2007 07:27 AM