Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2009, 06:18 PM
Prof. Dr. Silver's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,187
Default Resistors for VGA Dummy Plug

Hey there Folding Canucks!

I spend the last week or so, trying to find the resistors needed for the VGA Dummy plug that we use in Vista while folding. As we all know, the dummy fakes an 'attached screen' to your GPU and will therefore allow the GPU to fold. I checked several hardware stores including the Source, but nobody has them. Then I found a store called Sayal Electronics that has just about everything in electronics you could possibly look for.

Here is what the resistors look like:


These come in a strip of 100 (!) for $ 5,- and are rated for 75Ohm, 1/2 watt and 5% tolerance. You'll need three in each VGA dummy that you're making. As you can imagine I personally need only 3 VGA dummies so I'll have a few leftover. If you are coming to the Hardware Canucks Folding Team Boozapalooza , I'll be more than happy to bring a few along for those who don't have them yet!!!

Allright, off to make some dummies now....
__________________
Hardcore Folding at it's BEST! HWC - TPU.... There can be only one team in front! TPU, can you smell our *sses already?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2009, 07:10 PM
Rookie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 18
Default

I had the Radio Shack replacement in Eaton Center (The Source?)order a load of various resisters (only come in variety packs) and then realized I didn't need them for XP.

What is the Boozapalooza? I live on the waterfront. If it is nearby I would be interested.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2009, 09:08 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,679

My System Specs

Default

Boozapalooza

http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...d-folders.html

Too bad Doc I won't be there, I would have snatched a few...
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 12, 2009, 06:08 PM
dhoshaw's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 100
Default Instructions for dummy plug

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prof. Dr. Silver View Post
Hey there Folding Canucks!

I spend the last week or so, trying to find the resistors needed for the VGA Dummy plug that we use in Vista while folding. As we all know, the dummy fakes an 'attached screen' to your GPU and will therefore allow the GPU to fold. I checked several hardware stores including the Source, but nobody has them. Then I found a store called Sayal Electronics that has just about everything in electronics you could possibly look for.

..
Hey Prof, do you have a link to some directions for putting the plug together? I may be getting a 9800x2 soon and would need it for my folding rig.

Thanks
__________________
Intel Q9550 @3.8 GHz
Sapphire 5850 Toxic
XFX 9800GX2
Xigmatek Dark Knight

Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P
2 x 2 GB Corsair XMS2 1066C5
2 x WD 640 GB Raid 0 + WD 1 TB
Haf 922 / Antec Signature 850
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 12, 2009, 06:17 PM
Prof. Dr. Silver's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,187
Default

Here's one for ya! VGA Dummy Plug. This guide is nice and clear. If you Google 'VGA dummy plug' you'll find plenty more guides.... It is real easy and I used electrical tape to cover the resistors. Good luck with it! And ehm.... can you tell us where you're getting that 9800GX2?
__________________
Hardcore Folding at it's BEST! HWC - TPU.... There can be only one team in front! TPU, can you smell our *sses already?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 12, 2009, 06:21 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,410

My System Specs

Default

Hey Prof; Any chance you can bring 7-8 of them? (I only need 6, but 1-2 extra as I am pretty clumsy ;p )

Thanks!
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 12, 2009, 07:34 PM
dhoshaw's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 100
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prof. Dr. Silver View Post
Here's one for ya! VGA Dummy Plug. This guide is nice and clear. If you Google 'VGA dummy plug' you'll find plenty more guides.... It is real easy and I used electrical tape to cover the resistors. Good luck with it! And ehm.... can you tell us where you're getting that 9800GX2?
Thanks Prof.

A guy at work has an extra one that I'm thinking of buying from him.
__________________
Intel Q9550 @3.8 GHz
Sapphire 5850 Toxic
XFX 9800GX2
Xigmatek Dark Knight

Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P
2 x 2 GB Corsair XMS2 1066C5
2 x WD 640 GB Raid 0 + WD 1 TB
Haf 922 / Antec Signature 850
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 12, 2009, 07:40 PM
Jon_di2's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 895
Default

If any folders need resistors I got mine today (100) 68 ohm, took 1 min to cut them and toss them in the adapter! I wont change for shipping, so just let me know.

Folding away on Vista now!
__________________
EVGA780i FTW|Q9450@3.3|2x2GB Mushkin Redline 8000|GTX 260 Core 216 65nm|Corsair TX750|Antec 900|Acer 22|Antec Multimedia Premier|WD 640GB|Seagate 500GB|Logitech G15|Vista64
EVGA790i FTW|E8400@4.1|4x1GB Aeneon Xtune DDR3-1866|2xGTX 260 55nm|CM 750W| CM690|Viewsonic 25.5|Seagate 500GBx2|Logitech G5|Razer Lycosa|Scythe Kaze Master 5.25|Win7 & XP
Dell XPS M170|Pentium M @2.00|2GB DDR2 @667MHz|Nvidia GeForce Go 7800 GTX|120GB|17" WUXGA|XP32
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 12, 2009, 08:08 PM
Jon_di2's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 895
Default

Here they are.

__________________
EVGA780i FTW|Q9450@3.3|2x2GB Mushkin Redline 8000|GTX 260 Core 216 65nm|Corsair TX750|Antec 900|Acer 22|Antec Multimedia Premier|WD 640GB|Seagate 500GB|Logitech G15|Vista64
EVGA790i FTW|E8400@4.1|4x1GB Aeneon Xtune DDR3-1866|2xGTX 260 55nm|CM 750W| CM690|Viewsonic 25.5|Seagate 500GBx2|Logitech G5|Razer Lycosa|Scythe Kaze Master 5.25|Win7 & XP
Dell XPS M170|Pentium M @2.00|2GB DDR2 @667MHz|Nvidia GeForce Go 7800 GTX|120GB|17" WUXGA|XP32
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old May 14, 2009, 02:28 PM
Prof. Dr. Silver's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,187
Default

Sweet, I'll bring mine guys...There are plenty to go around! :)
__________________
Hardcore Folding at it's BEST! HWC - TPU.... There can be only one team in front! TPU, can you smell our *sses already?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cant plug in front panel usb and firewire? go flames go New Builds 11 April 8, 2009 03:16 PM
Xonar dx plug in power WolfBane Audio 1 December 22, 2008 09:47 AM
Can you plug a 3870 x2 into a 780g? supernode Video Cards 6 September 13, 2008 02:51 PM
Is there a way to get yate loom to connect to cpu fan plug? Shadowmeph Air Cooling 3 March 30, 2008 06:37 PM
xfx motherboard, vreg fan plug?? Ukonjack Troubleshooting 1 December 3, 2007 09:27 PM