Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #5211 (permalink)  
Old October 3, 2013, 03:25 PM
Tim_H's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Regina, SK
Posts: 215
Default

Indeed, I turned on a couple machines and now my basement is nice and toasty. Some friends said that they started using their furnace and I'm wearing shorts :)
Reply With Quote
  #5212 (permalink)  
Old October 3, 2013, 05:40 PM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,502
Default

Somehow I've gotten the 7.xx client to load without giving me a systray icon.I can only get 'web-control'......I'm sure it's a flag , but dammed if I can find it....

__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
Reply With Quote
  #5213 (permalink)  
Old October 3, 2013, 06:45 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,385

My System Specs

Default

A 4P socket F (2.7GHz Opterons 8384) platform was doing 28k PPD in Windows while the 7850 I have, clocked at 1 GHz is doing 39k PPD.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5214 (permalink)  
Old October 3, 2013, 07:59 PM
Tim_H's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Regina, SK
Posts: 215
Default

Those opterons need some linux, start up a cm in windows and run it that way if you need windows and can't have it running native. Thatl up the points quite a bit. They should be bigadv capable?
Reply With Quote
  #5215 (permalink)  
Old October 4, 2013, 08:58 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,385

My System Specs

Default

Based from extrapolation with 8389 they should finish 8101 in time, but I gave up. Even considering PPD/watt I am still better with Radeon 7000 series. In fact I removed 2 CPUs in order to have a working win7 install. As soon as I will have my Sabertooth setup working, this setup will be powered down. Opteron 8384 is a cpu that consumes 115W at full speed under folding which is about the same amount consumed by a 7850. I intend getting another 7850 and powering down the quad mobo. 2 x 7850 will give me the same PPD as a quad cpu rig at 50% the electricity cost.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5216 (permalink)  
Old October 4, 2013, 09:15 AM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,190

My System Specs

Default

Honestly, the writing was on the wall nearly a year ago when we first heard about QRB for GPU's. I'm surprised it took this long for people to start realizing that GPU folding is where it was currently at.

But, never fear, Stanford will soon realise that the 4P guys are feeling neglected and will increase the QRB's for them, too... (I jest, but seriously, you don't think Stanford will F-around some more?)
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #5217 (permalink)  
Old October 4, 2013, 10:26 AM
Tim_H's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Regina, SK
Posts: 215
Default

Yeah, thats one of the "fun" things about folding. The constant change, they do say at the start of it though that things are going to fluctuate, and that a lot of it is beta (the GPU QRB, bigbeta etc) They tend to change it up at least once a year as hardware and their priorities change.
Reply With Quote
  #5218 (permalink)  
Old October 8, 2013, 04:44 AM
10e's Avatar
10e 10e is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Markham, Ontario
Posts: 511

My System Specs

Default Titans

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
I'd love to see what a Titan would do w/ watercooling and similar voltage. Assuming it could clock to the same as these GTX780s, the extra shaders should give a consider increase. A 15% decrease in TPF is a 50K + increase in PPD.
On a Titan that you once knew, running at the 1.28 volts at 1.267 ghz a 7811 unit consistently got a TPF of 0:54 which calculates to 219K PPD. I didn't try any higher yet. I haven't tried the LLC hack from Zawarudo or whatever his name is.

With just the one video card going and 25% CPU usage for the one GPU slot, the whole PC is using 368 watts of power.

With both it was in the 560 - 580 range I think. If both cards run at the same speed I could get 400+K PPD from two vid cards.

This is roughly the same as my twin dual Xeon boxes, but it's more consistent as long as Core 17 units are available. The twin Xeon boxes would be better with 8103 or 8104 units though.

Update: The second adapter is now on RR09SS BIOS as well and at 1.28 volts hitting 1240mhz and with a 7810 it's getting a TPF of about 1:13 which translates to 220,000+ PPD.

Holy.... What the flip.

So theoretically you could find the lowest power usage CPU for this, run these adapters and shave off another 40-50 watts, or NOT OC the CPU and get nearly 500K PPD with about a 500 watt power usage. 1000 PPD per watt is sorta the golden standard to me.
__________________

Xeven: How about 10^8.450980400142567e-001 -as a possible replacement for "10e"

http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=71732

Last edited by 10e; October 8, 2013 at 07:56 AM. Reason: Added an update under "Update:" ha ha
Reply With Quote
  #5219 (permalink)  
Old October 8, 2013, 07:02 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,797

My System Specs

Default

I've been using the Zawarudo LLC hack and it has worked great. The only issue is that I need to start it every time I reboot. The card has been rock solid stable @ 1.325V 1372/3200MHz for a week w/o a single errored out WU. Time to figure out what kind of impact such a 'high' voltage has on the card in the long term.
Reply With Quote
  #5220 (permalink)  
Old October 9, 2013, 06:47 AM
10e's Avatar
10e 10e is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Markham, Ontario
Posts: 511

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
I've been using the Zawarudo LLC hack and it has worked great. The only issue is that I need to start it every time I reboot. The card has been rock solid stable @ 1.325V 1372/3200MHz for a week w/o a single errored out WU. Time to figure out what kind of impact such a 'high' voltage has on the card in the long term.
Without knowing the acceptable limits of the chip's accepting voltage, I can't say, but on the Titan thread there were some concerns about the VRMs, but these deaths were attributed to poor cooling and/or extreme voltage and hard mods.

I know at 1.325 both cards on Unigine Heaven are using a bucket load of power. 760 watts showing from the Kill-a-Watt. For this I was rewarded with an extra 50 mhz to about 1.32-1.35 Ghz folding stable, but only 1.33 or so Unigine Stable without artifacting.

The Zawarudo hack is great, but I think it would be something I'd only enable while benching, as well as the 1.3 volts. I'm going to explore the 1.2 - 1.3 volts range to see if there is a sweet spot for each card. This is harder when there are two installed though.
__________________

Xeven: How about 10^8.450980400142567e-001 -as a possible replacement for "10e"

http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=71732
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes