Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #61 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2009, 08:46 AM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,631

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My i7 folds 2 Vms good for ~2800 ppd. Each. So you definitely have a problem Imma PC.
You're running VMware? My E7200 @ 3.7Ghz gets around 1500PPD atm. Max I've seen was 2000PPD on the 1760 point WU.

Anyone managed to get VMware Folding setup as a service client? By service, I mean the WHOLE thing as a service.
__________________

Last edited by geokilla; April 18, 2009 at 10:10 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #62 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2009, 11:14 AM
zlojack's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,057

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My i7 folds 2 Vms good for ~2800 ppd. Each. So you definitely have a problem Imma PC.
2800 each?

At 3.8GHz, right?

I need to get everything together here...I hate waiting for hardware
__________________
[SIZE=3]
Reply With Quote
  #63 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2009, 11:20 AM
Sagath's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Petawawa, ON
Posts: 2,555

My System Specs

Default

This VM 'trick' boosted my PPD from ~7000 to nearly 10k. Mind you 4200ish is from my 88(98)gt, but I went from like 2500 on this quad to 4k+.

Is there a layman breakdown of the technical reasoning behind the boost? I mean, is it simply because the folding is running in 'nux on the VM? Windows is that bad for folding?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lpfan4ever View Post
AKG shot the hamsters, and then Perineum drove his Mustang with summer tires into the server.
My Disclaimer to any advice or comment I make;
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm a self certified whizbang repair technician with 20 years of professional bullshit so I don't know what I'm talking about
Reply With Quote
  #64 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2009, 11:22 AM
zlojack's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,057

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sagath View Post
This VM 'trick' boosted my PPD from ~7000 to nearly 10k. Mind you 4200ish is from my 88(98)gt, but I went from like 2500 on this quad to 4k+.

Is there a layman breakdown of the technical reasoning behind the boost? I mean, is it simply because the folding is running in 'nux on the VM? Windows is that bad for folding?
Yep. The newer client runs on Linux and is way faster.
__________________
[SIZE=3]
Reply With Quote
  #65 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2009, 12:19 PM
ImmaPC's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Burnaby, B.C.
Posts: 1,027
Default

OKAY! UPDATE! My i7-920 at the STOCK 2.67 GHZ, running 4VM's with the SMP @ 2 cores, folds approximately 6011 PPD, meaning approximately 1500PPD per VM. Should I run 2 VM's with SMP @ 4 cores? Should I OC it? RMA it? Suggestions?

(approximately means give or take 100 PPD - It likes to jump around sometimes...)
__________________
A10-5800K,
F2A85M-PRO
8GB DDR3-2133 CL9
2x XFX 7870
Adata SX900 256GB
Toshiba 1TB
Galaxy 1000W
Antec One
Reply With Quote
  #66 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2009, 12:26 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,122

My System Specs

Default

VM Player is restricted to using 2 cores per instance. That's why you need 4 instances to fully load your i7.
Reply With Quote
  #67 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2009, 12:33 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,669

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zlojack View Post
2800 each?

At 3.8GHz, right?

I need to get everything together here...I hate waiting for hardware
Yes, ~2800 ppd per client.

And no, @ 3.3Ghz.

I'm still debating going for 6gb of ram, and install Vista 64bit. But re-installing all the apps is a pain in the you know where...
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #68 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2009, 12:34 PM
ImmaPC's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Burnaby, B.C.
Posts: 1,027
Default

Okay, so it's definitely now how I've configured the VM's...did it right by the book, got 2 cores per VM, 4 VM's, that's all good. I'm gonna wait till later on today when it finishes these WU's before I start OCing my i7 to see the difference.

@3.0Charlie:

You WC and can get 3.8ghz from your i7, do you have leverage for more if you wanted to? What do you think I could get on air with a good TRUE-1366?
__________________
A10-5800K,
F2A85M-PRO
8GB DDR3-2133 CL9
2x XFX 7870
Adata SX900 256GB
Toshiba 1TB
Galaxy 1000W
Antec One
Reply With Quote
  #69 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2009, 01:17 PM
zlojack's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,057

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
Yes, ~2800 ppd per client.

And no, @ 3.3Ghz.

I'm still debating going for 6gb of ram, and install Vista 64bit. But re-installing all the apps is a pain in the you know where...
That's crazy, man!

I'm only pulling about 1800PPD per VMWare client, running four instances (I've got 6GB or RAM installed). I think I might pop in the other 6GB I've got sitting here so maybe I'll see how the system does with 12GB. That way if I want to run another program I won't have to kill the VMs
__________________
[SIZE=3]
Reply With Quote
  #70 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2009, 02:20 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,669

My System Specs

Default

@ Imma: wc'ed I can run this i7 at 4.1. BUt since everything is wc'ed on this rig, I'm waiting for summertime to raise the oc. Basement = cool... As for the TRUE, 4.0 is achievable, if you don't mind the 70C-75C load temps. That's what my i7 ran at, using the TRUE 120.

@ Zlojack, I think we have the same setup, minus the ram. I too am using Prifinnity.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Linux SMP folding using XP / Vista + VMware sswilson HardwareCanucks F@H Team 100 May 12, 2008 08:28 PM
Some help getting VMWare and SMP up and running zlojack HardwareCanucks F@H Team 54 May 3, 2008 10:40 PM
where'd all my PPD go? Gamashinoch HardwareCanucks F@H Team 15 September 5, 2007 05:03 PM
tech toy guides and faq guides. Il Duce Suggestions & Feedback 0 April 10, 2007 07:08 PM