Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #391 (permalink)  
Old April 6, 2009, 07:55 PM
netforce's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Hamilton, Ont.
Posts: 206
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
Welcome! With such hardware, you'll be up the ranks in no time.
Yup... but it's a pain to get both GPU's going. Not to mention the whine noise it's making. I think it's giving me a headache.
Reply With Quote
  #392 (permalink)  
Old April 6, 2009, 08:06 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,669

My System Specs

Default

You'll get used to both... takes me about 2 minutes to setup 2+1 Clients, and I don;t hear the noise anymore.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #393 (permalink)  
Old April 6, 2009, 09:03 PM
LCB001's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aylmer QC.
Posts: 1,774

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by netforce View Post
Yup... but it's a pain to get both GPU's going. Not to mention the whine noise it's making. I think it's giving me a headache.
Turn your fans up higher it helps mask the whining noise, and then you can crank the shaders for more PPD...

Welcome to the Team, and our addiction...
__________________
Folding For Team 54196

Reply With Quote
  #394 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2009, 01:26 AM
netforce's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Hamilton, Ont.
Posts: 206
Default

I have a Dell 2709w, so i connected my HDMI to it to let me use the second GPU. Is there any way around that? I don't want to extend my desktop, and simply connecting it doesn't work very well.
I've been able to get 13000 PPD so far. If i figure out a way to maximize the cpu folding, i'll be golden.. so far i'm getting only ~800 PPD on my 4Ghz i7... is that low?

EDIT: After some overclocking... i'm now up to 18500 PPD ...and the whine is unbearable! Guess i'll just leave it running when i go to work.

Last edited by netforce; April 7, 2009 at 02:09 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #395 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2009, 05:22 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,669

My System Specs

Default

Run dual SMP clients on the i7. I hit ~ 3500 ppd.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #396 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2009, 05:36 AM
netforce's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Hamilton, Ont.
Posts: 206
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
Run dual SMP clients on the i7. I hit ~ 3500 ppd.
I used this method last night:
Core i7 Folding - how to increase your PPD - Xtreme CPU
My CPU is folding at close to 100% now. I don't know how much PPD it's getting, but it seems to be doing it's job now.
This stuff is pretty neat.
Reply With Quote
  #397 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2009, 09:16 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,124

My System Specs

Default

Nice find! I'll be trying that out tonight.
Reply With Quote
  #398 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2009, 10:24 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,669

My System Specs

Default

Interesting. Though I don't know if I wish to be stuck with VMware again...
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #399 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2009, 11:08 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,124

My System Specs

Default

If VMware Server worked in Vista 64, it would be simple. 1 server, 1 ubuntu VM, 1 instance of FAH with -smp 8 flag. But it still doesn't have the signed drivers, sigh.
Reply With Quote
  #400 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2009, 10:57 PM
netforce's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Hamilton, Ont.
Posts: 206
Default

Wow... looks like the VMware folding is really stressing the CPU out. I have my I7 at 4Ghz with 1.27 vcore... i thought it was stable until i started folding with it. I guess i'll have to play around, and figure out if it's the memory or cpu that's causing BSOD. It runs fine for a couple hours before it crashes :(.

On a side note... how do i check my PPD for the VMware folding under linux?
My GTX 295 is giving me between 10k to 17k depending on the WU. I would love to know what my total would be.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Folding @ Home F.A.Q. Supergrover HardwareCanucks F@H Team 229 May 15, 2010 09:24 PM
E8400 + Folding = OMG... 3.0charlie HardwareCanucks F@H Team 40 March 2, 2009 08:23 AM
Newbie GPU Folding Shredder HardwareCanucks F@H Team 11 February 24, 2008 10:55 PM
< 3 weeks for HCF folding team to hit the top 500!!! pscout HardwareCanucks F@H Team 24 October 11, 2007 10:32 PM
Two folding machines Amon HardwareCanucks F@H Team 16 September 14, 2007 05:05 AM