Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old July 4, 2009, 11:01 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,656

My System Specs

Default

I once had a similar error in one of the vmware clients. I had to delete said client, re-download, extract and re-install the client - not Vmware. Ended up being a corrupted client.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old July 4, 2009, 11:03 AM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

Can you explain what I should do?
What do I reinstall?... I've tried reinstalling the VMware software and that didn't work.
I don't think I installed anything else except the GPU client.
Did I miss something?
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old July 4, 2009, 11:05 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,656

My System Specs

Default

Delete the client.
Re-download the package.
Re-install the client.
Re-configure.
Reset.
Re-start.

Same as you did the first time around, when you started from scratch - minus the VMware app installation.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old July 4, 2009, 11:12 AM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

What do you mean by package and client?
I'm a little confused... keep in mind that I'm totally new to this.
If you mean the folding.zip I'll try that, but don't remember installing anything.
I just unzipped, renamed the folder, and doubleclicked folding.vmx
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old July 4, 2009, 11:39 AM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,406

My System Specs

Default

I believe he means the 'folding.zip' file.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old July 4, 2009, 11:43 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,656

My System Specs

Default

The package is the download.
The client is the folding.zip file.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old July 4, 2009, 11:53 AM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

I never did get to the re-configure or reset steps.

I downloaded it again and unzipped it... still get the same errors when trying to run folding.vmx

I'm using VMware player version 2.5.2 but the guide uses 2.5.1
Could that be the problem?
I thought I saw others using this version without problems.


**edit**
Tried 2.5.1 and get the same errors.

Last edited by somecanadianguy; July 4, 2009 at 01:30 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old July 4, 2009, 01:44 PM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

Well I've tried un/re-installing VMware player...
I've downloaded the folding.zip package a few times...
Still get the errors.

I think I'm stuck.
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old July 4, 2009, 02:54 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,406

My System Specs

Default

I'm going to take a wild stab here...I see you are using Vista. Uninstall vmware, and when you re-install, install the software in a folder outside of the "Program Files" directory (create a folder directly off of the C drive called 'vmware folding', etc). Sometimes there is an issue running folding apps inside of the Programs Files directory in Vista. Worth a shot. Also make sure you have UAC turned off in Vista.

Also make sure of course you extract the 'folding.zip' folder, and simply are not just double-clicking on the vmx file while previewing the zip file contents.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old July 4, 2009, 02:56 PM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chriskwarren View Post
I'm going to take a wild stab here...I see you are using Vista. Uninstall vmware, and when you re-install, install the software in a folder outside of the "Program Files" directory (create a folder directly off of the C drive called 'vmware folding', etc). Sometimes there is an issue running folding apps inside of the Programs Files directory in Vista. Worth a shot. Also make sure you have UAC turned off in Vista.
I have to go out for a while but I'll try that when I get back.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I Started Folding Tonight. Spikemaul HardwareCanucks F@H Team 34 May 22, 2009 10:34 PM
MCR320 started leaking LooseCannon Water Cooling 10 February 20, 2009 03:14 PM
AVG notice just started popping up saying it's discontinued.... Misoprostol O/S's, Drivers & General Software 19 January 6, 2008 09:12 AM
The hall thing started from a cd... omgwtf Off Topic 6 November 15, 2007 03:48 PM