Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2007, 12:34 AM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 169
Default

Ya on my PS3 I was on the italian team...dont' ask me why. i must of put in a wrong number when i tried joining the ncix team. But now it's this forums team, if i click the info right in the PS3's F@H client it shows me as a member of this team.

The desktop client i grabbed was the......Graphical one....once i do my 1st WU though i'll prolly grab the SMP BETA console one.
__________________
3800X2@2.2GHz--2gb PC3200--200Gb Maxtor SATA2--eVga 8800GTS 320mb--eVga nForce4 SLI mobo--Klipsch 4.1--Antec nine hundred case w/Vantec 120mm on side--Vista Premium 64bit

Join our Folding@Home team!
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2007, 12:41 AM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 169
Default

On my PC it's 850/5000 ? No idea what that is. I used to do this stuff before a long time ago. distributed Computing then....SETI. With one of those there was a quick way to run through WU's, it was called SETIspy. It would download a bunch of WU's and you'd crunch away on them. I forget exactly how it did it but it was faster than using like the screensaver version. Anyone know a faster way with this program?
__________________
3800X2@2.2GHz--2gb PC3200--200Gb Maxtor SATA2--eVga 8800GTS 320mb--eVga nForce4 SLI mobo--Klipsch 4.1--Antec nine hundred case w/Vantec 120mm on side--Vista Premium 64bit

Join our Folding@Home team!
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2007, 11:39 AM
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: folding in GTA
Posts: 375
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gamashinoch View Post
On my PC it's 850/5000 ? No idea what that is. I used to do this stuff before a long time ago. distributed Computing then....SETI. With one of those there was a quick way to run through WU's, it was called SETIspy. It would download a bunch of WU's and you'd crunch away on them. I forget exactly how it did it but it was faster than using like the screensaver version. Anyone know a faster way with this program?
I have forgotten what the gui client looks like it has been so long. The 850/5000 is probably 850 steps out of 5000 completed. The number of steps in each wu varies by project and simulation type. You can also look in fahlog.txt to see all the details including progress.

The SMP beta should be the best producer for your desktop.

Once you complete the current wu (make sure it doesn't download another) uninstall the gui client so you don't get any conflicts with the smp client.

To install SMP client you will need to have a userid and password with admin authority setup on vista.
Also, turn off UAC while you install it.

There is no batching of wu's in folding. There is a queue used to temporarily hold completed wu's that can't be returned to the work server due to server down etc. But with SMP wu's they have preferred deadlines of 3-4 days so you don't want them sitting in the queue long.

Hopefully your desktop will be crunching 724, but if not you will need to keep an eye on meeting deadlines so your crunching isn't wasted.

In fact the quad only wus have a 1 day preferred deadline.

The unicore client wu's like your gui client is getting usually have deadlines measured in weeks or more.

The utility called fahmon can be used for monitoring.
FahMon Homepage

Last edited by pscout; August 14, 2007 at 11:46 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2007, 12:07 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,680

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gamashinoch View Post
On my PC it's 850/5000 ? No idea what that is.
This WU has 5000 "parts". And 850 of those 5000 "parts" are complete. That's it.
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2007, 09:48 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 169
Default

well whatever....the ps3 finished it's WU already. The pc is at 2950/5000.
__________________
3800X2@2.2GHz--2gb PC3200--200Gb Maxtor SATA2--eVga 8800GTS 320mb--eVga nForce4 SLI mobo--Klipsch 4.1--Antec nine hundred case w/Vantec 120mm on side--Vista Premium 64bit

Join our Folding@Home team!
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old August 15, 2007, 05:03 PM
Mibs's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: St. John's, NL
Posts: 311
Default

Just built a new rig (see sig) and now folding for HC! Going to be doing the best I can, it won't be 24/7 as I want to game as well but I certainly want to help the effort!

Also... is it normal for it to be sitting at "Completed 0 out of 250000 steps" for a long time? Doesn't seem to make sense to me but I don't know!

Id is the same as forum id.
__________________
Intel C2D E6750 @ 3.52 GHz // EVGA 680i SLI Rev. A1 (P31) // 4 GB OCZ Platinum 800 MHz 4-4-4-15 // PC P&C Silencer 750 Quad // Antec P180 // EVGA 8800 GTS 512 // Samsung Syncmaster 226bw 22" LCD

WC Loop: D-Tek Fuzion V2 // Danger Den Maze 5 // Swiftech MCP655 // Swiftech MicroRes // Thermochill PA 120.2 + 4 x Noctua NF-P12

Last edited by Mibs; August 15, 2007 at 05:11 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old August 15, 2007, 05:14 PM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,261

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mibs View Post
Just built a new rig (see sig) and now folding for HC! Going to be doing the best I can, it won't be 24/7 as I want to game as well but I certainly want to help the effort!

Also... is it normal for it to be sitting at "Completed 0 out of 250000 steps" for a long time? Doesn't seem to make sense to me but I don't know!

Id is the same as forum id.
Welcome to the Fold Mibs!

No it shouldn't sit @ that for a long period of time. How long is long?
Could you post up a excerpt from your log file?
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old August 15, 2007, 09:25 PM
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: folding in GTA
Posts: 375
Default

Welcome to the team mibs

Which client did you install?

Win smp is gonna be the best producer on your rig depending on how many hours a day you let it fold.

Also, you don't need to stop folding when you game ... it runs at idle priority so it won't use cycles when any other task needs them, and you have lots of memory so it should not impact you.

It might be easiest if you start up a new thread here with a description of the client you installed and your log. The log is in a file called fahlog.txt in the directory you installed the client in.

Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old August 16, 2007, 12:08 AM
Scratch's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Victoria BC Canada
Posts: 373

My System Specs

Default

yes just for info's sake, I run FaH on my Q6600 and E6400 in idle mode 24/7 while playing Lineage 2 which is a severe resource pig and only shut the client down on my wifes pc when she uses vent at the same time as it tends to lag out on the E6400

Last edited by Scratch; August 16, 2007 at 01:25 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old August 16, 2007, 10:04 AM
Mibs's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: St. John's, NL
Posts: 311
Default

Quote:
[15:53:06] - User name: Mibs (Team 54196)
[15:53:06] - User ID: 3A21FCA5FA6B6A2
[15:53:06] - Machine ID: 2
[15:53:06]
[15:53:06] Loaded queue successfully.
[15:53:06] + Benchmarking ...
[15:53:08]
[15:53:08] + Processing work unit
[15:53:08] Core required: FahCore_78.exe
[15:53:08] Core found.
[15:53:08] Working on Unit 01 [August 16 15:53:08]
[15:53:08] + Working ...
[15:53:08]
[15:53:08] *------------------------------*
[15:53:08] Folding@Home Gromacs Core
[15:53:08] Version 1.90 (March 8, 2006)
[15:53:08]
[15:53:08] Preparing to commence simulation
[15:53:08] - Looking at optimizations...
[15:53:08] - Files status OK
[15:53:11] - Expanded 3067575 -> 16585961 (decompressed 540.6 percent)
[15:53:12]
[15:53:12] Project: 2421 (Run 13, Clone 3, Gen 5)
[15:53:12]
[15:53:12] Assembly optimizations on if available.
[15:53:12] Entering M.D.
[15:53:33] (Starting from checkpoint)
[15:53:33] Protein: p2421_Ribo_ile_aux
[15:53:33]
[15:53:33] Writing local files
[15:53:36] Extra SSE boost OK.
[15:53:36] Writing local files
[15:53:36] Completed 0 out of 250000 steps (0)
Its sort of just sitting there...has been for about 5 minutes now.
__________________
Intel C2D E6750 @ 3.52 GHz // EVGA 680i SLI Rev. A1 (P31) // 4 GB OCZ Platinum 800 MHz 4-4-4-15 // PC P&C Silencer 750 Quad // Antec P180 // EVGA 8800 GTS 512 // Samsung Syncmaster 226bw 22" LCD

WC Loop: D-Tek Fuzion V2 // Danger Den Maze 5 // Swiftech MCP655 // Swiftech MicroRes // Thermochill PA 120.2 + 4 x Noctua NF-P12
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Folding @ Home F.A.Q. Supergrover HardwareCanucks F@H Team 229 May 15, 2010 09:24 PM
E8400 + Folding = OMG... 3.0charlie HardwareCanucks F@H Team 40 March 2, 2009 08:23 AM
Newbie GPU Folding Shredder HardwareCanucks F@H Team 11 February 24, 2008 10:55 PM
< 3 weeks for HCF folding team to hit the top 500!!! pscout HardwareCanucks F@H Team 24 October 11, 2007 10:32 PM
Two folding machines Amon HardwareCanucks F@H Team 16 September 14, 2007 05:05 AM