Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old February 27, 2009, 12:25 PM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Halifax, N.S.
Posts: 498
Default

# Windows SMP Console Edition #################################################
################################################## #############################

Folding@Home Client Version 6.23 Beta R1

Folding@home - Main

################################################## #############################
################################################## #############################

Launch directory: C:\FAH
Executable: C:\FAH\FAHE8400.exe
Arguments: -smp -smp -verbosity 9

[20:23:15] - Ask before connecting: No
[20:23:15] - User name: cashekicker (Team 54196)
[20:23:15] - User ID:
[20:23:15] - Machine ID: 1
[20:23:15]
[20:23:15] Loaded queue successfully.
[20:23:15]
[20:23:15] + Processing work unit
[20:23:15] - Autosending finished units... [February 27 20:23:15 UTC]
[20:23:15] Trying to send all finished work units
[20:23:15] + No unsent completed units remaining.
[20:23:15] - Autosend completed
[20:23:15] Work type a1 not eligible for variable processors
[20:23:15] Core required: FahCore_a1.exe
[20:23:15] Core found.
[20:23:15] Using generic mpiexec calls
[20:23:15] Working on queue slot 01 [February 27 20:23:15 UTC]
[20:23:15] + Working ...
[20:23:15] - Calling 'mpiexec -np 4 -channel auto -host 127.0.0.1 FahCore_a1.exe -dir work/ -suffix 01 -cpu 90 -checkpoint 15 -verbose -lifeline 1208 -version 623'

[20:23:15]
[20:23:15] *------------------------------*
[20:23:15] Folding@Home Gromacs SMP Core
[20:23:15] Version 1.74 (March 10, 2007)
[20:23:15]
[20:23:15] Preparing to commence simulation
[20:23:15] - Ensuring status. Please wait.
[20:23:32] - Looking at optimizations...
[20:23:32] - Working with standard loops on this execution.
[20:23:32] - Previous termination of core was improper.
[20:23:32] - Going to use standard loops.
[20:23:32] - Files status OK
[20:23:36] - Expanded 2409335 -> 12894661 (decompressed 535.1 percent)
[20:23:36]
[20:23:36] Project: 2653 (Run 36, Clone 26, Gen 119)
[20:23:36]
[20:23:37] Entering M.D.
[20:23:43] Calling FAH init
[20:23:44] in POPC
[20:23:44] Writing local files
[20:23:44] checkpoint)
[20:23:44] Read checkpoint
[20:23:45] 0 steps (37 percent)
[20:23:45] Extra SSE boost OK.
[20:23:45] es
[20:23:45] Completed 185000 out of 500000 steps (37 percent)
[20:23:46] Extra SSE boost OK.
__________________
RIG #1 - Intel E8400 // TRU-X 120 w noctua NF-P12 // GA-X38-DQ6 // GTX285 OC // 8g Ram OCZ Fatal1ty PC8500 // X-Fi Elite Pro sound // z-5500 speakers // OCZ 850w Gamer XTream PSU // WD Raptor 150g // Seagate 1Tb // 2xSeagate 500g ex// Logitec G-15 keyboard // Vista Ultimate 64bit
RIG #2 - AMD64 3500+ // Asus A8N-E // 8800GTS 512 OC // Enermax Liberty SLI 500W Modular PSU // WD Caviar 250g

Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old February 27, 2009, 12:31 PM
LCB001's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aylmer QC.
Posts: 1,774

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CasheKicker View Post
Ok so how do I get it running a client for each core. Any special trick to that?

Oh and I am getting 1460.5ppd right now with 37% complete. Been running for 11 hrs now.
You don't need another client, the SMP client is designed to use more than one core.

Looking at the new log file it's completing a step every 17min, which sounds about right. It should be using both cores now.
__________________
Folding For Team 54196

Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old February 27, 2009, 12:40 PM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Halifax, N.S.
Posts: 498
Default

Cool. Thats great to here and infact both cores are working away.

I guess next I need to OC this puppy. Still running at stock and my RAM is underclocked.

But then again I may not. Would that be a crime??
__________________
RIG #1 - Intel E8400 // TRU-X 120 w noctua NF-P12 // GA-X38-DQ6 // GTX285 OC // 8g Ram OCZ Fatal1ty PC8500 // X-Fi Elite Pro sound // z-5500 speakers // OCZ 850w Gamer XTream PSU // WD Raptor 150g // Seagate 1Tb // 2xSeagate 500g ex// Logitec G-15 keyboard // Vista Ultimate 64bit
RIG #2 - AMD64 3500+ // Asus A8N-E // 8800GTS 512 OC // Enermax Liberty SLI 500W Modular PSU // WD Caviar 250g

Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old February 27, 2009, 12:48 PM
LCB001's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aylmer QC.
Posts: 1,774

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CasheKicker View Post
Cool. Thats great to here and infact both cores are working away.

I guess next I need to OC this puppy. Still running at stock and my RAM is underclocked.

But then again I may not. Would that be a crime??
Well, it's free ppd there for the taking. On the other hand is whatever you are comfortable with is good.

It's better to Fold slowly than to not Fold at all...
__________________
Folding For Team 54196

Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old February 27, 2009, 12:58 PM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Halifax, N.S.
Posts: 498
Default

Well my total PPD right now is hitting 12000, which puts me well into the teams top 10, Son't think I am folding slowly... Just want more, more, more...

Need my 15000ppd fix now!!!
__________________
RIG #1 - Intel E8400 // TRU-X 120 w noctua NF-P12 // GA-X38-DQ6 // GTX285 OC // 8g Ram OCZ Fatal1ty PC8500 // X-Fi Elite Pro sound // z-5500 speakers // OCZ 850w Gamer XTream PSU // WD Raptor 150g // Seagate 1Tb // 2xSeagate 500g ex// Logitec G-15 keyboard // Vista Ultimate 64bit
RIG #2 - AMD64 3500+ // Asus A8N-E // 8800GTS 512 OC // Enermax Liberty SLI 500W Modular PSU // WD Caviar 250g

Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old February 27, 2009, 01:10 PM
LCB001's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aylmer QC.
Posts: 1,774

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CasheKicker View Post
Well my total PPD right now is hitting 12000, which puts me well into the teams top 10, Son't think I am folding slowly... Just want more, more, more...

Need my 15000ppd fix now!!!
Good, another one Hooked...

When I said Folding slowly was better than nothing I meant in terms of overclocking the CPU client, not your overall PPD ...

It feels good being in the top 10 ppd, top 5 feels even better...
__________________
Folding For Team 54196

Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old February 27, 2009, 01:13 PM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Halifax, N.S.
Posts: 498
Default

Hmmmm, still have that empty PCI-e x16 slot just looking at me... Hmmmmmm..............!!!!!!!!!!!!
__________________
RIG #1 - Intel E8400 // TRU-X 120 w noctua NF-P12 // GA-X38-DQ6 // GTX285 OC // 8g Ram OCZ Fatal1ty PC8500 // X-Fi Elite Pro sound // z-5500 speakers // OCZ 850w Gamer XTream PSU // WD Raptor 150g // Seagate 1Tb // 2xSeagate 500g ex// Logitec G-15 keyboard // Vista Ultimate 64bit
RIG #2 - AMD64 3500+ // Asus A8N-E // 8800GTS 512 OC // Enermax Liberty SLI 500W Modular PSU // WD Caviar 250g

Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old February 27, 2009, 01:56 PM
LCB001's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aylmer QC.
Posts: 1,774

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CasheKicker View Post
Hmmmm, still have that empty PCI-e x16 slot just looking at me... Hmmmmmm..............!!!!!!!!!!!!
Be a shame to let that go to waste...
__________________
Folding For Team 54196

Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old February 27, 2009, 04:18 PM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Halifax, N.S.
Posts: 498
Default

Grrrr....

Ok I decided to OC the rig just a bit. Have the E8400 running stable at a cool 450X8 for a 3.6Ghz.

However when I went to fire up my SMP client I am getting errors. I really dont want to delete folders and start over as I was already at 45% after 15hrs of crunching...

It refuses to connect and suggest I run install.bat again, when I do that I get

sock error: generic socket failure, error stack:
MPIDU_Sock_post_connect(1228): unable to connect to "my computer" on port 8676
, exhausted all endpoints (errno -1)
MPIDU_Sock_post_connect(1228): unable to connect to "my computer" on port 8676
, exhausted all endpoints (errno -1)
, no connection could be made because the target machine actively refused it (errno 10061)
Press any key to continue . . .

C:\fah>
__________________
RIG #1 - Intel E8400 // TRU-X 120 w noctua NF-P12 // GA-X38-DQ6 // GTX285 OC // 8g Ram OCZ Fatal1ty PC8500 // X-Fi Elite Pro sound // z-5500 speakers // OCZ 850w Gamer XTream PSU // WD Raptor 150g // Seagate 1Tb // 2xSeagate 500g ex// Logitec G-15 keyboard // Vista Ultimate 64bit
RIG #2 - AMD64 3500+ // Asus A8N-E // 8800GTS 512 OC // Enermax Liberty SLI 500W Modular PSU // WD Caviar 250g

Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old February 27, 2009, 04:24 PM
Jake_HT's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 1,984

My System Specs

Default

Jeez and I thought the SMP client didn't like me....
__________________
http://jakeht.deviantart.com/
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Absolute best Folding GPU for Folding CasheKicker HardwareCanucks F@H Team 21 February 14, 2012 09:54 AM
What F@H client are you using? Silvgearx HardwareCanucks F@H Team 8 February 7, 2009 08:51 AM
New Members Folding with Nvidia/Ati Gpu 2 Client/ Some Tips Dashock HardwareCanucks F@H Team 43 January 4, 2009 02:39 PM
Folding using the Nvidia Client? Heres some Tips Dashock HardwareCanucks F@H Team 90 September 14, 2008 06:28 PM