Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old August 16, 2007, 09:20 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,630

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mibs View Post
Its sort of just sitting there...has been for about 5 minutes now.
Don't worry for a wait of 5 minutes. The tpf (time-per-frame: difference in minutes between 2 percentage points) can take as many as 30 minutes, depending on your processor and WU.

The (0) shown in your log is actually a percentage point (0% completed).

pscout knows a lot more about folding, and the approximate tpf for many WU.

John
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old August 16, 2007, 09:29 AM
Mibs's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: St. John's, NL
Posts: 311
Default

Alright so I installed the graphical client after reading again the faq here. It seems to be working now. It says WU end Sun 16 Sep 07! Does it really take that long for one WU to be completed?

Ok nevermind now it says August 17.
__________________
Intel C2D E6750 @ 3.52 GHz // EVGA 680i SLI Rev. A1 (P31) // 4 GB OCZ Platinum 800 MHz 4-4-4-15 // PC P&C Silencer 750 Quad // Antec P180 // EVGA 8800 GTS 512 // Samsung Syncmaster 226bw 22" LCD

WC Loop: D-Tek Fuzion V2 // Danger Den Maze 5 // Swiftech MCP655 // Swiftech MicroRes // Thermochill PA 120.2 + 4 x Noctua NF-P12

Last edited by Mibs; August 16, 2007 at 10:00 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old August 16, 2007, 10:01 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,630

My System Specs

Default

Why don't you use the SMP beta? Much more efficient when using a dual core CPU. As for the end date, if you just started the client, it takes a few frames to calculate the estimated unit end. It will change.
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old August 16, 2007, 10:59 AM
Mibs's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: St. John's, NL
Posts: 311
Default

Alright I just got that client up and it seems to be running alright.
__________________
Intel C2D E6750 @ 3.52 GHz // EVGA 680i SLI Rev. A1 (P31) // 4 GB OCZ Platinum 800 MHz 4-4-4-15 // PC P&C Silencer 750 Quad // Antec P180 // EVGA 8800 GTS 512 // Samsung Syncmaster 226bw 22" LCD

WC Loop: D-Tek Fuzion V2 // Danger Den Maze 5 // Swiftech MCP655 // Swiftech MicroRes // Thermochill PA 120.2 + 4 x Noctua NF-P12
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old August 16, 2007, 11:04 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,630

My System Specs

Default

You will see a major increase in WU production. If you wish to monitor the WU progression (similar to the info shown on the graphical client), install Fahmon.

FahMon Homepage
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old August 16, 2007, 11:07 PM
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: folding in GTA
Posts: 375
Default

Most people install the gui client at first since it is the easiest to setup.

Main problem with it is the eventually it will have problems if you run any other apps that use open g/l since m$ support for it is not very good.
Also you cannot run 2 instances of it to take advantage of your dual core.

To switch to the smp client, let it finish its first wu (which can take several days) and make sure it doesn't download another - i think there is a setting in the gui for this I just can't remember where it is.

The smp client will produce at least 2-3 times more than running 2 standard clients, or 4-6 times as much as 1 gui client. Your rig could produce ~ 1 smp wu per day if running 724 and smp wu's are worth from 1100-1760 points. 1 gui client will get ~ 250-400 points per day on your rig depending on the wu. I am not up to date on what the range is for current single core wu's since I run only smp except for a laptop I have.

running the smp client requires you to have a logon id and password on windows.

Last edited by pscout; August 16, 2007 at 11:10 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old August 17, 2007, 03:54 AM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 169
Default

Ya you can set it to pause after the work unit. Just don't reset your pc or it turns that off (stupid windows update). So now i'm waiting for it to finish again to install the smp one.
__________________
3800X2@2.2GHz--2gb PC3200--200Gb Maxtor SATA2--eVga 8800GTS 320mb--eVga nForce4 SLI mobo--Klipsch 4.1--Antec nine hundred case w/Vantec 120mm on side--Vista Premium 64bit

Join our Folding@Home team!
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old August 21, 2007, 04:25 PM
Apollo4g's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 876
Default

Just set my F@H up for HardwareCanucks
__________________
800D | i7 920 | EVGA Classified LE | 5970 EK Waterblock | 12GB - 1600 Dominators DDR3 | Silverstone Decathlon 1200W | Vertex 120GB |
ASUS Xonar HDAV1.3 | Heatkiller 3.0 | Thermochill PA.120.3 | Freezone Elite | 2x655's with EK Dual D5 Top | T-Virus Res |



Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old August 21, 2007, 04:46 PM
Gav's Avatar
Gav Gav is offline
Administrator
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,343

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apollo4g View Post
Just set my F@H up for HardwareCanucks
Welcome to the team!

I'll hook you up with a folding tag as soon as your first WU is in.
Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old August 21, 2007, 05:04 PM
Apollo4g's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 876
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gav View Post
Welcome to the team!

I'll hook you up with a folding tag as soon as your first WU is in.
OH!! there is a tag??

Sweet
Thanks for the welcome!
__________________
800D | i7 920 | EVGA Classified LE | 5970 EK Waterblock | 12GB - 1600 Dominators DDR3 | Silverstone Decathlon 1200W | Vertex 120GB |
ASUS Xonar HDAV1.3 | Heatkiller 3.0 | Thermochill PA.120.3 | Freezone Elite | 2x655's with EK Dual D5 Top | T-Virus Res |



Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Folding @ Home F.A.Q. Supergrover HardwareCanucks F@H Team 229 May 15, 2010 08:24 PM
E8400 + Folding = OMG... 3.0charlie HardwareCanucks F@H Team 40 March 2, 2009 07:23 AM
Newbie GPU Folding Shredder HardwareCanucks F@H Team 11 February 24, 2008 09:55 PM
< 3 weeks for HCF folding team to hit the top 500!!! pscout HardwareCanucks F@H Team 24 October 11, 2007 09:32 PM
Two folding machines Amon HardwareCanucks F@H Team 16 September 14, 2007 04:05 AM