Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #51 (permalink)  
Old January 8, 2009, 08:04 PM
LCB001's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aylmer QC.
Posts: 1,774

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prof. Dr. Silver View Post
While I've been busy benching our new SSD drive, together with my little boy....both my rigs gave me a hard time and therefor I had to take a break. Now that everything is pretty much back in order(still waiting for RMA) I should have both rigs up folding shortly....anybody have an idea on the new nVidia drivers?
Glad to hear you'll be back at it soon, hope your not benching the young lad that hard...
__________________
Folding For Team 54196

Reply With Quote
  #52 (permalink)  
Old January 8, 2009, 09:28 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 660

My System Specs

Default

Since work is slow and I'm bored at home I'm gonna start another F@H build, picked up the pictured Mobo off ebay for $75 couple days ago.... will get a cheap phenom x4 couple gigs of ram..... couple 650w powersupplies, then maybe fill all those PCI-E slots with some bricks.....
__________________
QuadZilla & The Four Horsemen

Have an A-1 day!
Reply With Quote
  #53 (permalink)  
Old January 8, 2009, 09:54 PM
LCB001's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aylmer QC.
Posts: 1,774

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 4DoorGTZ View Post
Since work is slow and I'm bored at home I'm gonna start another F@H build, picked up the pictured Mobo off ebay for $75 couple days ago.... will get a cheap phenom x4 couple gigs of ram..... couple 650w powersupplies, then maybe fill all those PCI-E slots with some bricks.....
A lot of people use those MSI's for Folding Rigs, any idea what kind off bricks you're going to put in it?. Just make sure all the cards have the same number of SP's so you don't get the 'Shader Bug', Looking good...
__________________
Folding For Team 54196

Reply With Quote
  #54 (permalink)  
Old January 8, 2009, 10:35 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 660

My System Specs

Default

Looking to run 8 gpu instances.... but not liking the current prices of those bricks on ebay, found a supplier in Indonesia with new gx2's, the fastest ones (stock clock) but they're a wholesaler and minimum order is 12 :( They're price is better then ebay, and its new stock, but doubt I'll be building 3 of these rigs :) maybe a bunch of gx2 owners will jump ship to the 295 and sell cheap on ebay?
__________________
QuadZilla & The Four Horsemen

Have an A-1 day!
Reply With Quote
  #55 (permalink)  
Old January 8, 2009, 10:48 PM
LCB001's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aylmer QC.
Posts: 1,774

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 4DoorGTZ View Post
Looking to run 8 gpu instances.... but not liking the current prices of those bricks on ebay, found a supplier in Indonesia with new gx2's, the fastest ones (stock clock) but they're a wholesaler and minimum order is 12 :( They're price is better then ebay, and its new stock, but doubt I'll be building 3 of these rigs :) maybe a bunch of gx2 owners will jump ship to the 295 and sell cheap on ebay?
If you can get them cheap enough, sell the extra's to other Folders . What OS would you run with that, I know Vista won't work. That going to be one heck of a Folding Machine, it will certainly rocket you up the Team charts...
__________________
Folding For Team 54196

Reply With Quote
  #56 (permalink)  
Old January 8, 2009, 11:18 PM
Prof. Dr. Silver's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,187
Default Hot enough?

This is a pic of the new F@H rig with the latest 181.20 drivers, it's running 2 instances of the GPU clients, but ehm....is this gonna be cool? (no pun intended!) I was going to OC the card a bit, but now I'm having second thoughts.....Did anyone here ever take an 9800 GX2 apart?

__________________
Hardcore Folding at it's BEST! HWC - TPU.... There can be only one team in front! TPU, can you smell our *sses already?
Reply With Quote
  #57 (permalink)  
Old January 8, 2009, 11:38 PM
LCB001's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aylmer QC.
Posts: 1,774

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prof. Dr. Silver View Post
This is a pic of the new F@H rig with the latest 181.20 drivers, it's running 2 instances of the GPU clients, but ehm....is this gonna be cool? (no pun intended!) I was going to OC the card a bit, but now I'm having second thoughts.....Did anyone here ever take an 9800 GX2 apart?

I know the GX2's runs hot but wow that is hot. If it didn't run that hot before you might want to try rolling back to a previous driver like the 178.24...
__________________
Folding For Team 54196

Reply With Quote
  #58 (permalink)  
Old January 9, 2009, 05:03 AM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,406

My System Specs

Default

Thinking of a step-up to the 295 from my 260 Core 216...backordered on Evga right now and I have almost a month
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #59 (permalink)  
Old January 9, 2009, 05:51 AM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr_BenD_over View Post
For some reason I can't actually "use" my PC's with the GPU client running anymore. The ATI client isn't too bad, then again it's paired with a Q6600 at 3.0, but the Nvidia client (on a lowly stock E6300)... I can't even use Excel with that running let alone do PCB layout, which means I keep pausing it, and forgeting to re-enable it...
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
Update the Core of the nvidia client - it should not use that much the CPU. Stop the process, delete the fahcore_11 then restart the .exe. It will download the newest Core.

Ahh that's better, wonder why it didn't update on it's own...
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #60 (permalink)  
Old January 9, 2009, 09:30 AM
LCB001's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aylmer QC.
Posts: 1,774

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chriskwarren View Post
Thinking of a step-up to the 295 from my 260 Core 216...backordered on Evga right now and I have almost a month
With all the upgrading going on around here its going to get tough to stay in the top group. Competition is all good though...
__________________
Folding For Team 54196

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes