Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #191 (permalink)  
Old July 29, 2008, 05:09 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,680

My System Specs

Default

Console stable? Yup, with next-to no points. I was used to ~4800ppd with my Quad, so no way am I dropping to ~1000ppd with no babysitting.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #192 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2008, 02:50 PM
Shadowed's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 238
Default

Looking to join the fold (quote Supergrover) with 2 systems.
It looks like things have changed a bit since I have folded last.
I have been reading through the folding forum and there is a huge amount of info to sift through.

I was planning on using 1 gpu and 1 linux client but I am not sure if this will maximize my output.
Suggestions are welcome

Sys-1
WinXP-SP3
AMD 5600+X2 2.8ghz
EVGA 8800GTS 640mb 112sp
2gb ram

Sys-2
Fedora9- 32bit
Xeon X3110 (8400) 3.0ghz
Ati-X800XL
2gb ram

GPU drivers
EVGA driver download lists 177.79 as the latest version
and Nvidia lists 175.19

I was going to use the EVGA driver but I was a little confused about the conflicting version numbers. I have read in the forums that the newest drivers are not always the best.

Linux 32bit
Any advantage going 64bit ? I didn't think it would make any difference as I am using only 2gb ram.

Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #193 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2008, 07:33 PM
Shadowed's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 238
Default Update

OK, GPU client seems to be up and running at 61 iter/sec (whatever that is) for team 54196

Linux is next.... need to figure out how to d/l and install... more reading...
Reply With Quote
  #194 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2008, 07:39 PM
LCB001's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aylmer QC.
Posts: 1,774

My System Specs

Default

Welcome to our team. I'm fairly new to this stuff, but I think the diff between the two drivers is the 177.79's are beta's. There are others here much better qualified to help you.

Gotta love that new nvidia gpu client it produces amazing points.. again, glad to have you on the Team
__________________
Folding For Team 54196

Reply With Quote
  #195 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2008, 07:45 PM
Shadowed's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 238
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LCB001 View Post
Welcome to our team. I'm fairly new to this stuff, but I think the diff between the two drivers is the 177.79's are beta's. There are others here much better qualified to help you.

Gotta love that new nvidia gpu client it produces amazing points.. again, glad to have you on the Team
Thanks, it seems to be running with the evga recomended driver 177.79 so far anyway

nice system btw
Reply With Quote
  #196 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2008, 08:36 PM
LCB001's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aylmer QC.
Posts: 1,774

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadowed View Post
Thanks, it seems to be running with the evga recomended driver 177.79 so far anyway

nice system btw
Thank you, since I work long hours during the no-snow months the parts were chosen with Folding in mind. Btw if you don't know it already, Don't use the display function on the GPU client as it will really slow it down. It won't get fixed till it comes out of the beta phase...
__________________
Folding For Team 54196

Reply With Quote
  #197 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2008, 09:11 PM
Shadowed's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 238
Default

hmmm... i did look at the display but turned it off after reading it for a minute.
The working progress has been sitting at 1750/25000 for about an hour now.(when you cursor over taskbar icon)
I am not sure if this is normal or it locked up. It only took a short while to get to 1750, so I think it might be borked.
Reply With Quote
  #198 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2008, 09:27 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,680

My System Specs

Default

If you looked at the graphic display, it's frozen. Did you manage to set up the VM / Linux client?
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #199 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2008, 09:29 PM
LCB001's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aylmer QC.
Posts: 1,774

My System Specs

Default

Did you check the log file for info?. My 9800GTX takes about 1:15 mins per step. Yours should be close to that...
__________________
Folding For Team 54196

Reply With Quote
  #200 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2008, 10:05 PM
Shadowed's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 238
Default

I rebooted windoze, I hope it'll start folding again.
I am going to need to do some more reading for the linux client.
Fedora didn't like the commands I was trying to use from the folding wiki guide.
Maybe I should use a different distro ?

GPU client seems to be working again although it started from 0/25000 again. I'll let it run overnight and see how it goes.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Folding @ Home F.A.Q. Supergrover HardwareCanucks F@H Team 229 May 15, 2010 09:24 PM
E8400 + Folding = OMG... 3.0charlie HardwareCanucks F@H Team 40 March 2, 2009 08:23 AM
Newbie GPU Folding Shredder HardwareCanucks F@H Team 11 February 24, 2008 10:55 PM
< 3 weeks for HCF folding team to hit the top 500!!! pscout HardwareCanucks F@H Team 24 October 11, 2007 10:32 PM
Two folding machines Amon HardwareCanucks F@H Team 16 September 14, 2007 05:05 AM