Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old July 2, 2009, 11:16 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,410

My System Specs

Default

Welcome to the team. If there is anything we can do to help just ask.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old July 3, 2009, 01:31 AM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chriskwarren View Post
Welcome to the team. If there is anything we can do to help just ask.
Thanks.
Umm... wanna help pay the hydro bill?
How about $$$ for some more hardware?


That's probably too much to ask... so...
Now that I have the GPU folding away, are there any settings in FahMon I need to change?
And what about my i7.
I'd like some help getting it folding too.

Last edited by somecanadianguy; July 3, 2009 at 06:08 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old July 3, 2009, 08:00 AM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,410

My System Specs

Default

You don't need to change anything in FaHMon. Just make sure you follow my guide here:http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...-progress.html

As for your i7 folding, you can get ~7000ppd on your OC 920 using the vmware setup. Zlojack has a guide here: Boost Your PPD with VMWare - Look inside for easy guides!

Pay close attention to the 'prifinity' note at the bottom of the first post in that thread. Prifinity will help you to get the most out of running the gpu folding client and the vmware client at the same time. The vmware client will try to steal cycles away from the gpu client, dramatically slowing down the gpu folding client. Prifinity will help you to ensure that the gpu client keeps a higher priority than the vmware one.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old July 3, 2009, 08:58 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,679

My System Specs

Default

I strongly suggest that you start with 3 VM clients; this will leave some juice for the GPU Client. You should be able to use your rig as-is CPU-wise, but you will have to pause the GPU client when using graphic-intensive apps.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old July 3, 2009, 01:02 PM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

If I run the F@H benchmarks do the points still get counted?
The points don't really matter much to me (how the could I compete with some of you out there???)...
I'm just curious.

I'm also wondering what setting is normally used to monitor ppd.
Right now I have it at default but each setting will show a different number so I'm not sure which to choose.
My card is doing another 768pt WU... running @ 666/1666/1199.
8500 - 8850 ppd when I'm doing other things and 8966.92 when I'm not.
Temp tops at 71c with fan @ 80%

Last edited by somecanadianguy; July 3, 2009 at 01:33 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old July 3, 2009, 04:49 PM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

Ok, I'm having some problems now...
I was doing a small WU... 383 or something, and I had to pause for a reboot.
When I got F@H running again on my GPU it showed me part way through a 768.
Then F@H shut down on me and won't restart...




I'm also having problems with the VMware thing for CPU.
I tried following the guide but I'm getting errors...



Click OK then...




Can someone help me here?

Last edited by somecanadianguy; July 3, 2009 at 05:59 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old July 3, 2009, 05:50 PM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

I rebooted my system and now the GPU is folding again.
Still having the same issues with the VMware though.
I've tried re-installing but it keeps giving me the same errors.

Last edited by somecanadianguy; July 3, 2009 at 05:55 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old July 3, 2009, 10:32 PM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

:help:
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old July 3, 2009, 11:09 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,410

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by somecanadianguy View Post
I rebooted my system and now the GPU is folding again.
Still having the same issues with the VMware though.
I've tried re-installing but it keeps giving me the same errors.
1. I have seen that GPU error you had when my desktop was not extended on to the second monitor (or dummy plug). Could also be a SLI setting (should be turned off...working now, but something to check the next time it may happen).

2. As for your vmware setup, I am not sure. Do you have virtualization disabled in bios I wonder?
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old July 4, 2009, 11:58 AM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

I double-checked and virtualization is on in BIOS.
I'm still getting those errors when I try to open the folding.vmx file.

Anyone know what to do here?
My little i7 is getting anxious... it wants to fold...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I Started Folding Tonight. Spikemaul HardwareCanucks F@H Team 34 May 22, 2009 11:34 PM
MCR320 started leaking LooseCannon Water Cooling 10 February 20, 2009 04:14 PM
AVG notice just started popping up saying it's discontinued.... Misoprostol O/S's, Drivers & General Software 19 January 6, 2008 10:12 AM
The hall thing started from a cd... omgwtf Off Topic 6 November 15, 2007 04:48 PM