Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2009, 12:44 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,613

My System Specs

Default

In Task Manager, or use Prifinitty. Works great.

23 hours before breaking the 100th rank.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2009, 12:45 PM
Apollo4g's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 876
Default

Vista 64.....dont see it as i check for CPU activity and VMware is showing 0 when it is folding....hmmm
__________________
800D | i7 920 | EVGA Classified LE | 5970 EK Waterblock | 12GB - 1600 Dominators DDR3 | Silverstone Decathlon 1200W | Vertex 120GB |
ASUS Xonar HDAV1.3 | Heatkiller 3.0 | Thermochill PA.120.3 | Freezone Elite | 2x655's with EK Dual D5 Top | T-Virus Res |



Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2009, 12:45 PM
Apollo4g's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 876
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
In Task Manager, or use Prifinitty. Works great.

23 hours before breaking the 100th rank.
Faster if i get this up lol!
__________________
800D | i7 920 | EVGA Classified LE | 5970 EK Waterblock | 12GB - 1600 Dominators DDR3 | Silverstone Decathlon 1200W | Vertex 120GB |
ASUS Xonar HDAV1.3 | Heatkiller 3.0 | Thermochill PA.120.3 | Freezone Elite | 2x655's with EK Dual D5 Top | T-Virus Res |



Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2009, 03:04 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,401

My System Specs

Default

Apollo: If you start up Task Manager, and then click the top of the "CPU" column, then the vmware folding machine application should be at, or near, the top, as you end up sorting all your running programs by CPU usage. What are the top apps you see there?
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2009, 05:13 PM
Apollo4g's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 876
Default

yup i see it in task manager Chris, i wanted to know if i can get it in prifinity so i can arrange all of them accordingly and with one program. As well as prifinity saves the affinities to my knowledge and the task manager does not.

Wow what does 2 VM's put anyones i7 at temperature wise? Im running 4Ghz, HT one, does HT make a difference in folding btw?
__________________
800D | i7 920 | EVGA Classified LE | 5970 EK Waterblock | 12GB - 1600 Dominators DDR3 | Silverstone Decathlon 1200W | Vertex 120GB |
ASUS Xonar HDAV1.3 | Heatkiller 3.0 | Thermochill PA.120.3 | Freezone Elite | 2x655's with EK Dual D5 Top | T-Virus Res |



Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2009, 05:38 PM
matsta31's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,204
Default

for pure CPU folding, HT enalbe you to run another task... anyway this is how rosetta works ! :)
__________________

Sold hardware again.....
Currently using WHS hardware....
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2009, 10:49 PM
Apollo4g's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 876
Default

So how does HT work.

It shows 8 cores but there is only 4. So its 2 cores per cores? 1 virtual one actual?

LoL sounds confusing but it would be nice to know so i can set my affinity to the cores accordingly.
__________________
800D | i7 920 | EVGA Classified LE | 5970 EK Waterblock | 12GB - 1600 Dominators DDR3 | Silverstone Decathlon 1200W | Vertex 120GB |
ASUS Xonar HDAV1.3 | Heatkiller 3.0 | Thermochill PA.120.3 | Freezone Elite | 2x655's with EK Dual D5 Top | T-Virus Res |



Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old April 30, 2009, 05:10 AM
zlojack's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,057

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apollo4g View Post
So how does HT work.

It shows 8 cores but there is only 4. So its 2 cores per cores? 1 virtual one actual?

LoL sounds confusing but it would be nice to know so i can set my affinity to the cores accordingly.
That's correct. HT definitely helps with folding as you get two threads per core.
__________________
[SIZE=3]
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old April 30, 2009, 05:19 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zlojack View Post
That's correct. HT definitely helps with folding as you get two threads per core.
Does it actually help PPD?

My (very basic) understanding of the benfits to HT is that it allows for more concurrent tasks to be run, thus it would speed things up if you have more than 4 tasks which don't use 100% of CPU resources. Since each instance of folding (FAH or Rosetta) uses 100% of CPU resources I'd think that you're just "robbing peter to pay paul" by running 8 instances.

I don't have an HT enabled cpu to verify any of this though, so I'm only guessing. (Could be that using HT uses those resources more efficiently).
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old April 30, 2009, 05:28 AM
zlojack's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,057

My System Specs

Default

Well, I haven't tested that, but I'm getting 7k ppd out of my i7 920 at 3GHz
__________________
[SIZE=3]
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Should break into the top 100 folders for HWC today nckid4u HardwareCanucks F@H Team 5 April 25, 2009 09:11 AM
[FS] EN8800GT TOP v-mod phil3_66666 Buy/Sell & Trade 5 February 21, 2009 01:56 PM
[FS] top of the line I7 Setup Table21 Buy/Sell & Trade 24 February 6, 2009 02:42 PM
Top or bottom? magictorch Water Cooling 16 October 1, 2008 07:05 PM
Top mount radiator - what would I need? JayDee Water Cooling 22 July 17, 2007 06:21 AM