Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks [email protected] Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #61 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2009, 07:46 AM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,731

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My i7 folds 2 Vms good for ~2800 ppd. Each. So you definitely have a problem Imma PC.
You're running VMware? My E7200 @ 3.7Ghz gets around 1500PPD atm. Max I've seen was 2000PPD on the 1760 point WU.

Anyone managed to get VMware Folding setup as a service client? By service, I mean the WHOLE thing as a service.
__________________

Last edited by geokilla; April 18, 2009 at 09:10 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #62 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2009, 10:14 AM
zlojack's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,057

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My i7 folds 2 Vms good for ~2800 ppd. Each. So you definitely have a problem Imma PC.
2800 each?

At 3.8GHz, right?

I need to get everything together here...I hate waiting for hardware
Reply With Quote
  #63 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2009, 10:20 AM
Sagath's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Petawawa, ON
Posts: 3,167

My System Specs

Default

This VM 'trick' boosted my PPD from ~7000 to nearly 10k. Mind you 4200ish is from my 88(98)gt, but I went from like 2500 on this quad to 4k+.

Is there a layman breakdown of the technical reasoning behind the boost? I mean, is it simply because the folding is running in 'nux on the VM? Windows is that bad for folding?
__________________
My Disclaimer to any advice or comment I make;
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm a self certified whizbang repair technician with 20 years of professional bullshit so I don't know what I'm talking about
Reply With Quote
  #64 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2009, 10:22 AM
zlojack's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,057

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sagath View Post
This VM 'trick' boosted my PPD from ~7000 to nearly 10k. Mind you 4200ish is from my 88(98)gt, but I went from like 2500 on this quad to 4k+.

Is there a layman breakdown of the technical reasoning behind the boost? I mean, is it simply because the folding is running in 'nux on the VM? Windows is that bad for folding?
Yep. The newer client runs on Linux and is way faster.
Reply With Quote
  #65 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2009, 11:19 AM
ImmaPC's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Burnaby, B.C.
Posts: 1,027
Default

OKAY! UPDATE! My i7-920 at the STOCK 2.67 GHZ, running 4VM's with the SMP @ 2 cores, folds approximately 6011 PPD, meaning approximately 1500PPD per VM. Should I run 2 VM's with SMP @ 4 cores? Should I OC it? RMA it? Suggestions?

(approximately means give or take 100 PPD - It likes to jump around sometimes...)
__________________
A10-5800K,
F2A85M-PRO
8GB DDR3-2133 CL9
2x XFX 7870
Adata SX900 256GB
Toshiba 1TB
Galaxy 1000W
Antec One
Reply With Quote
  #66 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2009, 11:26 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,669

My System Specs

Default

VM Player is restricted to using 2 cores per instance. That's why you need 4 instances to fully load your i7.
Reply With Quote
  #67 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2009, 11:33 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,838

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zlojack View Post
2800 each?

At 3.8GHz, right?

I need to get everything together here...I hate waiting for hardware
Yes, ~2800 ppd per client.

And no, @ 3.3Ghz.

I'm still debating going for 6gb of ram, and install Vista 64bit. But re-installing all the apps is a pain in the you know where...
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #68 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2009, 11:34 AM
ImmaPC's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Burnaby, B.C.
Posts: 1,027
Default

Okay, so it's definitely now how I've configured the VM's...did it right by the book, got 2 cores per VM, 4 VM's, that's all good. I'm gonna wait till later on today when it finishes these WU's before I start OCing my i7 to see the difference.

@3.0Charlie:

You WC and can get 3.8ghz from your i7, do you have leverage for more if you wanted to? What do you think I could get on air with a good TRUE-1366?
__________________
A10-5800K,
F2A85M-PRO
8GB DDR3-2133 CL9
2x XFX 7870
Adata SX900 256GB
Toshiba 1TB
Galaxy 1000W
Antec One
Reply With Quote
  #69 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2009, 12:17 PM
zlojack's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,057

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
Yes, ~2800 ppd per client.

And no, @ 3.3Ghz.

I'm still debating going for 6gb of ram, and install Vista 64bit. But re-installing all the apps is a pain in the you know where...
That's crazy, man!

I'm only pulling about 1800PPD per VMWare client, running four instances (I've got 6GB or RAM installed). I think I might pop in the other 6GB I've got sitting here so maybe I'll see how the system does with 12GB. That way if I want to run another program I won't have to kill the VMs
Reply With Quote
  #70 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2009, 01:20 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,838

My System Specs

Default

@ Imma: wc'ed I can run this i7 at 4.1. BUt since everything is wc'ed on this rig, I'm waiting for summertime to raise the oc. Basement = cool... As for the TRUE, 4.0 is achievable, if you don't mind the 70C-75C load temps. That's what my i7 ran at, using the TRUE 120.

@ Zlojack, I think we have the same setup, minus the ram. I too am using Prifinnity.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Linux SMP folding using XP / Vista + VMware sswilson HardwareCanucks [email protected] Team 100 May 12, 2008 07:28 PM
Some help getting VMWare and SMP up and running zlojack HardwareCanucks [email protected] Team 54 May 3, 2008 09:40 PM
where'd all my PPD go? Gamashinoch HardwareCanucks [email protected] Team 15 September 5, 2007 04:03 PM
tech toy guides and faq guides. Il Duce Suggestions & Feedback 0 April 10, 2007 06:08 PM