Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #161 (permalink)  
Old April 13, 2008, 05:08 PM
magictorch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Annapolis Valley, NS
Posts: 1,836
Default not again

Ok I just lost progress on another WU-this time because I had taken too long on the SMP client which I had turned on and off according to demand.
How long do you normally get to complete an SMP WU?
-they seem pretty big. I think my dualcore only got through half of one in 8hrs total-only set to 90% at 3.2 for folding though while I see how it stresses the system. I can run 3.8 well enough but id rather keep the max for folding at 3.6 at 100%. Maybe I "need" a quadcore.
__________________
White Night:: i7920 (4ghz), Rampage III extreme (A1), Mushkin XP 1600 (9,9,9,24),SLI480., white MM horizon.
CPU: Feser 220 int.|Apogee GTZ|S.Res.rev2| MCP655.

GPU: PA120.3|S.Res.rev2|2x EK FC blocks| MCP655.
Reply With Quote
  #162 (permalink)  
Old April 13, 2008, 05:18 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,614

My System Specs

Default

It needs more time. Depending on the WU and the CPU, it may take upto 20 hours total to complete the WU. You could change the size of the WU in the FAH config. by selecting "small", but I never used it and I don't know what is the actual "size" of the "small" WU.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #163 (permalink)  
Old April 13, 2008, 08:13 PM
magictorch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Annapolis Valley, NS
Posts: 1,836
Default

ok ill try the config and reduce the size for now...thanks
__________________
White Night:: i7920 (4ghz), Rampage III extreme (A1), Mushkin XP 1600 (9,9,9,24),SLI480., white MM horizon.
CPU: Feser 220 int.|Apogee GTZ|S.Res.rev2| MCP655.

GPU: PA120.3|S.Res.rev2|2x EK FC blocks| MCP655.
Reply With Quote
  #164 (permalink)  
Old April 13, 2008, 08:17 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,418

My System Specs

Default

8 hours for half a WU @ 3.2 sounds about right. My E6420 was pumping out WUs around 14 hours @ 3.5.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #165 (permalink)  
Old June 19, 2008, 10:11 AM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 108

My System Specs

Default

Hey fellas,i was folding for MaximumPC for the last year but decided it was time to fold for the homeland.So here i am.
Reply With Quote
  #166 (permalink)  
Old June 19, 2008, 10:44 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,928

My System Specs

Default

Started f@h again 2 days ago when the gpu client was released.
Reply With Quote
  #167 (permalink)  
Old June 19, 2008, 10:55 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,617
Default

Welcome!!
Reply With Quote
  #168 (permalink)  
Old June 19, 2008, 02:27 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,614

My System Specs

Default

Welcome to you too Sky.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #169 (permalink)  
Old June 20, 2008, 02:23 AM
ipaine's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 2,054

My System Specs

Default

Well just got back into the folding. Figured I better with that GPU client out now. And of course what better team to help out than this one.

Now one thing is kind of weird, since I checked the stats and I already have about 1540 WU done already, but very little for points. Actually I had 1533 WU done with no points earlier today, now that makes no sense to me.
__________________
"Nothing sucks more than that moment during an argument when you realize you're wrong."


Reply With Quote
  #170 (permalink)  
Old June 20, 2008, 06:34 AM
vinister's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 297
Default

I've just started folding with the GPU client.

Question, should I be running the gpu client AND a regular client? How do I force the client to use multiple gpus?
__________________
Mobo: DFI 790X-M2R
Proc: AMD PHENOM X3 720
Ram: OCZ Platinum 2X 2GB @ 1066
VIDEO: 3 x Visiontek HD3870
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Folding @ Home F.A.Q. Supergrover HardwareCanucks F@H Team 229 May 15, 2010 08:24 PM
E8400 + Folding = OMG... 3.0charlie HardwareCanucks F@H Team 40 March 2, 2009 07:23 AM
Newbie GPU Folding Shredder HardwareCanucks F@H Team 11 February 24, 2008 09:55 PM
< 3 weeks for HCF folding team to hit the top 500!!! pscout HardwareCanucks F@H Team 24 October 11, 2007 09:32 PM
Two folding machines Amon HardwareCanucks F@H Team 16 September 14, 2007 04:05 AM