Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old April 11, 2009, 07:12 PM
zlojack's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,057

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
Which process is the GPU client?
I did it to both Folding@home.exe processes as well as the FahCore_14 (or FahCore_11) processes.
__________________
[SIZE=3]
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old April 11, 2009, 07:16 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,667

My System Specs

Default

Thanks - we'll what kind of ppd I'll get.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old April 11, 2009, 08:29 PM
LCB001's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aylmer QC.
Posts: 1,774

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zlojack View Post
Does that allow you to assign the priority? I'll have to look at it. The affinity isn't the problem so much as the process priority.
Sorry I meant to say Priority Setting, it's been a long day. The program I saw mentioned is; PriFinitty 2 by Ed Wilk from here Core i7 Folding - how to increase your PPD - Page 9 - Xtreme CPU.

His explanation of why it works;
Quote:
You have to use PriFinity b/c everytime a WU is finished, the core closes and re-opens on the next WU at default priority. Prifinity will poll the program and keep it at top priority.
It says it's for XP 32bit but was referred to a user running Vista 64bit who had it work for him.

I have never used that type of program so YMMV, good luck...
__________________
Folding For Team 54196

Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old April 11, 2009, 10:35 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,631

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
Its not essential you can run it perfectly fine with out it.

It might run a bit slower but you can still run it.
LIESSSSS! Cus all the guides and Internet sites and everything say I need VT.....I'm using XP 32 bit and there's no way I could emulate Linux 64 bit....I think. Are you sure it doesn't need VT? I could give it a try....

Also, has anyone gotten VMware to run as a service? I need it to be setup as a service for the AMD rig, otherwise I'd be stuck on the Windows SMP client.

Edit: Just tried it with my rig in sig, and as I thought, it doesn't work. Couldn't run 64 bit on it. However, I'm going to try this on my sister's AMD rig, but as I said, I need it to run as a service.
__________________

Last edited by geokilla; April 11, 2009 at 11:01 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old April 11, 2009, 11:13 PM
zlojack's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,057

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LCB001 View Post
Sorry I meant to say Priority Setting, it's been a long day. The program I saw mentioned is; PriFinitty 2 by Ed Wilk from here Core i7 Folding - how to increase your PPD - Page 9 - Xtreme CPU.

His explanation of why it works;

It says it's for XP 32bit but was referred to a user running Vista 64bit who had it work for him.

I have never used that type of program so YMMV, good luck...
Thanks bro!

Seems to work.

I'll see in the morning, I suppose.
__________________
[SIZE=3]
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old April 12, 2009, 09:21 AM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,406

My System Specs

Default

Hey Zlojack: this work on your Vista 64 rig?
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old April 12, 2009, 09:25 AM
zlojack's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,057

My System Specs

Default

So far so good. I haven't had any problems with PPD dipping since last night and it's done a couple of WUs. We'll see what happens when it switches to the FahCore_14
__________________
[SIZE=3]
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old April 12, 2009, 09:31 AM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,406

My System Specs

Default

Using the vmware method from the Evga link you provided has increased my overall PPD, but my two GTX 285s are about 2500-3500PPD lower than usual (I think...I usually use FahMon, but have been using FahSpy last few days instead). I think if I can get the core priorities right I can get a couple extra 1000 PPD out of my two rigs.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old April 12, 2009, 09:56 AM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,631

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chriskwarren View Post
Using the vmware method from the Evga link you provided has increased my overall PPD, but my two GTX 285s are about 2500-3500PPD lower than usual (I think...I usually use FahMon, but have been using FahSpy last few days instead). I think if I can get the core priorities right I can get a couple extra 1000 PPD out of my two rigs.
Are you using Windows XP and the 180+ drivers?

I heard that the VMware method from the EVGA forums crashes if left unattended for long periods of time. Anyone experienced this?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old April 12, 2009, 10:22 AM
zlojack's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,057

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by geokilla View Post
Are you using Windows XP and the 180+ drivers?

I heard that the VMware method from the EVGA forums crashes if left unattended for long periods of time. Anyone experienced this?
Mine has been running constantly for 48 hours with no problems so far.
__________________
[SIZE=3]
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Linux SMP folding using XP / Vista + VMware sswilson HardwareCanucks F@H Team 100 May 12, 2008 08:28 PM
Some help getting VMWare and SMP up and running zlojack HardwareCanucks F@H Team 54 May 3, 2008 10:40 PM
where'd all my PPD go? Gamashinoch HardwareCanucks F@H Team 15 September 5, 2007 05:03 PM
tech toy guides and faq guides. Il Duce Suggestions & Feedback 0 April 10, 2007 07:08 PM