Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #741 (permalink)  
Old March 18, 2009, 10:04 PM
HaDeS
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BrainEater View Post
Technically , I have 7 more AGP rigs.....



At the moment , I'm only looking to bring 2 more of these online.....1 more boxen and one of my borgs.

--------

Gotta wait for a 1Kw PSU before I get a 285......

---------

Go team go , we've got top 100 in our sights !


You eye ballin my PSU fatass?
Reply With Quote
  #742 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2009, 02:54 PM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,518
Default

Yep......

Guard it with your life.



-------------

I just got AGP1 fully installed and operational.

It is currently folding @ 1050 ppd on a 511 point WU.

Now it's certainly not a massive increase on the grand scheme of things , but on a cost/performance increase per rig basis , it's great ! ...... A tenfold increase for 300$...In comparison , it would cost me just shy of a grand to get a 2.5 fold increase on my main rig.

I forsee a couple more of these cards in my future.

__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
Reply With Quote
  #743 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2009, 03:22 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,656

My System Specs

Default

Whoa. 1050 ppd on the 3850, folding a 511? That's pretty darn good!
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #744 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2009, 04:23 PM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,518
Default

I thought so too !

If it wasn't for ATI giving this last gasp to agp machines they would be garbage (that's basically what mine are (were))

If it can fold , it can do computation of any kind.Think about it , AGP rigs are basically free.New PSU + new 3850 = not so useless of a rig.

__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
Reply With Quote
  #745 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2009, 09:21 PM
LCB001's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aylmer QC.
Posts: 1,774

My System Specs

Default

For those that like to keep track of the stats, this was just posted;
Quote:
Folding@home: Change to stats updates to greatly increase update speed

In order to speed the stats updates, we've suspended the updates for the project WU counts. This does not affect WU counts or points, just the stats pages which tells donors how many WUs they have contributed to each project.

We have polled donors in the past regarding this issue, and there was overwhelming support for this change, especially if it could significantly increase stats updates speeds. After doing some in house tests, we expect that this will greatly enhance stats updates speeds, so we have rolled this out.

Even if this is the main culprit for the slow stats updates, we may put this back in time, once we work out a better scheme for how to update this information and/or get hardware better suited for it. The main issue here is that this is a lot of information, with data going back many, many years, and it has become unwieldy.

For now, this should lead to a pretty dramatic difference in stats update times. It looks like we can now get it done in about 20 minutes, rather than the ~2 hours it was taking previously, for 3 hours worth of stats accumulated.

If this looks good, we will likely switch stats updates to occur more frequently in the future, starting with every 2 hours.
__________________
Folding For Team 54196

Reply With Quote
  #746 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2009, 09:28 PM
Jake_HT's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 1,986

My System Specs

Default

Sounds good to me, I couldn't care less about that project listing crap anyways.
__________________
http://jakeht.deviantart.com/
Reply With Quote
  #747 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2009, 09:41 PM
LCB001's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aylmer QC.
Posts: 1,774

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jake_HT View Post
Sounds good to me, I couldn't care less about that project listing crap anyways.
While I found it interesting to see how many of each different WU I had done, faster updates is a good thing...
__________________
Folding For Team 54196

Reply With Quote
  #748 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2009, 09:45 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,406

My System Specs

Default

No problems here for me either.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #749 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2009, 06:24 AM
Nademon's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 308
Default

anyone know if it's possible to fold with a 8800gt and a 9800gt in the same machine?
__________________
REFS:

My Heat, Ebay, RedFlagDeals

Rig 1: CM HAF - Rampage Extreme - QX9650 - OCZ Gladiator Max - 4GB Mushkin DDR3 1600 - GTX280 - 2xBarracuda 500GB - 1xBarracuda 250GB - Pioneer DVD - Corsair 1000HX

Rig 2: Thermaltake Armor - P5K-E - E3110 - TRUE w/ 2 120's - 4GB Ballistix DDR2 1066 - 9800GX2 - 2xBarracuda 250GB - Pioneer DVD - Corsair 620HX

Rig3: Antec 900 - P5K-E/Wifi - E5200 - OCZ Vendetta 2 - 4GB OCZ DDR2 800 - 2x 8800GTS's - 1xWD Caviar 80GB - Pioneer DVD - OCZ 650W PSU
Reply With Quote
  #750 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2009, 06:33 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,715
Default

You can flash an 8800 GT to a 9800 GT and vice versa.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes