Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2009, 01:19 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,401

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CasheKicker View Post
Changed some things around now running off my desktop. Have FAHMon reporting It will take me about 1h15m with a 5755 PPD GPUv2 Gromacs 353 points.

How does this measure up? I did not change anything in running F@H apart from my user name and the HWC team # 54196.

In future should I change things?

Next I guess I will play with shaders to max out potential. Anyone running similar Rigs and same Card 8800GTS OC may be able to advise me on good clock settings for my GPU. I am now using Precision Tuner and will use it to play with clock settings.

Will I have to restart F@H on every reboot or can it be tasked to start up automatically? Also can it be moved from the bottom bar without Xing out of the program, wife and kids tend to x everything out when I am not around and they use my PC. Want it to run in background.

Thanks all.
Those numbers look good for your 8800GTS. That number will fluctuate depending on the project being done. I would wait until you do a few 511 point units before doing any major shader modifications, as the 511 point tasks really stress your system. A shader OC stable on a 353 point project may not be on a 511 point one. Just my opinion though, you could just let er rip!

As for the 'auto start', I put a shortcut to F@H in my "startup" folder in my start menu so that it starts automatically. You can create a shortcut and paste it in there.

If you are running the client, it just runs in the system tray (next to the clock). The console I believe runs in the task bar and I am not sure how to hide it so that your wife and kids don't close it.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2009, 02:34 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,613

My System Specs

Default

Pretty good numbers, keep a close on the GPU temps though.

There are a few softwares about the task bar and the system tray; search for taskbar and system tray management.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2009, 02:58 PM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Halifax, N.S.
Posts: 498
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
Pretty good numbers, keep a close on the GPU temps though.

There are a few softwares about the task bar and the system tray; search for taskbar and system tray management.
Have my fan set to run at 70%, still quiet and very effective setting, has my temps running @ below 60 deg.
__________________
RIG #1 - Intel E8400 // TRU-X 120 w noctua NF-P12 // GA-X38-DQ6 // GTX285 OC // 8g Ram OCZ Fatal1ty PC8500 // X-Fi Elite Pro sound // z-5500 speakers // OCZ 850w Gamer XTream PSU // WD Raptor 150g // Seagate 1Tb // 2xSeagate 500g ex// Logitec G-15 keyboard // Vista Ultimate 64bit
RIG #2 - AMD64 3500+ // Asus A8N-E // 8800GTS 512 OC // Enermax Liberty SLI 500W Modular PSU // WD Caviar 250g

Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2009, 04:32 PM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Halifax, N.S.
Posts: 498
Default

Things seem to be going well, I have over 1000pts already and have jumped up on the team list. Suuueeeeeettt.
__________________
RIG #1 - Intel E8400 // TRU-X 120 w noctua NF-P12 // GA-X38-DQ6 // GTX285 OC // 8g Ram OCZ Fatal1ty PC8500 // X-Fi Elite Pro sound // z-5500 speakers // OCZ 850w Gamer XTream PSU // WD Raptor 150g // Seagate 1Tb // 2xSeagate 500g ex// Logitec G-15 keyboard // Vista Ultimate 64bit
RIG #2 - AMD64 3500+ // Asus A8N-E // 8800GTS 512 OC // Enermax Liberty SLI 500W Modular PSU // WD Caviar 250g

Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2009, 06:10 PM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Halifax, N.S.
Posts: 498
Default

OK well getting ready for bed, just started a 511 task. Decided to tweak my GPU a bit. I am running my Core/Memory clocks stock at 675/972 and pumped my shaders up from 1675 to 2000, I also ramped my fan up to 90% and have stable temps at 54 deg. So far so good. Not sure how far I can push the shader clock but will see. Any other 8800GTS OC 512mb out there that have already narrowed it down feel free to let me know how you did.

How does one see if the OC actually has an effect in F@H?
__________________
RIG #1 - Intel E8400 // TRU-X 120 w noctua NF-P12 // GA-X38-DQ6 // GTX285 OC // 8g Ram OCZ Fatal1ty PC8500 // X-Fi Elite Pro sound // z-5500 speakers // OCZ 850w Gamer XTream PSU // WD Raptor 150g // Seagate 1Tb // 2xSeagate 500g ex// Logitec G-15 keyboard // Vista Ultimate 64bit
RIG #2 - AMD64 3500+ // Asus A8N-E // 8800GTS 512 OC // Enermax Liberty SLI 500W Modular PSU // WD Caviar 250g

Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2009, 06:16 PM
LCB001's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aylmer QC.
Posts: 1,774

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CasheKicker View Post
OK well getting ready for bed, just started a 511 task. Decided to tweak my GPU a bit. I am running my Core/Memory clocks stock at 675/972 and pumped my shaders up from 1675 to 2000, I also ramped my fan up to 90% and have stable temps at 54 deg. So far so good. Not sure how far I can push the shader clock but will see. Any other 8800GTS OC 512mb out there that have already narrowed it down feel free to let me know how you did.

How does one see if the OC actually has an effect in F@H?
You will see an increase in your PPD after a while, it usually takes a couple of steps for it to register. Thats a hefty jump on those shaders you might want to keep an eye on that for a bit to make sure it dosn't EUE...
__________________
Folding For Team 54196

Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2009, 06:29 PM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Halifax, N.S.
Posts: 498
Default

Sounds good. I did get a couple EUE but it was during the time I was playing with the OC. Think just the changes caused it. Seems to be fine for now. I will keep an eye in it and see in the AM.
__________________
RIG #1 - Intel E8400 // TRU-X 120 w noctua NF-P12 // GA-X38-DQ6 // GTX285 OC // 8g Ram OCZ Fatal1ty PC8500 // X-Fi Elite Pro sound // z-5500 speakers // OCZ 850w Gamer XTream PSU // WD Raptor 150g // Seagate 1Tb // 2xSeagate 500g ex// Logitec G-15 keyboard // Vista Ultimate 64bit
RIG #2 - AMD64 3500+ // Asus A8N-E // 8800GTS 512 OC // Enermax Liberty SLI 500W Modular PSU // WD Caviar 250g

Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2009, 06:35 PM
LCB001's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aylmer QC.
Posts: 1,774

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CasheKicker View Post
Sounds good. I did get a couple EUE but it was during the time I was playing with the OC. Think just the changes caused it. Seems to be fine for now. I will keep an eye in it and see in the AM.
Funny thing about OC'ing just the shaders is it dos'nt cause much of a temp increase to register on the GPU. The EUE's are sometimes the only indicator of instability.
Glad your having fun so far, careful it gets addictive really fast...
__________________
Folding For Team 54196

Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2009, 07:10 PM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Halifax, N.S.
Posts: 498
Default

Well I did overdue the shader clocks. Crapped out on me at 24% when I left the machine to do its thing. Actually is EUE'd enough in my absence to state it was not trying again for 24hrs. I simply reset to GPU defalt settings and restarted the client and I am back in action. Will have to play with a stable clock at a later date. In the meantime I will leave it at defaults and try to climb up the ladder a bit. Hmmm now I should employ a CPU client.

Should I go to Rosetta for the CPU folding or keep it all with F@H?
__________________
RIG #1 - Intel E8400 // TRU-X 120 w noctua NF-P12 // GA-X38-DQ6 // GTX285 OC // 8g Ram OCZ Fatal1ty PC8500 // X-Fi Elite Pro sound // z-5500 speakers // OCZ 850w Gamer XTream PSU // WD Raptor 150g // Seagate 1Tb // 2xSeagate 500g ex// Logitec G-15 keyboard // Vista Ultimate 64bit
RIG #2 - AMD64 3500+ // Asus A8N-E // 8800GTS 512 OC // Enermax Liberty SLI 500W Modular PSU // WD Caviar 250g

Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2009, 07:23 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,401

My System Specs

Default

If you want to use your CPU it is best to go with Rosetta. Most people here use GPU=FaH, and CPU=Boinc/Rosetta.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FaHMON: Cannot Connect To Server SKYMTL HardwareCanucks F@H Team 25 January 16, 2009 10:13 AM
Steps on gettin Fahmon setup on Vista Dashock HardwareCanucks F@H Team 14 September 14, 2008 07:11 AM