Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #41 (permalink)  
Old March 3, 2009, 09:04 AM
LCB001's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aylmer QC.
Posts: 1,774

My System Specs

Default

The -smp X flag can be used by those using multi-core machine running linux natively, it supposedly scales up to 64 cores. Running linux enables use of the SMP _a2 core which is not yet available for windows, the a2 core is supposed to almost double the ppd. I 've seen people claiming more than 10,500 ppd when running linux on an i7, but it seems to be a real pain to get the gpu clients running under wine...
__________________
Folding For Team 54196

Reply With Quote
  #42 (permalink)  
Old March 3, 2009, 09:31 AM
zlojack's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,057

My System Specs

Default

So basically, Linux gets great PPD on the CPU, but the GPU is a PITA, while with Windows, it's the other way around.
__________________
[SIZE=3]
Reply With Quote
  #43 (permalink)  
Old March 3, 2009, 09:40 AM
LCB001's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aylmer QC.
Posts: 1,774

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zlojack View Post
So basically, Linux gets great PPD on the CPU, but the GPU is a PITA, while with Windows, it's the other way around.
While I wouldn't say the windows SMP client is that bad basicly thats it, until Stanford releases a new SMP client for window it's not going to get the ppd that the linux client will. Supposedly it's high on the Pande Team's priority list once the gpu client is stable, but of course they have been saying that for awhile...
__________________
Folding For Team 54196

Reply With Quote
  #44 (permalink)  
Old March 3, 2009, 01:49 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,624

My System Specs

Default

You could always run VMware within Windows. That way, you'd only be using Linux to do SMP folding.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #45 (permalink)  
Old March 8, 2009, 01:11 PM
zlojack's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,057

My System Specs

Default

Hmm...unknown core?

__________________
[SIZE=3]
Reply With Quote
  #46 (permalink)  
Old March 8, 2009, 02:00 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,628

My System Specs

Default

Who gives a crap when you have a ppd of 32k!

Seriously, have you tried to update the database?
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #47 (permalink)  
Old March 8, 2009, 02:04 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,401

My System Specs

Default

Mine says unknown too and I have updated my database.

I am getting a paltry 20,000 PPD at the moment though...;P
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #48 (permalink)  
Old March 8, 2009, 02:43 PM
zlojack's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,057

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
Who gives a crap when you have a ppd of 32k!

Seriously, have you tried to update the database?
I updated, but no action.

You're right though! Who cares?

Now sitting around 30k

GTX 285s are beasts! I think I'm going to cancel my step up, after all (stupid power supply requirements!)
__________________
[SIZE=3]
Reply With Quote
  #49 (permalink)  
Old March 8, 2009, 03:10 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,628

My System Specs

Default

Looks like you got the new core 14: Folding Forum • View topic - Fahcore 14. Project 5900.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #50 (permalink)  
Old March 8, 2009, 03:39 PM
zlojack's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,057

My System Specs

Default

It's funny...the GTX 285 on my rig downstairs is getting over 8k ppd for the 420 while my GPU1 is getting 6.5k
__________________
[SIZE=3]
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
f@h , fahcore_14 , folding @ home

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Absolute best Folding GPU for Folding CasheKicker HardwareCanucks F@H Team 21 February 14, 2012 09:54 AM
Good test programs for new rigs. chouchou O/S's, Drivers & General Software 6 October 22, 2008 05:01 PM
Almost Killer Rigs (attemped murder?) for Autodesk Max MeltingPoint New Builds 49 October 13, 2008 06:26 AM
ITX &/or Pica rigs out there? sswilson Mobile Computing 0 January 21, 2008 08:09 PM
Folders, check your rigs! 3.0charlie HardwareCanucks F@H Team 18 January 5, 2008 11:57 AM