Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #71 (permalink)  
Old November 28, 2007, 01:37 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 50
Default

I just set up my old X2 4200+ Athlon64 running 2 instances of the regular client under XP. Currently running it in the basement to stream my media files and fold while it`s bored :p.

Hmmm only getting 200ppd per core (so 400 total), is that normal for my X2 4200 at 2.2ghz stock?

Folding under eddie0128toronto
__________________
Q6600 G0 @3.5ghz (Thermalright Ultra X 120)
Asus Maximus Formula 903
A-Data DDR 800 4 x 1gb, EVGA 8800GT SSC (Zalman VF900)
Antec NeoPower Blue 650W, Antec 900

HTPC: X2 64 5000+ Black @3.3ghz (AC 64 Pro)
A-Data DDR 800 2 x 1gb, Radeon 2600 Pro HDMI
Asus M2N-E, Antec Sonata, 380W TruePower


Reply With Quote
  #72 (permalink)  
Old November 28, 2007, 02:08 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,656

My System Specs

Default

Hello and welcome in the Team! As for your ppd, it's quite the norm.

John
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #73 (permalink)  
Old November 30, 2007, 12:20 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 50
Default

Thanks John :)

Wow 8k combined for your 3 rigs? I should probably switch over to SMP on my media center video server (all it does is record, encode and stream videos to my TV). Probably going to see if i can find a cheapo ati1900. Folding on AMDs is painful compared to the Intels. Waiting on the new Intel Quads :D
__________________
Q6600 G0 @3.5ghz (Thermalright Ultra X 120)
Asus Maximus Formula 903
A-Data DDR 800 4 x 1gb, EVGA 8800GT SSC (Zalman VF900)
Antec NeoPower Blue 650W, Antec 900

HTPC: X2 64 5000+ Black @3.3ghz (AC 64 Pro)
A-Data DDR 800 2 x 1gb, Radeon 2600 Pro HDMI
Asus M2N-E, Antec Sonata, 380W TruePower


Reply With Quote
  #74 (permalink)  
Old November 30, 2007, 04:42 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,656

My System Specs

Default

Both Quads are running dual Linux instances under Vmware, add the E6400 running also a single Linux instance under Vmware and you have a small farm crunching upto 10K.

GPU folding is good, but you better have some good cooling cause it will run your card very hot.

Since you have done your first WU, you can now ask your folding tag to Gav.

John
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...

Last edited by 3.0charlie; December 1, 2007 at 02:33 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #75 (permalink)  
Old November 30, 2007, 06:19 PM
Digitaldemon's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 2 miles south of heaven.. east of eden
Posts: 308
Default

in for the .. well pie.. beer and wait.. umm hmm just add me or .. i need more beer.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #76 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2007, 02:01 PM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,735
Default

Hey guys, I've started folding. On my old Thinkpad T41! In time I'll install it on my Quad machine too. Username Cptn_Vortex
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #77 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2007, 06:29 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,656

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cptn Vortex View Post
Hey guys, I've started folding. On my old Thinkpad T41! In time I'll install it on my Quad machine too. Username Cptn_Vortex
Welcome in the gang!

John
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #78 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2007, 07:42 AM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Alberta
Posts: 261

My System Specs

Default Wanna Fold

Hi
I just got the Folding at Home program, I want to fold for your team. Canadian_Shredder is my ID
Presently running Boinc for Rosetta at home as well, I think it is also helping out all of us.
Any information on making the folding program run on X-fired GPUs would be cool too.
Reply With Quote
  #79 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2007, 08:15 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,656

My System Specs

Default

What's you rig? This is crucial to know, in order for you to use the proper client.

John
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #80 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2007, 08:32 AM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Alberta
Posts: 261

My System Specs

Default

Intel QX6700,
ATI XTX1900 and 1900CF (512)
Blitz Formula Mobo
Cat 7-11 Drivers for GPUs
OCZ-PC6400 Ram
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Folding @ Home F.A.Q. Supergrover HardwareCanucks F@H Team 229 May 15, 2010 08:24 PM
E8400 + Folding = OMG... 3.0charlie HardwareCanucks F@H Team 40 March 2, 2009 07:23 AM
Newbie GPU Folding Shredder HardwareCanucks F@H Team 11 February 24, 2008 09:55 PM
< 3 weeks for HCF folding team to hit the top 500!!! pscout HardwareCanucks F@H Team 24 October 11, 2007 09:32 PM
Two folding machines Amon HardwareCanucks F@H Team 16 September 14, 2007 04:05 AM