Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 9, 2009, 11:59 AM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,062

My System Specs

Default Hailstorm = Lost days work

The good News.
My Trusty (yet expensive) APC took one for the Team literally.
It saved Storm Force however, but the software didn't fare so well.

I don't know if something got corrupted but I lost everything and have started to rebuild right from scratch again.
*sigh* thats a days work gone, but the GPU client is back online..I think I need to do a lot of reading on this SMP to get me in a higher bracked for Pscout, and make up for the loss..
Let that be a good reminder, high Grade UPS's do their jobs well.

$375 < $1100 .

Anywho, random post really, but I'm back online.

ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 9, 2009, 12:07 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,401

My System Specs

Default

We have been having some scattered lightening storms today. Pretty neat actually; sunny one minute, then a storm 15 minutes later, and the cycle starts all over again. I heard that Brampton is getting it a lot worse today though.

+1 for the UPS idea, and the post is a great idea too, as it will serve as a warning/heads-up for those who don't protect their expensive equipment. I have an APC UPS on my main rig, and will be moving it to the folding rig when I buy a more powerful one. I wonder why sometimes, that people feel fit to spend $400 on a MB, $400 on a CPU, another $400 on a video card, etc etc, and then plug it in to a $5 power bar from Wal-mart.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 9, 2009, 12:07 PM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,246

My System Specs

Default

Yup UPS's FTW!

I wouldn't run a rig without one.

Glad all you lost was time ST.

Quote:
Originally Posted by chriskwarren View Post
We have been having some scattered lightening storms today. Pretty neat actually; sunny one minute, then a storm 15 minutes later, and the cycle starts all over again. I heard that Brampton is getting it a lot worse today though.

+1 for the UPS idea, and the post is a great idea too, as it will serve as a warning/heads-up for those who don't protect their expensive equipment. I have an APC UPS on my main rig, and will be moving it to the folding rig when I buy a more powerful one. I wonder why sometimes, that people feel fit to spend $400 on a MB, $400 on a CPU, another $400 on a video card, etc etc, and then plug it in to a $5 power bar from Wal-mart.
Yeah reminds me of a saying I read somewhere,
$3000 highend Gaming computer
$1000 for that fata$$ monitor
Look on your face when your POS PSU blows and takes the rig with it:


Priceless!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 9, 2009, 01:28 PM
Lpfan4ever's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,755

My System Specs

Default

That hailstorm this morning was insane. I got to bed at 4:30AM, and I am usually a complete stone until about 11:00AM, but damn that storm woke me up.
As for a UPS, I'm in good need of one of those. Could you possibly link me to a good place to find them?
(Sorry for the slight threadjack)
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by encorp
I don't know, maybe if you get a big enough compacticator you can put it in your butt and name yourself "sexbuttplug"...
Code:
<martin_metal_88> I think I am gonna sell my server
...
<firebane> i will offer pereniums mom
<firebane> slightly used
<Keltron> slightly is an understatement
<LPfan4ever> Who're you kidding...slightly?
<martin_metal_88> peri's mom, slightly used? lol...

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 9, 2009, 01:45 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,613

My System Specs

Default

Every single computer (desktop) I have is protected using a UPS - APCs: dual 900s for my Main and the printer server, and a 1300 for the folding rig.

Bought them at Bureau En Gros / Staples on sale, and they are sometimes on sale too at FS and BB. NCIX also has a nice selection.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 9, 2009, 01:46 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,401

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lpfan4ever View Post
That hailstorm this morning was insane. I got to bed at 4:30AM, and I am usually a complete stone until about 11:00AM, but damn that storm woke me up.
As for a UPS, I'm in good need of one of those. Could you possibly link me to a good place to find them?
(Sorry for the slight threadjack)
If you are in Brampton then Canada Computers is a decent place to start:
Canada Computers - Your Neighbourhood Computer Store and Service Centre - PC Systems and Hardware Components, Notebooks, Electronics, and more.

If you have access to a car, then Infonec has some good prices:
Infonec Computers - Computer parts Canada, PC Components, laptop computers, motherboards, processors, CPUs and much more

The UPS I currently use is an APC one, but I may be picking up this model made by Cyberpower in the near future:
Canada Computers - Power Protection > UPS/Battery Backup : CyberPower CP1200AVR 1200VA AVR UPS System. This might be more than you need. The Cyberpower has some good specs, but to be honest I don't know much about them. Have not seen any poor reviews though that would cause concern. APC is very popular and well-known.

You need to make sure that the UPS you get will actually meet your needs. The main rig in my sig pulls just less than 600W out of the wall, and the current UPS I have only provides 550W. I don't worry about the run-time on battery...I just want the AVR (which is supposed to provide clean electricity), and to have enough battery time to have the UPS software shut down my computer after a couple of minutes.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 9, 2009, 02:15 PM
Lpfan4ever's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,755

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chriskwarren View Post
If you are in Brampton then Canada Computers is a decent place to start:
I just find that line funny since you've dropped a PSU off at my house
But, I was unaware CC carried UPS'. I'll have to do some looking around. The crappy thing is I run my PC on a 42" TV, so I'd say that draws quite a bit more than the 2053BW I was once running.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by encorp
I don't know, maybe if you get a big enough compacticator you can put it in your butt and name yourself "sexbuttplug"...
Code:
<martin_metal_88> I think I am gonna sell my server
...
<firebane> i will offer pereniums mom
<firebane> slightly used
<Keltron> slightly is an understatement
<LPfan4ever> Who're you kidding...slightly?
<martin_metal_88> peri's mom, slightly used? lol...

Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 9, 2009, 02:19 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,401

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lpfan4ever View Post
I just find that line funny since you've dropped a PSU off at my house
But, I was unaware CC carried UPS'. I'll have to do some looking around. The crappy thing is I run my PC on a 42" TV, so I'd say that draws quite a bit more than the 2053BW I was once running.
Haha yeah poorly worded...should have said "Since you are in Brampton..."

The one I said I was going to buy might actually do it for you. Is your TV LCD or plasma?
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 9, 2009, 02:21 PM
Lpfan4ever's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,755

My System Specs

Default

It's an LCD, Dynex DX-LCD42HD-09.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by encorp
I don't know, maybe if you get a big enough compacticator you can put it in your butt and name yourself "sexbuttplug"...
Code:
<martin_metal_88> I think I am gonna sell my server
...
<firebane> i will offer pereniums mom
<firebane> slightly used
<Keltron> slightly is an understatement
<LPfan4ever> Who're you kidding...slightly?
<martin_metal_88> peri's mom, slightly used? lol...

Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old May 9, 2009, 02:34 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,401

My System Specs

Default

LCD uses less electricity than a plasma which is a good thing. My entire system (main in sig) pulls ~600W, including my 26in LCD. Been looking around for a definitive answer on the 42 inch but don't seem to see one...looks like the UPS I linked should be fine for a short run-time for sure, if this thread is correct: http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/245316-28-anyone
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Odds on a worthwhile step-up from 8800GT in the next 90 days? rommelrommel Video Cards 2 February 1, 2008 09:29 AM
Optimus Maximus keyboard in 15 days Supergrover Press Releases & Tech News 8 May 5, 2007 05:15 AM
Nvidia 365 Days of Winning. $100,000 in prizes! Gav Press Releases & Tech News 7 December 23, 2006 10:08 AM