Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #4851 (permalink)  
Old September 6, 2012, 07:11 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,770

My System Specs

Default

It's still 30.5 in my pc room haha
__________________

Back up - Ebay (Inik1) or Heatware
Reply With Quote
  #4852 (permalink)  
Old September 9, 2012, 09:49 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,397

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Inik View Post
It's still 30.5 in my pc room haha
how about folding something today, is cool in Montreal
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4853 (permalink)  
Old September 9, 2012, 10:46 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,770

My System Specs

Default

true that! I just have to reset my OC..with the hot temps, I got 2 BSOD. I also need to set-up a VM for more PPD.. where should I look for a guide?
__________________

Back up - Ebay (Inik1) or Heatware
Reply With Quote
  #4854 (permalink)  
Old September 9, 2012, 11:06 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,040

My System Specs

Default

[Win 7] How to get 140K plus PPD from your overclocked 3930K on Windows 7

This is what I used.
Reply With Quote
  #4855 (permalink)  
Old September 9, 2012, 12:57 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,770

My System Specs

Default

Thanks! Just set it up :) When I want to shut down the client, I just close the VM or there is a command ?
__________________

Back up - Ebay (Inik1) or Heatware
Reply With Quote
  #4856 (permalink)  
Old September 9, 2012, 01:04 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,396

My System Specs

Default

There was a shutdown -h command when we used linuxrouters VM setup before. I never used it and had no issues on linuxrouters linux image though.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #4857 (permalink)  
Old September 9, 2012, 01:52 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,770

My System Specs

Default

Good :) Installed the VM + HFM. I just fixed my oc right now..prime testing for now and I'll fold overnight.
__________________

Back up - Ebay (Inik1) or Heatware
Reply With Quote
  #4858 (permalink)  
Old September 9, 2012, 01:55 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,397

My System Specs

Default

I am downloading the VM right now, I too want to try this. My OC is rock solid at 3 GHz. I followed the guide and I got a 8101 unit. Will update with the PPD estimation. I set the VB process in task manager to low to do some other stuff in the mean time in Windows.
I don't think my system can cut the mustard for the 8101, it already took more than 10 mins to process and is not done yet at 1%. Should I remove the -bigadv flag and stay with -smp? and how do I stop the client to reconfigure to smp alone? I stop the VM completely?

my machine is not cutting the mustard : 1 hour passed and not even 1%. at this rate I will not be finish the WU in time. Will try SMP.

for me it doesn't work, it assigns me only 8101 WUs that I cannot finish in time. Is there any otherway for me to get just SMP units under Linux? no -bigadv? is it worthy to go VM with that Linux Fah image or just stay into Win7?
__________________

Last edited by MARSTG; September 9, 2012 at 04:42 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4859 (permalink)  
Old September 9, 2012, 07:42 PM
LCB001's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aylmer QC.
Posts: 1,774

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MARSTG View Post
I am downloading the VM right now, I too want to try this. My OC is rock solid at 3 GHz. I followed the guide and I got a 8101 unit. Will update with the PPD estimation. I set the VB process in task manager to low to do some other stuff in the mean time in Windows.
I don't think my system can cut the mustard for the 8101, it already took more than 10 mins to process and is not done yet at 1%. Should I remove the -bigadv flag and stay with -smp? and how do I stop the client to reconfigure to smp alone? I stop the VM completely?

my machine is not cutting the mustard : 1 hour passed and not even 1%. at this rate I will not be finish the WU in time. Will try SMP.

for me it doesn't work, it assigns me only 8101 WUs that I cannot finish in time. Is there any otherway for me to get just SMP units under Linux? no -bigadv? is it worthy to go VM with that Linux Fah image or just stay into Win7?
Haven't done much Folding lately but if I remember correctly you would need an OC ~3.4GHz+ to do the 8101s which those chips should do easy. Having The Kraken installed help alot...
__________________
Folding For Team 54196

Reply With Quote
  #4860 (permalink)  
Old September 9, 2012, 07:46 PM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,228

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SugarJ View Post
Gonna give that a shot when I get up and running again.
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes