Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 28, 2009, 08:58 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,410

My System Specs

Default Quick guide to using your PS3 for Folding@Home

Many people have the Playstation 3 (PS3) in their homes. Few people use it to fold for their favourite folding team. Here is a quick guide that will show you how to get started.

The tutorial below assumes you have your PS3 connected to a router or cable modem already. For more info on this see here:
PS3 | Settings

Also, my apologies if the images are a little blurred. The PS3 screenshots were done through a Composite/S-Video adapter to my capture card.

Step 1: Make sure your PS3 is up to date

Start the PS3. We should update to the latest version of the Playstation operating system. Before doing this, it might be a good idea to back up your PS3. Follow this link for more information on how to do this.

Select System Update on the XMB (XrossMediaBar, otherwise known as the menu on a PS3):



Update via internet or a USB drive which you may have saved an update to earlier.



In the case below, I have updated already. Upon updating, you will have to restart your PS3.




Step 2: Download the Life With Playstation application

You will need the latest verion of the Life With Playstation application for Folding@Home. This is especially important, as the Folding@Home application has been moved in the newest version, which causes some confusion among budding PS3 folders.

It used to be a stand-alone application in the Network panel of the XMB, but now it resides as a 'channel' within the new Life With Playstation application.

Navigate to the Network section of the XMP, and select Life With Playstation:



Press X to indicate OK:



Make sure you have Yes selected and press X to confirm.



You will see a download message. The download is ~125mb, and you must not turn off the PS3 or interrupt the process:



After the download completes, you will have to wait for the installation to finish:



When done, you will see this message:



Press Circle when you see it.

Step 3: Open Folding@Home

Select Life With Playstation and press X:



Press X:



To agree to the terms, press X again:



Accept and press X. Be careful, as "Do Not Accept" is the default.



You will be taken to the default 'channel' in Life With Playstation. In the case below, it is the Weather station called "Live". Yours may look like below:



We need to access the Folding@Home channel. You accomplish this by pressing and holding down Square, and then scroll down to "Folding@Home":



You will then be taken to the Folding@Home channel:



If you look in the top right corner of the above image, you will see the default Donor name is PS3, and the Team is 0. You will also see a progress bar below that, indicating that your PS3 is happily folding away. It does this in the background whenever the Life With Playstation application is running, wether you are on the folding channel or not.

However, we can't let the PS3 take all the credit for the folding your machine is doing. Now it is time to enter your Donor name, and team number. If you are not on a team yet, you can fold for us: Hardware Canucks Forum, team # 54196. If you don't want to fold for us that's OK too!

Step 4: Change Identity settings

(Note: you can connect a USB keyboard to the PS3 to make entering your name and team info easier)

To access the settings where you can enter your personal info, press Triangle. You will see the follow options, and select "Current Channel":



Scroll down and Select "Identity":



Select "Change Donor Name":



You will see the keyboard as shown below:



Above, you will want to backspace "PS3" out of there and use the controller to enter your Donor name. I will enter "chriskwarren" and press the "Enter" button at the bottom right:

Next, select "Join An Existing Team":



Then, backspace the "0" out of the team number:



Enter your team number and select Enter on the bottom right. In my case, I entered team 54196, which is Hardware Canucks Forum.



Press "Circle" to return to the Folding@Home channel.



Check to ensure that your Donor and Team name are correct:



You have done it! You have successfully entered your Donor name and are now accumulating points for your F@H team.

Step 5: Some optional settings to increase your folding points

I leave my PS3 running pretty much 24/7 so that it folds when I am not using it. In case you are wondering about the energy use, Stanford has this to say:

Quote:
The original PS3 model will use about 200 Watts while running Folding@home. A later model PS3 (with a 40 GB hard drive) will use about 115 Watts.
One way to get the most PPD (Points Per Day) out of the PS3 is to set the Life With Playstation to turm on automatically when the PS3 is sitting idle (remember, the Folding@Home application is a part of this program). This way, you won't have to remember to turn on Life With Playstation to earn points.

Make sure you are in the XMB main menu, and navigate to the Life With Playstation application. Don't start the application!:



Then, press Triangle. Select "Auto-Start":



Select the time you want the Life With Playstation to start. I selected "After 10 Minutes":



You are then taken to the XMB menu again.

Other Options

I find the music that plays when Life With Playstation turns on is annoying, especially if it is set to automatically turn on after 10, 20, or 30 minutes.

To turn this music off, access the Life With Playstation application. If you left it in the Folding@Home channel, you should end up back in that channel:



Press Triangle, and then select "Music":



Select "Disabled" by pressing X , and the exit the music menu by pressing Circle:




Now, you will only hear some effects when navigating the Life With Playstation application, and no music.
__________________
Fold for team #54196

Last edited by chrisk; March 28, 2009 at 11:12 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 28, 2009, 08:58 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,410

My System Specs

Default Deleting and Re-Installing Life With Playstation

Sometimes, the files can become corrupt in the Folding@Home channel.

Sometimes you may get an error message (unable to connect, etc). If this happens, check the foldingforums.org website and see if there are any threads indicating issues with the PS3 folding client or servers. If everything seems OK, you might need to reinstall the Life With Playstation application.

Step 1: Delete the Life With Playstation application

You accomplish this through the main XMB menu. Navigate to the Life With Playstation application, and press Triangle . Do not enter the application by pressing X.



Select "Delete". Select Yes to confirm: (Note: Not reversible)



You will get the deletion confirmation message:



After this is deleted, return to the first post in this thread at the top of the page. Scroll down to the section where we downloaded the Life With Playstation application (Step 2).

Continue from that point on until you have entered your personal information such as Donor, and Team info again.
__________________
Fold for team #54196

Last edited by chrisk; March 28, 2009 at 11:28 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 28, 2009, 08:59 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,410

My System Specs

Default

Holding.
__________________
Fold for team #54196

Last edited by chrisk; March 28, 2009 at 11:28 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 29, 2009, 01:20 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,410

My System Specs

Default

Anyone out there with any suggestions on this is appreciated. If you have a PS3 and think there is something folding-related I can add to this that I have missed let me know.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 29, 2009, 03:43 PM
Mr. Gruntsworthy's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Courtice, ONT
Posts: 738
Default

I personally want to set my PS3 to automatically play music off the hard drive when it starts up, instead of the default or disabled options. Instead, it defaults to Disabled when restarted :(

A random off-topic question; but do you know if a PS3 accepts the 500GB 2.5" HDDs that are out? I want to give mine as much storage as possible.
__________________
MAIN RIG:
Case: Antec 900
CPU : Intel E8400 45nm Core 2 Duo @ 3GHz 1333MHz FSB
RAM : 4GB DDR2 800MHz (OCZ Platinum)
HDD : Main: 120GB SSD SATA2 (OCZ) Storage: 3TB SATA2 (WD Green) Backup: 500GB External USB (Hitatchi)
GFX : HD4850 (512MB)
PSU : 610W PC Power Silencer
MoBo: Asus P5Q SE
View : Acer H213H 21.5" @ 1920 x 1080

Oshawa Deathmatch Community -- An open group for Durham/Toronto Airsoft, Paintball, and Nerf players. Come join!

I am a Level/Game Designer! http://mikeseguin.webs.com/

Last edited by Mr. Gruntsworthy; March 29, 2009 at 03:48 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 29, 2009, 05:02 PM
Digikid's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,729
Default



ROFLMAO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 29, 2009, 05:56 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,410

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Gruntsworthy View Post
I personally want to set my PS3 to automatically play music off the hard drive when it starts up, instead of the default or disabled options. Instead, it defaults to Disabled when restarted :(

A random off-topic question; but do you know if a PS3 accepts the 500GB 2.5" HDDs that are out? I want to give mine as much storage as possible.
I( have not done it but several threads seem to indicate that it works. I saw one thread where a guy showed a picture of a 1TB 3.5" drive hooked up via sata cable and external source.

As for a normal setup using a 2.5" drive everything I see in the following threads indicate that there should be no issues:

1. Official Sony site lists the requirements, and no size mentioned: Knowledge Center | Support | Playstation.com

2. One of the threads where someone hooked up a 1.5TB drive (or it is mentioned): GameSpot Forums - PlayStation 3 - Installing PS3 Hard drives over one terabyte! problems and solutions?

3. Here is a guide where the guy installed a 500GB: Feature : 500GB Blowout: How to SUPERCHARGE Your PS3! [PS3] - from GamePro.com

Many, many threads have people complaining that 'I bought a 250GB dard drive and the PS3 only recognized 200GB' etc etc...I would not pay too much attention to those lol
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 29, 2009, 08:09 PM
Mr. Gruntsworthy's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Courtice, ONT
Posts: 738
Default

I generally don't, as it's obvious the system is going to reserve a percentage of the hard drive for self-use lol.
__________________
MAIN RIG:
Case: Antec 900
CPU : Intel E8400 45nm Core 2 Duo @ 3GHz 1333MHz FSB
RAM : 4GB DDR2 800MHz (OCZ Platinum)
HDD : Main: 120GB SSD SATA2 (OCZ) Storage: 3TB SATA2 (WD Green) Backup: 500GB External USB (Hitatchi)
GFX : HD4850 (512MB)
PSU : 610W PC Power Silencer
MoBo: Asus P5Q SE
View : Acer H213H 21.5" @ 1920 x 1080

Oshawa Deathmatch Community -- An open group for Durham/Toronto Airsoft, Paintball, and Nerf players. Come join!

I am a Level/Game Designer! http://mikeseguin.webs.com/
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 26, 2009, 09:10 AM
bobletman's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 50
Default

Whats the PPD of a PS3?
__________________
Q6600 Core 2 quad @ 3.0Ghz
2gb of patriot ram reduced latency.
500GB 7200 rpm Seagate (baracuda)
BFG nvidia 8800 GTS 512 MB G92 core
Zalman CNPS9700 LED CPU fan
Ultra X-Blaster computer case
P5K-E Wifi edition MOBO
G15 keyboard and G7 mouse
22 inch widescreen samsung
Z5300e speaker system
3Dmark06 score 15K
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 26, 2009, 09:14 AM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,635

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bobletman View Post
Whats the PPD of a PS3?
Not worth the electricity costs imo. I heard it's constantly dropping and gets in just about 700PPD. I don't have the exact figures, but many say it's not worth it running the PS3 client.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
folding , guide , life , ps3 , setup

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rosetta @ Home - Setup Guide Chilly HardwareCanucks F@H Team 61 September 26, 2013 11:53 PM
How to set up HFM.NET and FahMon to monitor Folding@home progress. Now with videos. chrisk HardwareCanucks F@H Team 132 November 2, 2012 07:07 PM
Folding @ Home F.A.Q. Supergrover HardwareCanucks F@H Team 229 May 15, 2010 09:24 PM
Folding@Home Passes The 5 Petaflop Mark LCB001 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 4 February 19, 2009 10:53 AM
Folding@home gpu benchmarks chrisk HardwareCanucks F@H Team 49 December 4, 2008 06:06 PM