Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2007, 11:54 AM
Gav's Avatar
Gav Gav is offline
Administrator
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,350

My System Specs

Default GPU & SMP at the same time

I'm wondering if anyone knows if I can run the GPU & SMP client at the same time on one machine and if so how do you set it up correctly?

I only have the GPU folding at this time and would like to put the CPU to work as well.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2007, 11:44 PM
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: folding in GTA
Posts: 375
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gav View Post
I'm wondering if anyone knows if I can run the GPU & SMP client at the same time on one machine and if so how do you set it up correctly?

I only have the GPU folding at this time and would like to put the CPU to work as well.
Is this the 820 you mentioned in another post? If so here was a previous reply
http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/hardw...html#post14675

Don't run the smp client with the gpu client, even on a quad. On a DC like the 820, run a standard client with the gpu.

All you need to do to run them together is make sure they are each in their own directory, and configure the second one with machineid=2 under the advanced settings. The gpu should be running already with the machineid defaulted to 1.

Each instance on a rig needs to have a unique machineid so that the stanford assignment and work servers can distinguish between them.
The range on the 5.02/5.04 clients was from 1-8. On the gpu client it was increased to 1-16.

The other post i linked suggested that ppd would prolly be similar running just 1 smp client and no gpu, or 1 gpu client + 1 standard client.

1 consideration i didn't mention there was that the gpu beta client and standard client are more stable than the win smp beta client.

Personally tho, i would favour just running 1 smp client (and no gpu client) if the 820 is oc'ed much for lower power and heat.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2007, 08:59 AM
Gav's Avatar
Gav Gav is offline
Administrator
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,350

My System Specs

Default

Thanks for all the info, sorry I didn't see the other post for some reason.

I'll try a different configuration each week like you suggested and see what turns out to be the best producer.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GA-P35-DS3L OC Time! Prof. Dr. Silver CPU's and Motherboards 149 May 29, 2008 12:06 PM
Forum time off? slugbug Suggestions & Feedback 7 January 21, 2008 01:57 AM
First Time OC, odd problem AutomaticPixel Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 13 January 5, 2008 06:33 AM
time to upgrade monsterp CPU's and Motherboards 6 October 30, 2007 09:04 PM
server time off? ace` Suggestions & Feedback 1 November 3, 2006 02:20 PM