Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #531 (permalink)  
Old July 28, 2009, 09:42 AM
Taz's Avatar
Taz Taz is offline
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 66

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
Added cycles are always Welcome Taz (eh, my favorite cartoon when I was a youngster...). If you ever folded, use the SMP client on your Quad, and the GPU client for your GTS250.

Easiest way for help is to start a new thread in the FAH sub-Forum section.
I barely understood this reply, hahaha. Never folded before, don't know what the SMP client is, I thought there was the graphic client and the text client only? I read the getting started threads here and that's what I got out of it, lol. Are you also saying that I can fold with my CPU with one client, and then fold a different project/protein or whatever with my GPU? That's pretty cool... do I need extra cooling for that? How do I set that up?
__________________
Case: Antec Sonata III 500 (w/1 TriCool fan and an Earthwatts 500 PS)
CPU: Core 2 Quad Q8400 @ 2.66Ghz
MOBO: Asus P5Q Pro Turbo (P45 chipset)
Ram: OCZ PC2-8500 DDR2 Reaper 2x2GB
VID: EVGA GeFroce GT250 1Gb 256bit GDDR3
HDD: Western Digital 640Gb 7200rpm Black
DVD: LG DVDRW 22x
Monitor: LG W2353 23" LCD (Full HD)
Reply With Quote
  #532 (permalink)  
Old July 28, 2009, 11:25 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,643

My System Specs

Default

Sorry for that.

Let's first start with the easy one, the GPU client. Download from the FAH page (the first on this page: Folding@home - DownloadWinOther) and follow the installation instructions. Keep an eye on the GPU temps, since FAH is very hard on GPUs - though it won't die, no worries.

Next, follow the sticky shown in the FAH sub-Forum on how to install Fahmon.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #533 (permalink)  
Old July 28, 2009, 12:06 PM
Taz's Avatar
Taz Taz is offline
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 66

My System Specs

Default

Cool, thanks. Which High Performance client should I get? I have the EVGA Nvidia GeForce GTS 250 (1GB DDR3) and OCZ DDR2 PC2-8500 Reaper 4GB Dual Channel Kit for memory (1066MHz, 5-5-5-18 latency, whatever these things mean, haha). Don't know if that's all relevant, but there it is.

There are several GPU clients:

Windows: V6 GPU2 (ATI 2xxx, 3xxx, 4xxx; nVidia) clients:

Windows XP/2003/Vista GPU System tray client (installer msi)

Windows XP/2003/Vista GPU System tray client with special viewer for NVIDIA GPU's (installer msi)

Windows Vista GPU Console client (note running as a service does not work in Vista). Uninstall any existing FAH services made with pre 6.20 clients before updating.

So I'm not sure which of those 3 to DL, they are all version 6.23. Also, do I need to remove the CPU (what I assume I am already using right now) client before doing this? Or stop it first?

And how do you recommend I keep an eye on the GPU temps? Is there some utility I should be using to monitor my system? I know you said it's not necessary, but if there's an FAQ about monitoring your system and what tmeps to aim for and what's to worry about, point me to it please? lol!

Sorry, I know you guys must get tired of stringing along newbs like me, but it's all quite overwhelming, there's just so much to read and sort through!!
__________________
Case: Antec Sonata III 500 (w/1 TriCool fan and an Earthwatts 500 PS)
CPU: Core 2 Quad Q8400 @ 2.66Ghz
MOBO: Asus P5Q Pro Turbo (P45 chipset)
Ram: OCZ PC2-8500 DDR2 Reaper 2x2GB
VID: EVGA GeFroce GT250 1Gb 256bit GDDR3
HDD: Western Digital 640Gb 7200rpm Black
DVD: LG DVDRW 22x
Monitor: LG W2353 23" LCD (Full HD)
Reply With Quote
  #534 (permalink)  
Old July 28, 2009, 04:09 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,643

My System Specs

Default

As I wrote in my last reply: Download the GPU Client from the FAH download page (the first client on this page: Folding@home - DownloadWinOther) and follow the installation instructions. Start the Client, add your Folding addy (check here first to see if it's not already taken: Folding@home - Download the Folding@home software application) and our Team number (54196). On the next tab, click Work Units larger than 10Mb. That's it.

To monitor your GPU temps, use evga's Precision. EVGA Precision 1.7.1 download from Guru3D.com.

Don't forget to install Fahmon to monitor your Client's progress (ppd: points-per-day).

Are you already folding with your CPU? If so, which Client did you install?
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #535 (permalink)  
Old July 28, 2009, 10:51 PM
Taz's Avatar
Taz Taz is offline
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 66

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
As I wrote in my last reply: Download the GPU Client from the FAH download page (the first client on this page: Folding@home - DownloadWinOther) and follow the installation instructions. Start the Client, add your Folding addy (check here first to see if it's not already taken: Folding@home - Download the Folding@home software application) and our Team number (54196). On the next tab, click Work Units larger than 10Mb. That's it.

To monitor your GPU temps, use evga's Precision. EVGA Precision 1.7.1 download from Guru3D.com.

Don't forget to install Fahmon to monitor your Client's progress (ppd: points-per-day).

Are you already folding with your CPU? If so, which Client did you install?
Thanks, I missed the part "...(the first client on this page..." first read over of your post, that's why I was confused. I was/am already folding with my CPU, using the client "Windows XP/2003/Vista System tray client installer with viewer"which is the first of the 2 options from the Stanford Downloads page. I set up my GPU and was folding with both this afternoon/evening, and finished one of each, although I only see the points (511) for the CPU WU and not the GPU one, but I assume it's just not updated yet since it finished later. I'll install the Fahmon program tomorrow!

Oh, my resting GPU temp was around 35-40C I think, and it jumped to about 72C while folding, that a reasonable/acceptable temp to maintain?
__________________
Case: Antec Sonata III 500 (w/1 TriCool fan and an Earthwatts 500 PS)
CPU: Core 2 Quad Q8400 @ 2.66Ghz
MOBO: Asus P5Q Pro Turbo (P45 chipset)
Ram: OCZ PC2-8500 DDR2 Reaper 2x2GB
VID: EVGA GeFroce GT250 1Gb 256bit GDDR3
HDD: Western Digital 640Gb 7200rpm Black
DVD: LG DVDRW 22x
Monitor: LG W2353 23" LCD (Full HD)
Reply With Quote
  #536 (permalink)  
Old July 28, 2009, 10:56 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,903

My System Specs

Default

Well I decided I'd do some folding on my aging AMD Athlon64 3200+. It's on 24/7 running Server 2003 acting as my home server of sorts. Doubt it'll help much but better than nothing

My username is jdrom17 as well on it. Joined the team of course.

Anything else that I need to do? Using the GUI client for now but maybe I'll switch to the console one when I feel like reading up on it.
Reply With Quote
  #537 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2009, 01:35 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 107

My System Specs

Default

I am a new team member.

My hardware is not good enough for any impressive amount of PPD nor can I fold 24/7, but I decided to give it a try anyway. Username Arundor.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #538 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2009, 02:09 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,643

My System Specs

Default

Any ppd is welcomed. And you are too.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #539 (permalink)  
Old August 11, 2009, 11:10 AM
headsh0t's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 2,568

My System Specs

Default

I've now got my main rig, htpc, and PS3 all folding under Team 54196 when I can spare some processing time :)
Reply With Quote
  #540 (permalink)  
Old August 17, 2009, 06:54 PM
Safearus's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SSM, Ontario
Posts: 316
Default

Well, started my first WU. It'll take a while on this rig... 8% in 4 hours... hopefully it kicks upabit or something >.<
__________________
Current Rig: "Έρεβος" -- English: "Erebus" ::
ASUS R.O.G. Crosshair III 790FX
AMD Phenom II X4 955 @ 3.6 Ghz (Feck...)
Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Thermaltake Armor
Corsair TX850W
Mushkin HP3 2x2GB DDR3
Samsung SATA DVD-RW

MSI GeForce GTX 275 Twin Frozr
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Folding @ Home F.A.Q. Supergrover HardwareCanucks F@H Team 229 May 15, 2010 08:24 PM
E8400 + Folding = OMG... 3.0charlie HardwareCanucks F@H Team 40 March 2, 2009 07:23 AM
Newbie GPU Folding Shredder HardwareCanucks F@H Team 11 February 24, 2008 09:55 PM
< 3 weeks for HCF folding team to hit the top 500!!! pscout HardwareCanucks F@H Team 24 October 11, 2007 09:32 PM
Two folding machines Amon HardwareCanucks F@H Team 16 September 14, 2007 04:05 AM