Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #631 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2009, 04:18 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,640

My System Specs

Default

This song is called coil whining, and you will learn to love it... all Folders do.

Oc only the shaders.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #632 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2009, 04:32 PM
0o0 0o0 is offline
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Toronto ON
Posts: 855

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
This song is called coil whining, and you will learn to love it... all Folders do.

Oc only the shaders.
oh my...


good news is that my gtx260 is half way through the first gpu WU since my last post here lol my bfg 216 is doing 1450 on the shaders without a hiccup... I think I'm gonna keep this card. Say 'aye' if you want me to push it more!

ok so I just found out that the back of the pcb on my 216 is too hot for my liking lol... fan now at 80% and I'm wearing my headsets without listening to anything. At least it drowns out the whining... Does the gpu client come with a cpu client or something? On my PII 720, one core is loaded to the max, and the other 2's usages are jumping around. Should I also install the cpu client?

Last edited by 0o0; December 18, 2009 at 04:55 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #633 (permalink)  
Old December 19, 2009, 11:54 AM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 276
Default Finally folding again...

Well, after my Q6600 got zapped by lightning (along with my UPC) I haven't had a rig to fold with. I just got this triple-core up n running(all stock), but it's only got a 4650 1 GB GPU. I'm folding with the CPU client right now 24/7 for the HWC team. Would a GPU client be better suited? I game for a couple or 3 hours a day, so I was thinking that the CPU client on 100% of the time is better than the GPU on only while I'm A.F.K. Anyone tried both, or something of a hybrid? I don't have the time or inclination to experiment with this setup, just trying my maximize my WUs without inconveniencing myself. I'll leave it 'as is' if nobody replies with a suggestion.



Reply With Quote
  #634 (permalink)  
Old December 19, 2009, 11:58 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,640

My System Specs

Default

Stick to the CPU folding - the 4650 will have a pathetic ppd...
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #635 (permalink)  
Old December 19, 2009, 12:04 PM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 276
Default

Thanks Charlie
Reply With Quote
  #636 (permalink)  
Old December 27, 2009, 11:38 AM
0o0 0o0 is offline
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Toronto ON
Posts: 855

My System Specs

Default

I've noticed that my gpu sings through entire 353 WU's but sings in burst fire with other WU's, is there a bottleneck somewhere? I recall someone telling me it's giving the gpu a break or something, but can't remember exactly where... if it is trying to give my gpu a break, is there a way to make it plow right through without a break?
Reply With Quote
  #637 (permalink)  
Old December 27, 2009, 11:42 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,972

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 0o0 View Post
I've noticed that my gpu sings through entire 353 WU's but sings in burst fire with other WU's, is there a bottleneck somewhere? I recall someone telling me it's giving the gpu a break or something, but can't remember exactly where... if it is trying to give my gpu a break, is there a way to make it plow right through without a break?
That is normal and there is no way to change it.
Reply With Quote
  #638 (permalink)  
Old December 27, 2009, 11:47 AM
0o0 0o0 is offline
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Toronto ON
Posts: 855

My System Specs

Default

alright lol, thanks for the quick response
Reply With Quote
  #639 (permalink)  
Old December 27, 2009, 12:10 PM
bwm bwm is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 799

My System Specs

Default

It wouldn't be so prominent if they'd put a chunk of medium stiff rubber pad between the toroids and the pcb, then goop it up with RTV. But you can try it yourself. Works on all of mine.

Last edited by bwm; December 27, 2009 at 01:00 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #640 (permalink)  
Old December 28, 2009, 05:54 AM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

Hi everyone . I start to fold today, a simple test. so I get a passkey, my user name is MarkedOne, do I have to do other thing to regiester that name than get a passkey?, how you get the team stats on the signature and the HWC folding crest

thanks
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Folding @ Home F.A.Q. Supergrover HardwareCanucks F@H Team 229 May 15, 2010 08:24 PM
E8400 + Folding = OMG... 3.0charlie HardwareCanucks F@H Team 40 March 2, 2009 07:23 AM
Newbie GPU Folding Shredder HardwareCanucks F@H Team 11 February 24, 2008 09:55 PM
< 3 weeks for HCF folding team to hit the top 500!!! pscout HardwareCanucks F@H Team 24 October 11, 2007 09:32 PM
Two folding machines Amon HardwareCanucks F@H Team 16 September 14, 2007 04:05 AM