Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #81 (permalink)  
Old March 9, 2009, 01:27 PM
Alwaysrun's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Qualicum Beach BC
Posts: 800

My System Specs

Default

I dunno why I resisted yesterday. I think I does protest to much.
I put -advmethods on and directly upon restarting the client it d/l'ed the new core and 1st at bat was a Project 5902 worth 1680 points.
Big temp drop, my gpu is running at 59 C and it usually runs 69-71C on a 511 pointer.
I'm getting 8255ppd off these and finish one in just under 5hours with clocks set to 702/1620/1215 (c/s/m)

*LCB next time I say I'm happy with the 511's ppd or show any reluctance to "get with the program" would ya just gimme a good slap!

I positively love these new WUs. One thing I've noticed right away is that buzzing. I'm used to the usual constant folding pig squealing but these new WUs let out a beep...pause...beep...pause. It's so rythmic and steady almost like morse code. Also it looks like I'm back to using FAHspy as FAHmon even if WU db is updated dosn't recognize these new Projects.
Reply With Quote
  #82 (permalink)  
Old March 9, 2009, 01:45 PM
Jake_HT's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 1,976

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alwaysrun View Post

I positively love these new WUs. One thing I've noticed right away is that buzzing. I'm used to the usual constant folding pig squealing but these new WUs let out a beep...pause...beep...pause. It's so rythmic and steady almost like morse code. Also it looks like I'm back to using FAHspy as FAHmon even if WU db is updated dosn't recognize these new Projects.
Don't remind me!!!!!!!!!!!!!
__________________
http://jakeht.deviantart.com/
Reply With Quote
  #83 (permalink)  
Old March 9, 2009, 01:50 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bedford QC
Posts: 9,942

My System Specs

Default

Braineater said there was something to be done in regards to that buzzing sound.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #84 (permalink)  
Old March 9, 2009, 02:05 PM
Alwaysrun's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Qualicum Beach BC
Posts: 800

My System Specs

Default

Yeah I reported a link awhile back regarding the noise issues and how to fix it, it can be found here: http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...n-ocing-2.html

The original article can be found at UPDATED: Nvidia’s “deadly” flaw and how to fix it - no more squealing! Theo’s Bright Side Of IT

Looks like they just updated the detailed fix on Feb 1st and they added some fantastic info about getting rid of that damn buzzing.
Reply With Quote
  #85 (permalink)  
Old March 10, 2009, 10:15 AM
Alwaysrun's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Qualicum Beach BC
Posts: 800

My System Specs

Default

Alas to every good thing there comes a little rain. Ever since I got the new GPU core and have been merrily folding away on the 1680 pointers my MPICH SMP client has been giving me major problems. I guess it's because the new gpu core uses more CPU power or something but I've been getting the strangest SMP errors I've ever seen.

[03:39:38] Simulation instability has been encountered. The run has entered a
[03:39:38] state from which no further progress can be made.
[03:39:38] This may be the correct result of the simulation, however if you
[03:39:38] often see other project units terminating early like this
[03:39:38] too, you may wish to check the stability of your computer (issues
[03:39:38] such as high temperature, overclocking, etc.).
[03:39:38] Going to send back what have done.
[03:39:38] logfile size: 0
[03:39:38] Warning: Core could not open logfile.
[03:39:38] - Writing 550 bytes of core data to disk...
[03:39:38] ... Done.
[03:39:38] - Failed to delete work/wudata_04.xtc
[03:39:38] No C.P. to delete.
[03:39:38] - Failed to delete work/wudata_04.dyn
[03:39:38] Warning: check for stray files
[03:39:38]
[03:39:38] Folding@home Core Shutdown: EARLY_UNIT_END

This kinda blows. With these new 1680 point GPU combined with my SMP I should most definately hit 10K ppd and I can't wait but no matter what I do the SMP gives me these errors between 4-10% complete. my OC is/was fine before this new GPU core and runs a cool 61C. Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #86 (permalink)  
Old March 10, 2009, 10:19 AM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,568

My System Specs

Default

I'm a noob when it comes to smp...I have not seen this, but have you tried making the cpu usage lower for the smp client? I have mine at 80%, and my temps are all good too.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #87 (permalink)  
Old March 10, 2009, 10:27 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bedford QC
Posts: 9,942

My System Specs

Default

What is the CPU selected usage on the SMP Client?

edit: ninja'ed...
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #88 (permalink)  
Old March 10, 2009, 10:46 AM
Alwaysrun's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Qualicum Beach BC
Posts: 800

My System Specs

Default

I have it set to 92%. I'm going to take my CPU OC off and see how it does. I have noticed that the new GPU core uses alot more cpu (in the order of 7% opposed to the 4% the old core used)
I'm also thinking of playing with the GPU OC as well. My thinking is the new GPU core scabs some juice from the CPU and thus dosn't need it's own core so much (thats why the way lower GPU core temps)
Shaders again I believe are king (and so says my rythmic beeping GPU) so I'm just going to leave my core and mem stock and save some power. we'll see how that works out ppd wise but I suspect it'll stay about the same.

One other thing I noticed is that when the SMP client was actually working in conjunction with the new GPU core it's ppd average went from 1802ppd on a 1760pointer to 1288ppd. wow big drop of 500 but I thought it was still a better bargain with the new gpu core because before with the 511's I'd get 6398ppd and now with the 1680s I'm getting 8597ppd.

Last edited by Alwaysrun; March 10, 2009 at 10:52 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #89 (permalink)  
Old March 10, 2009, 11:30 AM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,568

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
Slap a Spot Cool close to the intake... that's what I did.
Hey 3.0....how well does that Spot Cool work? Thinking of getting the Sniper Storm case and there is supposedly a dead zone of air around the GPU in that case, and I am thinking that this might be the best solution.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #90 (permalink)  
Old March 10, 2009, 11:32 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bedford QC
Posts: 9,942

My System Specs

Default

Best invention since Sliced bread. I love mine - very efficient, even on the Low setting.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
f@h , fahcore_14 , folding @ home

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Absolute best Folding GPU for Folding CasheKicker HardwareCanucks F@H Team 21 February 14, 2012 10:54 AM
Good test programs for new rigs. chouchou O/S's, Drivers & General Software 6 October 22, 2008 05:01 PM
Almost Killer Rigs (attemped murder?) for Autodesk Max MeltingPoint New Builds 49 October 13, 2008 06:26 AM
ITX &/or Pica rigs out there? sswilson Mobile Computing 0 January 21, 2008 09:09 PM
Folders, check your rigs! 3.0charlie HardwareCanucks F@H Team 18 January 5, 2008 12:57 PM