Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old March 2, 2009, 03:32 PM
LCB001's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aylmer QC.
Posts: 1,774

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
Nothing on my side yet.
They are interesting, the ppd can vary considerably within the space of a couple of frames. I'm still waiting for one of my +'s to get one for a better comparison.

For those that want some light reading; Folding Forum • View topic - Announcing project 5900 and Core_14 on advmethods
__________________
Folding For Team 54196


Last edited by LCB001; March 2, 2009 at 03:34 PM. Reason: Fixed Link
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old March 2, 2009, 03:41 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,656

My System Specs

Default

Advanced Methods - advmethods... how do you set that option when the Client is the Systray?
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old March 2, 2009, 03:44 PM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Halifax, N.S.
Posts: 498
Default

My PPD ranging is all over the place, lows of 3400 to highs over 8500. They werent kidding when they said fluctuates.
__________________
RIG #1 - Intel E8400 // TRU-X 120 w noctua NF-P12 // GA-X38-DQ6 // GTX285 OC // 8g Ram OCZ Fatal1ty PC8500 // X-Fi Elite Pro sound // z-5500 speakers // OCZ 850w Gamer XTream PSU // WD Raptor 150g // Seagate 1Tb // 2xSeagate 500g ex// Logitec G-15 keyboard // Vista Ultimate 64bit
RIG #2 - AMD64 3500+ // Asus A8N-E // 8800GTS 512 OC // Enermax Liberty SLI 500W Modular PSU // WD Caviar 250g

Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old March 2, 2009, 03:51 PM
LCB001's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aylmer QC.
Posts: 1,774

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
Advanced Methods - advmethods... how do you set that option when the Client is the Systray?
I thought -advmethods was automatic, I'll have to check that.

Right click -> configure-> Advanced -> Additional Client Parameters -> restart.

Not sure if it makes a difference but I still use the -local flag in my multi-gpu set-up. Maybe try it and see if it helps yours...
__________________
Folding For Team 54196

Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old March 2, 2009, 03:51 PM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Halifax, N.S.
Posts: 498
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
Advanced Methods - advmethods... how do you set that option when the Client is the Systray?
How did you get it in the Sys tray. My Daughter keeps closing mine by mistake, need to get it off the bar.

Did you try to use the DOS window as admin and run the -configonly
__________________
RIG #1 - Intel E8400 // TRU-X 120 w noctua NF-P12 // GA-X38-DQ6 // GTX285 OC // 8g Ram OCZ Fatal1ty PC8500 // X-Fi Elite Pro sound // z-5500 speakers // OCZ 850w Gamer XTream PSU // WD Raptor 150g // Seagate 1Tb // 2xSeagate 500g ex// Logitec G-15 keyboard // Vista Ultimate 64bit
RIG #2 - AMD64 3500+ // Asus A8N-E // 8800GTS 512 OC // Enermax Liberty SLI 500W Modular PSU // WD Caviar 250g

Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old March 2, 2009, 03:55 PM
LCB001's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aylmer QC.
Posts: 1,774

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CasheKicker View Post
How did you get it in the Sys tray. My Daughter keeps closing mine by mistake, need to get it off the bar.

Did you try to use the DOS window as admin and run the -configonly
The Systray version is a different download from the Console, you would have to uninstall the console and reload with the systray...
__________________
Folding For Team 54196

Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old March 2, 2009, 03:55 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,656

My System Specs

Default

Thanks - forgot about the Additional flags...

Just added -advmethods on both 260s of the Folding rig. I'll be able to compare with the i7 260.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old March 2, 2009, 05:34 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,786

My System Specs

Default

My first 420 WU is almost complete! The ppd is between the 511 WU and the 353 WU
__________________

Back up - Ebay (Inik1) or Heatware
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old March 2, 2009, 05:36 PM
zlojack's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,057

My System Specs

Default

Do I need to do that on the GPU clients on my 285s? Will that boost my PPD?

I've got an 8800 GT that I should have in hand tomorrow. Canada Post tried to deliver today but no one was home!

So I'm coming back for that top 5 spot Cashekicker!

Then once I get my third GTX 285 installed....muhahaha!!!
__________________
[SIZE=3]
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old March 2, 2009, 05:48 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,656

My System Specs

Default

That would be a 9800, Jack.

9800.

__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
f@h , fahcore_14 , folding @ home

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Absolute best Folding GPU for Folding CasheKicker HardwareCanucks F@H Team 21 February 14, 2012 09:54 AM
Good test programs for new rigs. chouchou O/S's, Drivers & General Software 6 October 22, 2008 05:01 PM
Almost Killer Rigs (attemped murder?) for Autodesk Max MeltingPoint New Builds 49 October 13, 2008 06:26 AM
ITX &/or Pica rigs out there? sswilson Mobile Computing 0 January 21, 2008 08:09 PM
Folders, check your rigs! 3.0charlie HardwareCanucks F@H Team 18 January 5, 2008 11:57 AM