Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #51 (permalink)  
Old September 16, 2007, 08:40 AM
Amon's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 719

My System Specs

Default

To what effect would changing my folding nickname have on my status, team, etc.?
Reply With Quote
  #52 (permalink)  
Old September 16, 2007, 09:33 AM
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: folding in GTA
Posts: 375
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amon View Post
To what effect would changing my folding nickname have on my status, team, etc.?
From a stats perspective there is no such thing really as a change ... if you start using a new stanford username (and/or team #) in your clients, then it is the same as a new user. Existing points that have been credited will stay with whatever username and team # was used when the wu's were completed and uploaded. If you enter a name/team# that already exists, then you are donating points to that id!

The reason i suggest keeping it simple is that i have known folders who made a typo when setting up a client on a borg (eg a friends rig who agreed to fold for them) and didn't notice till hundreds of thousands of points later that they screwed up either the username, or worse, the team # when they were editing the client.cfg. I have made the same mistake a few times but i have caught the error after a few wu's.

There is no checking at stanford, and no way for them to really check either that your rig is using the right name/number. For example, i can decide to donate points to anyone I want just by changing the name in the client before the wu completes & uploads (stopping the client of course to make the name/number change). And if i enter a name/team # combo that doesn't currently exist in stanford stats, then i have just created a new user.

If you were to pick a new name to fold under at hcf, your old id would stay in the stats and your new id would start from 0. Then you could pass yourself!
Reply With Quote
  #53 (permalink)  
Old September 18, 2007, 08:59 AM
Amon's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 719

My System Specs

Default

I just found out the hard way that doing a nasty force shut down while folding, progress is lost.
Reply With Quote
  #54 (permalink)  
Old September 18, 2007, 04:56 PM
Amon's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 719

My System Specs

Default

Alrighty then. With the new laptop and my main PC running ostensibly 24 hours a day, I'm folding much, much faster--from 2 work units to 8 in almost a week. Here are some PPD stats:
PC: about 125 points per day @ 24/7
laptop: about 250 points per day, per core (500 total) @ 16/7

To the E6600 owners: watch out!
Reply With Quote
  #55 (permalink)  
Old September 18, 2007, 05:11 PM
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: folding in GTA
Posts: 375
Default

WTF (Way to Fold)
Reply With Quote
  #56 (permalink)  
Old September 29, 2007, 08:40 AM
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: folding in GTA
Posts: 375
Default I see we have a new team mate - 'thebone' ?

Welcome to the team

Let Gav know your HCF id so he can fix you up with an HCF folding logo
Reply With Quote
  #57 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2007, 08:12 PM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas Ontario close to london
Posts: 3,933

My System Specs

Default

Well I just started and I think it is working.WU End is Nov 6. It is only using 25% of my cpu speed. Using the Graphical Client. User Name is Old_Ladies. O.K. Now it is up to OCT 7 for WU END.
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."

Last edited by belgolas; October 5, 2007 at 08:42 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #58 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2007, 08:49 PM
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: folding in GTA
Posts: 375
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by belgolas View Post
Well I just started and I think it is working.WU End is Nov 6. It is only using 25% of my cpu speed. Using the Graphical Client. User Name is Old_Ladies.
Welcome to the team!

The unicore client will only use 1 core since it is single threaded.

While the graphical client is easiest to install, it is also prone to open gl conflicts with other app's. Still, not a bad way to get started. With a single unicore instance on your quad you are probably only gonna get about 10-15% of your quad's potential.

Once you get comfortable with folding you may want to switch to a higher performance configuration. We can give you a hand when/if you want to switch. Best to startup a new thread of your own here when you do.

I find it hard to keep on top of situations/progress when we get several of these activities going in 1 thread and it is easy to miss single posts.
Reply With Quote
  #59 (permalink)  
Old October 19, 2007, 12:12 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 659

My System Specs

Default

Not a new folder, but have been absent. Just bought a PS3 and threw Folding on it for kicks. Should boost me in the pts fairly soon :)
__________________
QuadZilla & The Four Horsemen

Have an A-1 day!
Reply With Quote
  #60 (permalink)  
Old October 19, 2007, 01:16 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,535

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 4DoorGTZ View Post
Not a new folder, but have been absent. Just bought a PS3 and threw Folding on it for kicks. Should boost me in the pts fairly soon :)
Great to see you back!!!!

We missed your points when you headed off, but they certainly got us kick started when we needed it.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Folding @ Home F.A.Q. Supergrover HardwareCanucks F@H Team 229 May 15, 2010 08:24 PM
E8400 + Folding = OMG... 3.0charlie HardwareCanucks F@H Team 40 March 2, 2009 07:23 AM
Newbie GPU Folding Shredder HardwareCanucks F@H Team 11 February 24, 2008 09:55 PM
< 3 weeks for HCF folding team to hit the top 500!!! pscout HardwareCanucks F@H Team 24 October 11, 2007 09:32 PM
Two folding machines Amon HardwareCanucks F@H Team 16 September 14, 2007 04:05 AM