Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #841 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2011, 08:50 PM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Alberta
Posts: 261

My System Specs

Default

What is the name of the core that the client is working on? Shouldnt need 10 to get multiple cores fired up.
__________________
Code:
Reply With Quote
  #842 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2011, 08:12 PM
lightninstrikr's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Virginia
Posts: 121

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shredder View Post
What is the name of the core that the client is working on? Shouldnt need 10 to get multiple cores fired up.
Do you mean which of my CPU cores is it using or is there some setting in the F@H program I don't know about that says a core name?

It does say FahCore_a4.exe required and found.
If you meant what core is it using the answer is that it will use up to 100% but sometimes on 2 cores. IE 80% of core3 and 15% of core4. It doesn't have a specific core that it uses all the time.

(Sorry for the late responses I work long days.)
Reply With Quote
  #843 (permalink)  
Old December 14, 2011, 11:36 AM
Adzsask's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: SK
Posts: 831

My System Specs

Default

Just started folding -bigadv a minute ago on team 54196 :D
Reply With Quote
  #844 (permalink)  
Old December 14, 2011, 01:21 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Kingston Ontario
Posts: 926
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lightninstrikr View Post
Do you mean which of my CPU cores is it using or is there some setting in the F@H program I don't know about that says a core name?

It does say FahCore_a4.exe required and found.
If you meant what core is it using the answer is that it will use up to 100% but sometimes on 2 cores. IE 80% of core3 and 15% of core4. It doesn't have a specific core that it uses all the time.

(Sorry for the late responses I work long days.)
a4 is a unicore work unit... just let it finish and the next one should be an A3 core which will utilize all cores.
Reply With Quote
  #845 (permalink)  
Old December 14, 2011, 06:17 PM
SwingOP3's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Regina
Posts: 122
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adzsask View Post
Just started folding -bigadv a minute ago on team 54196 :D
Welcome to the team!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #846 (permalink)  
Old December 14, 2011, 06:59 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,396

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adzsask View Post
Just started folding -bigadv a minute ago on team 54196 :D
Welcome!! We have quite the team here...small, but mighty.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #847 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2011, 09:37 AM
Adzsask's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: SK
Posts: 831

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisk View Post
Welcome!! We have quite the team here...small, but mighty.
Wheres my badge ? Adzsask, folding on an i7 950@4117MHz HT on.

Last edited by Adzsask; December 15, 2011 at 09:39 AM. Reason: added username
Reply With Quote
  #848 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2011, 10:39 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,040

My System Specs

Default

Patience please. The stats were down until yesterday, and I couldn't confirm you had submitted WU's. Now I send a PM to the forum admin, and he'll add your tag whenever he gets around to it.

Oh, and Lightninstrikr, yours is coming too.
Reply With Quote
  #849 (permalink)  
Old December 16, 2011, 06:50 AM
lightninstrikr's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Virginia
Posts: 121

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SugarJ View Post
Patience please. The stats were down until yesterday, and I couldn't confirm you had submitted WU's. Now I send a PM to the forum admin, and he'll add your tag whenever he gets around to it.

Oh, and Lightninstrikr, yours is coming too.

Thanks!

Question though... Shredder helped me fix my stuff so now I fold with all cores but would running a GPU client simultaneously be a good idea as well or not so much? I have an MSI Twin Frozr GTX 580 Lightning Edition and plenty of case cooling/airflow. Should I work on Overclocking the CPU first?
Reply With Quote
  #850 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2011, 09:00 AM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,396

My System Specs

Default

Sent a PM to Gav who does the badges. No worries he will get it done :)

Keep folding folks!!!!!
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Folding @ Home F.A.Q. Supergrover HardwareCanucks F@H Team 229 May 15, 2010 08:24 PM
E8400 + Folding = OMG... 3.0charlie HardwareCanucks F@H Team 40 March 2, 2009 07:23 AM
Newbie GPU Folding Shredder HardwareCanucks F@H Team 11 February 24, 2008 09:55 PM
< 3 weeks for HCF folding team to hit the top 500!!! pscout HardwareCanucks F@H Team 24 October 11, 2007 09:32 PM
Two folding machines Amon HardwareCanucks F@H Team 16 September 14, 2007 04:05 AM