Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old January 7, 2008, 10:26 AM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

mind you they are not uber stellar machines nothing like a Q6600 (mostly because i loath intel). The weird thing is my x2 4000+ on am2 does tings faster than my 939 opteron 165.
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old January 7, 2008, 10:45 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,649

My System Specs

Default

Your X2 may be faster that your Opty, it depends which WU it is crunching.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old January 7, 2008, 11:24 AM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

ok i have also been seing things called ppd's what the heck are those.
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old January 7, 2008, 12:33 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,649

My System Specs

Default

ppd = points per day. Install FAHMON (Home | FahMon) to follow progress of your clients.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old January 7, 2008, 04:35 PM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
ppd = points per day. Install FAHMON (Home | FahMon) to follow progress of your clients.
My other question i guess is will the number increase as you progress trhough the work units. ? or maybe my computers just suck :).
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old January 7, 2008, 06:00 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,649

My System Specs

Default

The ppd is a daily average, which varies depending which WU is being crunched. Some WUs are worth more points, some WU take more time to crunch (time per frame - tpf). Add all this together and you have the daily average. If your rigs are on a network, you can have a single FAHmon instance on one rig and have all your WUs together in one place. This will give you a ppd for all your rigs combined.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old January 7, 2008, 06:24 PM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

ok so across the 5 instances i am getting around 1009 ppd currently the weird thing is i am running to single core instances of F@H. but it is only showing 0 ppd for those which i think is weird. even though numbers are being crunched.
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old January 7, 2008, 06:45 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,649

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lcdguy View Post
ok so across the 5 instances i am getting around 1009 ppd currently the weird thing is i am running to single core instances of F@H. but it is only showing 0 ppd for those which i think is weird. even though numbers are being crunched.
I'm sorry but you'll have to re-phrase this, because I don't understand what you mean.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old January 7, 2008, 08:21 PM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

i just had to wait and it fixed itself. The other weird thing is that the ppd reading for my X2 4000+ is sitting around 800 running 2653 (R9, C111, G37) while each opteron core is getting aroun 100 ppd running 3651 (R11, C14, G5) and 3704 (R25, C14, G10) is it because my opteron is only 939 there for running on slower ram ? maybe it's time i upgraded. :)
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old January 7, 2008, 08:51 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,649

My System Specs

Default

It always depends which WU is being crunched; some take a whole lot more CPU cycles to analyse than others. Ram has an effect, but not to such a magnitude. Actually, your 4000+ is posting some nice numbers! 800 ppd for 2653 is very good - compare that to the same 2653 on one of my Quads (3.6Ghz): ~ 2370 ppd.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I wonder if this works with Ready Boost... Cardboard box with DSL O/S's, Drivers & General Software 5 July 1, 2007 01:11 AM
SuperTalent Ready Boost drive Scratch Press Releases & Tech News 0 June 11, 2007 01:16 PM
(almost) Ready to jump in! 3.0charlie HardwareCanucks F@H Team 3 May 26, 2007 08:17 PM
Dan's Data reviews Cyber Snipa dog tags USB drive and tool kit Supergrover Reviews & Articles from the Web 0 December 12, 2006 05:16 PM