Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 2, 2009, 12:48 PM
LCB001's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aylmer QC.
Posts: 1,774

My System Specs

Default Check Your Folding Rigs - New FahCore_14 Released

Stanford was nice enough to releases a new FahCore_14 ver 1.23 today, as usual with no warning to the Faithful. If you have a firewall the download might get blocked requesting permission to download the new FahCore.

For the new Folders that haven't gone throught this before, the new FahCore should install itself automatically, you just have to make sure your firewall does not block it.

I received the new FahCore at ~ 15:10 hrs along with a new WU 5900. The new WU is worth 420 pts and seems to Fold at a rate somewhere between the 511pt and the 384pt WU's. It should be interesting to see what effect the new FahCore has on the older WU's ppd.

Don't forget to update you FahMon/FahSpy WU database so the new WU's will get recognized...

Update; The new Core/WU combo behavior seems to include;

Runs much cooler than previous WU's
Wide variation in CPU usage
Large swings in time per frame

According to Stanford this is all expected behavior...
__________________
Folding For Team 54196


Last edited by LCB001; March 2, 2009 at 01:43 PM. Reason: New Info
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 2, 2009, 01:54 PM
Nademon's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 308
Default

I deleted the fahcore_11 from my folder and restarted the client. it downloaded fahcore_11 again. is that what's supposed to happen? How can I get it to download the new core?
__________________
REFS:

My Heat, Ebay, RedFlagDeals

Rig 1: CM HAF - Rampage Extreme - QX9650 - OCZ Gladiator Max - 4GB Mushkin DDR3 1600 - GTX280 - 2xBarracuda 500GB - 1xBarracuda 250GB - Pioneer DVD - Corsair 1000HX

Rig 2: Thermaltake Armor - P5K-E - E3110 - TRUE w/ 2 120's - 4GB Ballistix DDR2 1066 - 9800GX2 - 2xBarracuda 250GB - Pioneer DVD - Corsair 620HX

Rig3: Antec 900 - P5K-E/Wifi - E5200 - OCZ Vendetta 2 - 4GB OCZ DDR2 800 - 2x 8800GTS's - 1xWD Caviar 80GB - Pioneer DVD - OCZ 650W PSU
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 2, 2009, 02:03 PM
LCB001's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aylmer QC.
Posts: 1,774

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nademon View Post
I deleted the fahcore_11 from my folder and restarted the client. it downloaded fahcore_11 again. is that what's supposed to happen? How can I get it to download the new core?
I think the new FahCore is only used by the new WU's right now, your rig should automatically d/l it when you get the new WU, mine did.
__________________
Folding For Team 54196

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 2, 2009, 02:20 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,401

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LCB001 View Post
I think the new FahCore is only used by the new WU's right now, your rig should automatically d/l it when you get the new WU, mine did.
I'm still getting 511s right now.

Thanks for the heads up LCB!
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 2, 2009, 02:30 PM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Halifax, N.S.
Posts: 498
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nademon View Post
I deleted the fahcore_11 from my folder and restarted the client. it downloaded fahcore_11 again. is that what's supposed to happen? How can I get it to download the new core?

Oh my, no need to delete anything. When your computer is done the WU it will download the new one when it is assigned one.

Now, um how go you update the Fahmon and Fahspy database?

I am woking a 420 now. Gee these puppys do run alot cooler; mine is about 15-20 deg cooler compared to whne its working a 511
__________________
RIG #1 - Intel E8400 // TRU-X 120 w noctua NF-P12 // GA-X38-DQ6 // GTX285 OC // 8g Ram OCZ Fatal1ty PC8500 // X-Fi Elite Pro sound // z-5500 speakers // OCZ 850w Gamer XTream PSU // WD Raptor 150g // Seagate 1Tb // 2xSeagate 500g ex// Logitec G-15 keyboard // Vista Ultimate 64bit
RIG #2 - AMD64 3500+ // Asus A8N-E // 8800GTS 512 OC // Enermax Liberty SLI 500W Modular PSU // WD Caviar 250g

Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 2, 2009, 02:32 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,401

My System Specs

Default

In FahMon, its Tools->Download new projects
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 2, 2009, 02:37 PM
LCB001's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aylmer QC.
Posts: 1,774

My System Specs

Default

In FahSpy , its right click -> Update W/U Database. There is also a button on the console...
__________________
Folding For Team 54196

Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 2, 2009, 02:54 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,773

My System Specs

Default

still getting the 511 WU's... My GPU is 10 deg hotter while working on a 511
__________________

Back up - Ebay (Inik1) or Heatware
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 2, 2009, 03:01 PM
LCB001's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aylmer QC.
Posts: 1,774

My System Specs

Default

Only my GTX vanilla has gotten them so far, but usually connects to a different server than the GTX+'s. They might not be on the other servers yet...
__________________
Folding For Team 54196

Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 2, 2009, 03:19 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,613

My System Specs

Default

Nothing on my side yet.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
f@h , fahcore_14 , folding @ home

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Absolute best Folding GPU for Folding CasheKicker HardwareCanucks F@H Team 21 February 14, 2012 09:54 AM
Good test programs for new rigs. chouchou O/S's, Drivers & General Software 6 October 22, 2008 05:01 PM
Almost Killer Rigs (attemped murder?) for Autodesk Max MeltingPoint New Builds 49 October 13, 2008 06:26 AM
ITX &/or Pica rigs out there? sswilson Mobile Computing 0 January 21, 2008 08:09 PM
Folders, check your rigs! 3.0charlie HardwareCanucks F@H Team 18 January 5, 2008 11:57 AM