Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2009, 06:48 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,090

My System Specs

Default NANS! NANS! Who wants NANS!

So, very recently my beloved HD4870 bit the dust. As it is a Diamond, the RMA process can be quite lengthy. There's no way I can live for months without a GPU, so out came my Visa, and I picked up an EVGA GTX260 SSC 216sp. Needless to say, the 2nd program I tried on it was F@H-GPU. (Crysis was #1, if you're wondering).

Well, imagine my chagrin when 6 minutes later it came up with a NAN processing error. And then a rapid succession of 5 more. I'm hoping that some of you may be able to educate me about the causes of NANs, or at least commiserate with me.

I had deleted the work folder, and re-installed F@H. I'm running 181.22 drivers, and had the same issue with the 182.08 drivers.

I'm kind of lost, and hoping for help. When it runs, it pops along at 7600-8400 PPD until it errors.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2009, 06:52 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,406

My System Specs

Default

How did you uninstall the drivers? Drivercleaner?
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2009, 06:53 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,090

My System Specs

Default

Uninstalled through control panel, boot into safe mode, used driver cleaner.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2009, 07:10 PM
LCB001's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aylmer QC.
Posts: 1,774

My System Specs

Default

When you re-installed F@H, did you un-install first or install over the old one, and when you deleted the work folder did you also delete the queue.dat and unitinfo.txt.
__________________
Folding For Team 54196

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2009, 07:16 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,090

My System Specs

Default

Uninstalled F@H 1st, and deleted the whole folder \users\Gord\appdata\roaming\Folding@home-GPU. Then reinstalled.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2009, 07:19 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,649

My System Specs

Default

Temps and fan speed under load?
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2009, 07:38 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,090

My System Specs

Default

I tried bumping the fan speed to 50%. Load temp is 59, according to gpu-z.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2009, 07:44 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,649

My System Specs

Default

Try the 180.48s.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2009, 08:00 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,090

My System Specs

Default

I just downclocked the core to 625, I'll try the 180.48's if this doesn't work. Sigh.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2009, 09:36 PM
Alwaysrun's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Qualicum Beach BC
Posts: 800

My System Specs

Default

I got these alot about two weeks back.

Are you using SMP as well? Even if your not don't check "Do Not lock Cores to specific CPU" and put core priority at "Lowest".

If your using SMP then just reduce the CPU usage through whichever SMP client your using to around 92%. You might want to disable any overclock you have on your CPU and try the GPU client alone.
You have pretty much the same card as me so d/l the 182.08 which are the newest and work purrfect..for me.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help NANS detected on gpu Alwaysrun HardwareCanucks F@H Team 9 February 11, 2009 10:53 AM