Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old February 6, 2009, 09:14 PM
LCB001's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aylmer QC.
Posts: 1,774

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zlojack View Post
Could it be because I copied the directories?

I can't crank the clocks very high on these cards yet. I'm still waiting on waterblocks.
IIRC If you just copied the directory without deleting the work folder, queue.dat and unitinfo the two cards will be doing the same WU. Check FahMon to make sure the Run-Clone-Gen are different.
Even though it's they say it's not needed I add the ' -local ' flag to make sure they do different WU's...
__________________
Folding For Team 54196

Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old February 6, 2009, 10:22 PM
zlojack's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,057

My System Specs

Default

Ok...so I had to do the whole "plug in the second cable" thing on my monitor.

Am I going to have to do that every time I enable and disable SLI? Also, if I go with tri-SLI will I need a third plug?

EDIT: The new WU is 353 points

Right now total PPD with the two GPUs is 14520
__________________
[SIZE=3]

Last edited by zlojack; February 6, 2009 at 10:34 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old February 6, 2009, 10:38 PM
LCB001's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aylmer QC.
Posts: 1,774

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zlojack View Post
Ok...so I had to do the whole "plug in the second cable" thing on my monitor.

Am I going to have to do that every time I enable and disable SLI? Also, if I go with tri-SLI will I need a third plug?
Since you 're using Vista you need a monitor or dummy plug for each card. As far as SLI goes I have no idea, I never used it. I think you only need them when you first boot as I can remove my extra monitor after start-up, I can't access the F@H forums right now to check but try and see.
Your best bet is to make some dummy plugs; The 30 Second Dummy Plug - Overclock.net - Overclocking.net that way you can just leave them in for when you're Folding...

Edit/ just saw your edit... that sounds low , my two 9800GTX+'s will do ~14,280 ppd if they both get a 353pt WU. You should have seperate ppd's for each card, if they are doing the same WU your set-up is wrong somewhere. Can you put up a screen shot...

Edit2/ My shaders are OC'ed at 1987MHz though so at stock your ppd might be right...
__________________
Folding For Team 54196


Last edited by LCB001; February 6, 2009 at 11:09 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2009, 03:47 PM
zlojack's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,057

My System Specs

Default

Man...after ditching Windows 7 and going back to Vista (more stability for SLI) now I'm having problems with the GPU client.

Crap.
__________________
[SIZE=3]
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2009, 04:40 PM
zlojack's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,057

My System Specs

Default

This is strange. I followed all the steps and things were great on Windows 7 with about 6k-8k PPD on both clients. Since last night I've been getting this 3k PPD with this client in Vista. I'm running the 181.22 drivers.

EDIT: Looks like things are smoothing out now. Up over 8k on each GPU
__________________
[SIZE=3]

Last edited by zlojack; February 12, 2009 at 04:47 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2009, 07:13 PM
LCB001's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aylmer QC.
Posts: 1,774

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zlojack View Post
This is strange. I followed all the steps and things were great on Windows 7 with about 6k-8k PPD on both clients. Since last night I've been getting this 3k PPD with this client in Vista. I'm running the 181.22 drivers.

EDIT: Looks like things are smoothing out now. Up over 8k on each GPU
That's about what you should be getting with those cards. Maybe try bumping just the shaders a bit, it should have only a little effect on temps as long as you have good airflow...
__________________
Folding For Team 54196

Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2009, 07:23 PM
zlojack's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,057

My System Specs

Default

LOL...I keep getting the 511 point WUs now!

I'm waiting for the waterblocks before bumping anything. My airflow isn't great as the setup is for water.
__________________
[SIZE=3]
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2009, 07:33 PM
LCB001's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aylmer QC.
Posts: 1,774

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zlojack View Post
LOL...I keep getting the 511 point WUs now!

I'm waiting for the waterblocks before bumping anything. My airflow isn't great as the setup is for water.
Those things are a pain, if all three of my GPU's get them my ppd can drop by ~4500 to 7000+...
__________________
Folding For Team 54196

Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2009, 08:47 PM
Phobia's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Richmond, BC
Posts: 1,157
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zlojack View Post
LOL...I keep getting the 511 point WUs now!

I'm waiting for the waterblocks before bumping anything. My airflow isn't great as the setup is for water.
which water blocks are you going to get? I'm leaning towards the koolance one myself. Although they delayed it from the 10th to the 16th, i was quite sad.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2009, 08:57 PM
zlojack's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,057

My System Specs

Default

Koolance, I think.
__________________
[SIZE=3]
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Absolute best Folding GPU for Folding CasheKicker HardwareCanucks F@H Team 21 February 14, 2012 10:54 AM
Folding a la GTX 285 SKYMTL HardwareCanucks F@H Team 23 February 24, 2009 12:43 AM
Folding on the PS3? wpurcell HardwareCanucks F@H Team 4 January 1, 2009 02:45 PM
Folding Through A VPN?? Soultribunal HardwareCanucks F@H Team 12 December 23, 2008 01:07 PM
GTX 280 Now Folding for HCF SKYMTL HardwareCanucks F@H Team 26 June 17, 2008 02:23 PM